Audiobean Neutral Newbie March 6, 2013 Share March 6, 2013 I have used two models of Garmin and find it very useful. Also quite easy to get maps downloaded to the device. For Singapore and Malaysia maps as many have known, malsingmap is your best source. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W1ck3d Clutched June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 PC Show 2013 is on. I'm thinking to get either marbella geomate 500 or Garmin nuvi 52LM. Both are selling for $199. Marvell got 1 DVR roadcorder for free. Any suggestions? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 PC Show 2013 is on. I'm thinking to get either marbella geomate 500 or Garmin nuvi 52LM. Both are selling for $199. Marvell got 1 DVR roadcorder for free. Any suggestions? Useless lah. Waze is good for both IOS & Androids. Somemore, navi with real time traffic condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Useless lah. Waze is good for both IOS & Androids. Somemore, navi with real time traffic condition. If frequently go into Malaysia, then good to get one. Waze is good but its using your mobile phone and can be troublesome when someone calls you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Premacist 5th Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Useless lah. Waze is good for both IOS & Androids. Somemore, navi with real time traffic condition. But Waze is a battery sucker. If I am not wrong, it need to access real time data using data network, imagine the data costs if you use it oversea e.g. driving to malaysia. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 (edited) If frequently go into Malaysia, then good to get one. Waze is good but its using your mobile phone and can be troublesome when someone calls you... Waze is even better for Malaysia with bigger pool of users. Incoming call? Ignore it unless it is important. I don't have much incoming call & i use it extensively in Sg. Even to drive from Upper Boon Keng Rd to Raffles Place. Edited June 7, 2013 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 But Waze is a battery sucker. If I am not wrong, it need to access real time data using data network, imagine the data costs if you use it oversea e.g. driving to malaysia. It is true about Waze being battery sucker. But i could drive to Malacca with WAZE all the way + 1 hr jam btw Yong Peng & Air Itam. After that, juz use portable batt to charge lor. In MY, portable batt is a must as the 3G network bad. The next time in MY, juz buy Maxis prepaid card. Whenever go MY, juz stop at 1 of those petrol station to buy top up coupon lor. What so difficult. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 It is true about Waze being battery sucker. But i could drive to Malacca with WAZE all the way + 1 hr jam btw Yong Peng & Air Itam. After that, juz use portable batt to charge lor. In MY, portable batt is a must as the 3G network bad. The next time in MY, juz buy Maxis prepaid card. Whenever go MY, juz stop at 1 of those petrol station to buy top up coupon lor. What so difficult. Is your Maxis Prepaid card giving unlimited 3G usage a day? I ever use my RM50 MYCelom prepaid card to navigate WAZE from Bukit Indah to Permas Jaya to Mount Austin....when I reach Austin, the card zero value liao... But I can confirm that WAZE is very accurate in Malaysia roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 i bought Geomate 500 last amonth at SLQ. Geo 500 a) it auto-fill the road name you are looking b) can find building name c) hook up to the statelite very fast d) lastly, for those driver who are ignorant about (FIXED) speed camera, they do warn you on the GPS I am comparing with my OLD Garmin 1350. Dont such useful feature. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiawy 1st Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 It is true about Waze being battery sucker. But i could drive to Malacca with WAZE all the way + 1 hr jam btw Yong Peng & Air Itam. After that, juz use portable batt to charge lor. In MY, portable batt is a must as the 3G network bad. The next time in MY, juz buy Maxis prepaid card. Whenever go MY, juz stop at 1 of those petrol station to buy top up coupon lor. What so difficult. In MY I use Digi prepaid as they have unlimited 5 days data SIM. I use Waze on my spare Android phone with data SIM card, love it as it give accurate route, re-route if there's a bad traffic condition ahead and can also select alternative route if I want to. What's more I do not need to constantly hunt for updated map plus I do not have to worry that new map update will not support GPS device, just like the Papago and Garmin GPS which is lying around in my car boot after new map update format does not support it anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jenggowenggo Neutral Newbie June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 use nokia phone the best. they have built in navigator no need data plan or wifi can lock on quite fast. furthermore can double up as a phone. so save space n mani. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 use nokia phone the best. they have built in navigator no need data plan or wifi can lock on quite fast. furthermore can double up as a phone. so save space n mani. I heard Huawei phones also has a built-in GPS.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 use nokia phone the best. they have built in navigator no need data plan or wifi can lock on quite fast. furthermore can double up as a phone. so save space n mani. Yeah. +1 for Nokia maps. Tried in HK, Shenzhen, Taiwan, Thailand, MY, SG and Indo. Works great!!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 to all the bros/sisters who bought the Marbella GPS. Did you get the one with the free camera package? How is the resolution of the camera like? I am trying to find the specs of the camera, but it is not available online. Any info would be useful. Any review of the camera will be even better! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 to all the bros/sisters who bought the Marbella GPS. Did you get the one with the free camera package? How is the resolution of the camera like? I am trying to find the specs of the camera, but it is not available online. Any info would be useful. Any review of the camera will be even better! marbella got issue with map updates. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 Is your Maxis Prepaid card giving unlimited 3G usage a day? I ever use my RM50 MYCelom prepaid card to navigate WAZE from Bukit Indah to Permas Jaya to Mount Austin....when I reach Austin, the card zero value liao... But I can confirm that WAZE is very accurate in Malaysia roads. For Maxis, u need to off 3G before swap card. After that, subscribe to 3G. Once confirm, on back 3G. RM5 for 500mb/24hrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 use nokia phone the best. they have built in navigator no need data plan or wifi can lock on quite fast. furthermore can double up as a phone. so save space n mani. The problem is that these devices lack real time traffic especially in cities with bad traffic condition. In KL, w/o waze, confirm die during peak hrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged June 7, 2013 Share June 7, 2013 to all the bros/sisters who bought the Marbella GPS. Did you get the one with the free camera package? How is the resolution of the camera like? I am trying to find the specs of the camera, but it is not available online. Any info would be useful. Any review of the camera will be even better! Did you check their official website? I think its under "Maka" or something... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...