Newdrive 1st Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 to recommend me? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 Install aptoide, then look for sygic.. have fun... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rmteamrims 1st Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 Install aptoide, then look for sygic.. have fun... i believe sygic is not free... I'm using HTC Locations- works like a charm, came as standard with my phone. free 30days trial a think its $20 a year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 get a GPS instead of using apps to do the job. i tried 3 different smart phones with GPS apps in KL, it's just disappointing. anyway, i reckon now GPS is not that expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cllee 2nd Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 In singapore, always use "SG GPS" app. not bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear September 11, 2012 Author Share September 11, 2012 get a GPS instead of using apps to do the job. i tried 3 different smart phones with GPS apps in KL, it's just disappointing. anyway, i reckon now GPS is not that expensive. dun have a car now... only renting a car once a while hence dun want to buy a GPS... rent from the rental company also ex... $10 per day... so in long run, not worth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear September 11, 2012 Share September 11, 2012 try Waze. too bad Google Maps' inbuilt Navigation is no available locally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 dun have a car now... only renting a car once a while hence dun want to buy a GPS... rent from the rental company also ex... $10 per day... so in long run, not worth. ahhh... ok ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 try Waze. too bad Google Maps' inbuilt Navigation is no available locally. thats where you're wrong bro look for google maps brut mod ( http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/use-go...rted-countries/ ) i was using it on my old nexus one and it worked *perfectly*. updated maps with voice nav. if you cant find the apk, let me know, i can probably dig up the nexus one and find the apk ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 also, on a side note, instead of following the complicated steps, i just installed brut and had it running ... so i had 2 map apps. was confusing at first, so i just threw the original one in a folder. i suggest you do more research on brut, as ive stopped using my nexus one for a few months already ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 I suggest you visit the MFM or malfreemaps.com website. If you are keen, register yourself and ask the members there to recommend you. Or you can do some reading of your own. I'm also a registered member there. I'm using iphone though and I download their latest map into my papago app but I dun chat or interact in their forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 (edited) thats where you're wrong bro look for google maps brut mod ( http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/use-go...rted-countries/ ) i was using it on my old nexus one and it worked *perfectly*. updated maps with voice nav. if you cant find the apk, let me know, i can probably dig up the nexus one and find the apk ... actually i got build 6.11.1 with World Navigation activated (Ownhere mod). The reason i said it is not available is because it really isn't available from Google Play Singapore ordinarily unless you install Android Market Unlocker which then allows you to disguise yourself as a AT&T, Sprint or Verizon bla bla user. Or you can find a build which has been modified and installed. However the caveat is you need to have SU because you need to either push the modified app manually into /Android/app and install or use Titanium Backup Pro to uninstall your pre-existing Maps and Street View before installing the modified version (which also require root) In any case, when i tell my friends about such, they all nah me. Edited September 12, 2012 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 also, on a side note, instead of following the complicated steps, i just installed brut and had it running ... so i had 2 map apps. was confusing at first, so i just threw the original one in a folder. i suggest you do more research on brut, as ive stopped using my nexus one for a few months already ... Do you think HTC will ever get a fighting chance of building the next Google phone after Nexus One? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 actually i got build 6.11.1 with World Navigation activated (Ownhere mod). The reason i said it is not available is because it really isn't available from Google Play Singapore ordinarily unless you install Android Market Unlocker which then allows you to disguise yourself as a AT&T, Sprint or Verizon bla bla user. Or you can find a build which has been modified and installed. However the caveat is you need to have SU because you need to either push the modified app manually into /Android/app and install or use Titanium Backup Pro to uninstall your pre-existing Maps and Street View before installing the modified version (which also require root) In any case, when i tell my friends about such, they all nah me. lol i dont recall it being so complicated but its been a while and i use an iphone for work now (yay for company phones) i simply found the apk on xda-developers and installed it ... was far easier tho. Do you think HTC will ever get a fighting chance of building the next Google phone after Nexus One? idk, im quite used to apple products, and unfortunately, since i dont develop for android, ive kinda lost touch with android devices the piracy rate is horrendous! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 lol i dont recall it being so complicated but its been a while and i use an iphone for work now (yay for company phones) i simply found the apk on xda-developers and installed it ... was far easier tho. idk, im quite used to apple products, and unfortunately, since i dont develop for android, ive kinda lost touch with android devices the piracy rate is horrendous! fragmentation in Android so jialat also. Some devs start to abandone compatibility for Android 2.1+ liao and jump straight to at least 4.0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 12, 2012 Share September 12, 2012 dun have a car now... only renting a car once a while hence dun want to buy a GPS... rent from the rental company also ex... $10 per day... so in long run, not worth. Navier HUD from the play store. Uses google maps for the base maps, but you got to get used to the weird way they do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear September 13, 2012 Author Share September 13, 2012 Navier HUD from the play store. Uses google maps for the base maps, but you got to get used to the weird way they do it. thanks! will try it out. Just installed Waze too. I also installed Sygic but too bad 14 days trial only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Congo9 Neutral Newbie September 13, 2012 Share September 13, 2012 Buy a GPS instead. It worth the price. Don't use handphone GPS. I was in Malacca and i was staying in Holiday Inn. We drove out for dinner outside town and there are some road closure which makes the way we always used inpassable to traffic because some VIP is visiting Malacca. We have 2 cars and the lead car is using GPS from the phone. It not the map is useless, it useless because they can only give you one way back to where we are going to. It quite late and we have kids and old folks who are hungry. So i just turn on my GPS and my TOM TOM GPS gave me another way back instantaneously. Here you go, that my story. Standalone or portable GPS do have some advantage over these handphone GPS when you are outside of Singapore. They can search and edit and store all your necessary destination info.... Hope i can influence to buy a standalone GPS... of course, buy your GPS during the IT show. They will give you more years of map updates ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...