Tzarh1974 Neutral Newbie September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 i had been driving for past 2 years w/o accident. However during festive season, i make a wrong turn abruptly and unaccidentally hit a motorbike. I swerve to the other lane in my panicked state of mind.He was send to hospital for fractures and abrasions. He is now currently still in ward for almost 2 weeks. I had just met the IO and he say my case will either be dangerous driving or stay as inconsiderate driving. IO told me for serious injury normaly will kena gantung license. I had been having sleepless nights due to the accident that i cause to the poor chap and also of the charges that may be slapped to me. Im really at loss and IO dont allow me to visit the guy whom i had knock down nor reveal anything abt him. i could only call once a while to check on how the other guy is faring. Any kind souls can advice me what to do as im at loss and what charges will be brought against me... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 On 9/6/2012 at 5:34 AM, Tzarh1974 said: i had been driving for past 2 years w/o accident. However during festive season, i make a wrong turn abruptly and unaccidentally hit a motorbike. I swerve to the other lane in my panicked state of mind.He was send to hospital for fractures and abrasions. He is now currently still in ward for almost 2 weeks. I had just met the IO and he say my case will either be dangerous driving or stay as inconsiderate driving. IO told me for serious injury normaly will kena gantung license. I had been having sleepless nights due to the accident that i cause to the poor chap and also of the charges that may be slapped to me. Im really at loss and IO dont allow me to visit the guy whom i had knock down nor reveal anything abt him. i could only call once a while to check on how the other guy is faring. Any kind souls can advice me what to do as im at loss and what charges will be brought against me... ask your insurer to provide you with a copy of accident report. should have the guy's name there. tell your insurer your intetions are sincere, and you would like to meet up with him to at least apologize. the guy who hit me last time ... he called me up personally on the phone to apologize 2 days later. it didnt mean much to me (at that point), but the judge asked him when sentencing him, whether he had at least apologized ... so it will help your case if you ever end up in front of a judge. the other alternative is to not go against the IO (the guy who was handling my case was equally unhelpful and cryptic .. but i guess they see a lot of cases, so i wont hold it against him) or speak to him and tell him all you want to do is apologize. (or tell the IO you will send the get well basket to him, and have him pass it along for you ... normally they will want to siam this kind of work lol) if you stayed with the victim until ambulance arrived, i doubt will be gantung license (any bros can shed some light on this?) if you stayed behind, are remoseful and apologize, it will help your case ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 my case, still no news...2 yrs after he try to extort 27k frm me even tho final report from TP is the mudder cb in wrong for driving recklessly. Anyway, when that happened, he knocked into my porker, i stayed back unti ambulan came and TP who was on site also said, have pity...haha. Anyway he had fractured mandible blah blah...cb. 6 mths later, got a letter from Hoh and he was seeking 27k damages...knn....i gave my insurer and no word till today (2 yrs) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 On 9/6/2012 at 5:47 AM, RadX said: my case, still no news...2 yrs after he try to extort 27k frm me even tho final report from TP is the mudder cb in wrong for driving recklessly. Anyway, when that happened, he knocked into my porker, i stayed back unti ambulan came and TP who was on site also said, have pity...haha. Anyway he had fractured mandible blah blah...cb. 6 mths later, got a letter from Hoh and he was seeking 27k damages...knn....i gave my insurer and no word till today (2 yrs) you are very kind bro .. you use HOH. when that @#$$% hit me ... i called Rodyk & Davidson ... so far their track record for me is spotless ... but after checking, say he got no asset and no need to waste time suing him ... lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 On 9/6/2012 at 5:55 AM, Sp4wn said: you are very kind bro .. you use HOH. when that @#$% hit me ... i called Rodyk & Davidson ... so far their track record for me is spotless ... but after checking, say he got no asset and no need to waste time suing him ... lol. no no....he use HOH.....even tho he knows and the law had stipulated he was in wrong. Yet he try his luck. I let my insurer settle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tzarh1974 Neutral Newbie September 6, 2012 Author Share September 6, 2012 yes i did apologise to the uncle and keep saying its my fault...i even call up IO i think 6 times asking for the other guy condition...i also recently see a doc cause i had trouble sleeping and sometimes got nightmares of this case...i just feel so wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 i stayed behind,,, but i was pissed cos mandatory bus give way lane lah, i had to stop...the mudder cb jus whack into me...knn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 On 9/6/2012 at 5:59 AM, RadX said: no no....he use HOH.....even tho he knows and the law had stipulated he was in wrong. Yet he try his luck. I let my insurer settle paiseh read sala bro. aiya it always takes all sorts. even when wrong, people want to try and earn $$$. my sis once knock into someone (quite light, no dent or scratch) .. yet the guy demanded like $2k my sis quickly call me come down to help ... so i told him nvm, we call TP to settle, because it looks like you are blackmailing my sis (used those exact words) and there's no dmg. i will give you $50 to FO after you sign this paper to close the matter (written behind those parking coupon calendar no less .. very useful! haha) he kpkb, i told him $70, otherwise go ahead and claim, there's absolutely no dmg on both cars (think my sis let go of brake too soon at the light la ... women!) he relented, signed and i took a pic of him signing the paper :P case closed lo... he must have really wanted the $70 ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 On 9/6/2012 at 5:59 AM, Tzarh1974 said: yes i did apologise to the uncle and keep saying its my fault...i even call up IO i think 6 times asking for the other guy condition...i also recently see a doc cause i had trouble sleeping and sometimes got nightmares of this case...i just feel so wrong that's called remorse brudder. anyway, get the accident report, and track down the guy yourself lo. can call a few hospitals .. not that hard to find a person these days. go visit him to apologise ... (and dont go empty handed! some fruit basket will go a long way i suppose) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 (edited) first of all....is your turn legal? and chance that the biker can bite you for being careless or reckless driving? If it is not, it is just a 50/50 case so don't have to really take every fault as yours....get your insurer to handle it or hire a lawyer if it going against you while you are not at fault... Edited September 6, 2012 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 bro... i know how u feel... so many things to worry about... last time i also knocked down a old uncle in a very old motorcycle... he flew onto my bonnet and tumble on the ground... the image still in my head until today... thankfully only deep abrasion... after ambulance conveyed him away and TP allowed me to leave, I guess he must be at NUH cuz we at bukit batok... zhoon zhoon he was there at A&E. I found out he will observation and no family members will be coming... I waited for 4 hours for him to be discharged. Send him home and pass him $50 for transport and kopi. whole journey talk abt how sorry i am and pls recover well. Tell him to do what he must as in claims or insurance... deep inside my feelings were mixed. Very super happy he suffered not so major injuries but very scared of 5 figure claims... he got 2 weeks MC... To my pleasant surprise, 2 days later he called me to go down motor workshop, he say to repair his motorbike need 1.k plus. he ask me want to pay for repair or claim insurance!!!??? or course i pay! i offered to round up the sum to 3k so cover for his 3 weeks MC (dishwasher + kopi uncle) and daily commute to polyclinic for dressing. He say he wont accept. The most he accept to round up the figure to 2k. I learn so much from this dishwasher uncle. Working so hard as coffee uncle and dish washer but refuse another 1k becasue he thinks it is not right... Sorry I digress, what I want to say is I think it is very important to show him how sincere and sorry you are... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tzarh1974 Neutral Newbie September 6, 2012 Author Share September 6, 2012 its a straight road and my son who is below 6 pull my left arm sleeve..being not well the few days i wasnt holding teh steering wheel strongly as i used to...my left hand suddenly triggered pull the steering wheel to the left...and in panicked state due to teh sudden jolt..my right hand instead of pulling back to right...add more swerve to the left and go to his lane...it was very fast..swerve and hit instantly.. end up i swerve to his lane.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 On 9/6/2012 at 5:59 AM, RadX said: no no....he use HOH.....even tho he knows and the law had stipulated he was in wrong. Yet he try his luck. I let my insurer settle Maybe he saw HOH's ads on TV so decided to try loh.......maybe you should send him your name card and offer him a good package if he didn't survive his next accident..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyminswift 1st Gear September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 On 9/6/2012 at 6:03 AM, Sp4wn said: ... , there's absolutely no dmg on both cars (think my sis let go of brake too soon at the light la ... women!) Sometimes when i am the first car at the junction, i will see some bikes come up and stop in front of me. Then when it turns green, they will wait a bit before moving off, as if baiting us to hit them if we are not observant enuff. I just wait til they move off (brake light off) before i let go brake also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 On 9/6/2012 at 5:34 AM, Tzarh1974 said: i had been driving for past 2 years w/o accident. However during festive season, i make a wrong turn abruptly and unaccidentally hit a motorbike. I swerve to the other lane in my panicked state of mind.He was send to hospital for fractures and abrasions. He is now currently still in ward for almost 2 weeks. I had just met the IO and he say my case will either be dangerous driving or stay as inconsiderate driving. IO told me for serious injury normaly will kena gantung license. I had been having sleepless nights due to the accident that i cause to the poor chap and also of the charges that may be slapped to me. Im really at loss and IO dont allow me to visit the guy whom i had knock down nor reveal anything abt him. i could only call once a while to check on how the other guy is faring. Any kind souls can advice me what to do as im at loss and what charges will be brought against me... i knock into a lady once, she was standing in the middle of the road... i had swerved to avoid a car which abruptly cut in..... i had a witness. The overhead bridge was less than 50m away. based on the above.. i kena deduct 3 points + fine $120. Failure to keep a proper lookout i think. i think you will kena more demerit points but should still keep your licence... insurance may be a killer though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 your one big consolation is that the bloke wasn't under your car when you came out to check.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Souma Clutched September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 the thread starter got use signal or not before turning out of a sudden? if not u jolly well take this as an important lesson, learn to use ur car's bloody signals to indicate your intention to other motorists! seriously... some drivers just don't use signals and take it for granted :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 6, 2012 Share September 6, 2012 (edited) On 9/6/2012 at 12:06 PM, Souma said: the thread starter got use signal or not before turning out of a sudden? if not u jolly well take this as an important lesson, learn to use ur car's bloody signals to indicate your intention to other motorists! seriously... some drivers just don't use signals and take it for granted :angry: signal your head lar... read further on for full story first..... some posters just don't read the whole thread and take it for granted Edited September 6, 2012 by Galantspeedz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...