Relief after $180,000 worry

Beachboy7718

Your wife or siblings given birth before?

It is not you who selects the hospital but the gynecologist.

Most gynecologists have their preferred hospitals. Most good and reputable gynecologists use Mt. E or Gleneagles.

My wife's gynae's clinic is at Paragon and her preferred hospital is Mt E. [knife]

Mt E is good. My wife gave birth there. Fuss free and comfortable. But if we have a quad, I wouldn't have gone to Mt E. Would have gone to KK cos it is still a children's hospital and they have more comprehensive equipment there to handle emergencies.

Bottomline to me is who you know. Yes, there are certain gynaes out there you dun even touch with a ten foot pole, and this is from live experiences. Best to get recommendations from ppl u know. I have worked in the private long enough to know that the highest charging may not be the best, and vice versa.

There are still clinicians there who honor the hippocratic oath and it goes with why they entered medicine in the first place, and they are damn good at their work. I am priviliged to know this elite list that i have personally worked with

now then you say, my wife's gynae turn to become plastic surgeon cos the money is good there <_<

er...that time u know me yet?? [laugh][laugh]

nehmai, u can still operate another factory.....

Bottomline to me is who you know. Yes, there are certain gynaes out there you dun even touch with a ten foot pole, and this is from live experiences. Best to get recommendations from ppl u know. I have worked in the private long enough to know that the highest charging may not be the best, and vice versa.

There are still clinicians there who honor the hippocratic oath and it goes with why they entered medicine in the first place, and they are damn good at their work. I am priviliged to know this elite list that i have personally worked with

Errrr......thought your work is to collect corpse??? [lipsrsealed][laugh]

[:p][:p] you see, sometimes......when short of manpower...

how u think i know who good and who not?? dead dun talk hor ^_^

[:p][:p] you see, sometimes......when short of manpower...

how u think i know who good and who not?? dead dun talk hor ^_^

That means those you always go visit are no good lor....... [lipsrsealed][laugh]

"She lamented that while the government encourages having more births, her family is unable to bear the high costs of having quadruplets."

Will the cost be so high if they didn't go to Gleneagles Hospital?

About there

One of the comfort is that the parents-in-law are owners of a confinement nanny agency........at least not scared unable to find one or two to take care of the babies during the confinement......... [laugh]

Bro, well said! [thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

nowadays the in thing

like those who prefer branded stuffs

they want their child birthcert to have the private hospital stamp on it

to show that they are atas family

but in reality they whine when the final bills come

quadruplets are not so common in normal pregnancy... i think mostly is IVF...

i think this case, the parent and doctor(s) are all in fault...

why allow the mother to keep all 4... maybe remove 1 or 2 will let the other a better fighting chance...

probably is the parent insist to keep all four... so end up with smaller babies... and the 180K bill....

no one to blame but themselves...

remember one ang moh... also had multiple babies.. (cant remember is how many).. even with doctor advise to remove some of the babies...(n order to let the others had a healthier birth).. but the parent refuse... end up... she loss all the babies...

"She lamented that while the government encourages having more births, her family is unable to bear the high costs of having quadruplets."

It depends on hospitals for different pricing. Some offer 50% off on 2nd one and so on. But KK hospital for instance offer lower expenses if mum downgrade to shared ward instead of single ward. BB's follows mum ward class. But ICU cares are the same with regardless of mum ward class. Our friend spent $20K+ to downgrade from single ward ($60K+) for their twin spent one month in ICU. If they went to KK hospitals pershaps they may budget about $45K with the lowest ward class for one month ICU of 4 bb's. Our friend does call us about his situation and we do encourage them to downgrade. Mum is recovering fast with no proble. 10 patients sharing the ward seems a bit narrow with fan, bed and curtain and less attention from nurse. Mum sacrifices the comfort. But premature bb's under the same good care from the similar ICU room. Most importantly you save huge junks of expenses. Still a wise and practical decision. Mum discharged after 4 days.

Edited by Beachboy7718

the answer is YES...coz they are privately run..and had changed hand a couple of time....M'sia kazanah owns it...need to generate xx% return...

Hello, it not a matter of high class or low class.

There are a total of 4 lives involved. Do you think any doctors have the experience.

Use your anus to think lar. Save some monies but should one of the babies die, are you willing to be responsible.

Talk like hero, post online next time you have a kid and you use the cheapest doctor avaliable to you then i apologized

Full of sh it

I always thought, but this may not be so, that for any special cases, KK is always the best to go, because in the end if something happen and outside dunno what to do, will still send to KK.

Your wife or siblings given birth before?

It is not you who selects the hospital but the gynecologist.

Most gynecologists have their preferred hospitals. Most good and reputable gynecologists use Mt. E or Gleneagles.

My wife's gynae's clinic is at Paragon and her preferred hospital is Mt E. [knife]

Yes start with gynae selection, but if she knew she was going to give birth to 4, and then she follow some recommendation and the gynae say GlenE, I would have thought that if she has tight budget, she'd look around a bit more to see if she's comfortable with another gynae that prefers KK. Don't tell me the whole SG only this gynae acceptable, all the others fail? Cannot be what. Sometimes have to make hard choices, plus it is not as if asking her to choose between GlenE and some backward corner. KK is very advanced leh.

It depends on hospitals for different pricing. Some offer 50% off on 2nd one and so on. But KK hospital for instance offer lower expenses if mum downgrade to shared ward instead of single ward. BB's follows mum ward class. But ICU cares are the same with regardless of mum ward class. Our friend spent $20K+ to downgrade from single ward ($60K+) for their twin spent one month in ICU. If they went to KK hospitals pershaps they may budget about $45K with the lowest ward class for one month ICU of 4 bb's. Our friend does call us about his situation and we do encourage them to downgrade. Mum is recovering fast with no proble. 10 patients sharing the ward seems a bit narrow with fan, bed and curtain and less attention from nurse. Mum sacrifices the comfort. But premature bb's under the same good care from the similar ICU room. Most importantly you save huge junks of expenses. Still a wise and practical decision. Mum discharged after 4 days.

This is what I mean, of course some choices we may not like, but have to make. And for this new mum with 4 babies, this will be just the first of a lifetime of hard choices she has to make, first thing blow budget already, later on how? A bit like those who spend their life savings plus go into debt for the wedding, where is the sense? Shiok that one time, ang bao if cannot cover, later on just suffer.

My point of view:

- Quadruplet in this day & age, is definitely early C-section. This case good example, classic 32 week c-section.

Quads mean x 4 of inpatient cost. The parents did not fully think through this. Now they get saddled with this enormous bill, they can only blame themselves. Now they wiping out their grandparents medisave, good ...

- Premature neonates must go to Neonate ICU. Inpatient ICU is roughly 900-1000 SGD for full-paying patients in restructured hospital. Pte Hospital must definitely be slightly higher. There is no classes in ICU, everyone gets the same care.

- Neonate specialists seldom go private, so actually all the most experienced neonatologists in SG are in KK or NUH.

- In fact i believe and hope most pte O&G doctors if you are Singaporean and having very high chance of premature delivery say at 28-32 weeks, they will advise you to go to KK on admission. Only if the NICU stay is expected to be short, then they will advise u to continue seeing them.