Darthrevan Supercharged August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 Who plans their journey before setting off? Planning includes: -determining the tasks to perform..doing the furthermost tasks 1st -estimating the time needed for the journey..setting off earlier in anticipation of heavy traffic -using tools to aid in driving smoothly and less hastily eg. GPS, traffic apps, check the internet for traffic news or traffic cams -planning the route..eg. checking traffic info before setting off, think of alternative routes in case of jams and heavy traffic Does it help u in any way? For me, it helps tremendously..it enables me to drive smoothly, save fuel and frustration and also to reduce the chance of accidents..and in the event of encountering jams..i can change route easily..and also filter to the correct lane in advance to exit causing less inconvenience to others ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 I usually plan before I step out of the house. Its a habit from young to overthink things and try to make my tasks as efficient as possible lol. Ofc, it makes my driving less stressful since I'm already expecting a jam depending on when/where I am. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 Driving in SG is a very frustrating experience. So any bit of planning help to alleviate the frustration. My planning start the moment [maybe the night before] we decided to go somewhere/shopping/delivery/meeting etc... - timing. If possible, avoid peak hours and ERP zones. - destination profile. Carpark per-entry ? Makan peak hours ? Operating hours ? - routing. Sequence of destinations to reduce overall distance travelled. Forward or backward direction ? - traffic conditions. Check Traffic News before setting off for each destination. *sometime, Traffic News is not so accurate, no choice. - refreshment. How many water bottles, lozenges to bring along. Does not require much effort in the planning, just some subconcious deliberations running in the background. Sometime, the plan may mess up due to external factors, let it be. Anything else is a bonus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 Yup, I do plan my journey b4 stepping out....and check available traffic news too....and if hear of accidents/breakdowns etc will mentally do alternative routes in case those incidents not cleared up.....makes for a smoother and less stressful drive. It's a habit now and erhem.....paiseh, me still use e street directory of e dinosaur age.....haha.....no GPS in ride....I prefer not to let my brain cells hv too easylife or time.....I do once in a red/blue/purple moon gets lost but in Singapore, a u-turn is like a "reset" button....late sometimes but safe is better so I dun lose my hairs shd I miss a turn or lose my way. Safe ride Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged August 29, 2012 Author Share August 29, 2012 On 8/28/2012 at 9:46 AM, Roadrunner2029 said: It certainly helps but since people get used to mobile phones, Google Map, GPS, .. I think more people just go out then think about what to do next. And I must also say, Singaporeans have a bad habit of being late for scheduled events then rush on the roads. It will be really nice if people slow down for 5 minutes every morning and plan their itinerary, stay on time and keep our roads safe. agreed..alot of people who are late are usually drivers..i think that this is due to not provisioning for heavy traffic or jams..and setting off last minute Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear August 29, 2012 Share August 29, 2012 On 8/29/2012 at 7:59 AM, Darthrevan said: agreed..alot of people who are late are usually drivers..i think that this is due to not provisioning for heavy traffic or jams..and setting off last minute and cannot find carpark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyminswift 1st Gear August 29, 2012 Share August 29, 2012 Even if i have a GPS, i usually check out gothere.sg beforehand for unfamiliar destinations gothere.sg good for i. familarisation with route ii. calculate ERP iii. find parking, and parking charges iv. for shopping centres - figuring out where the carpark entrances are (usually marked with a grey service road). So far GPS only led me holland once, and that's cause i place the destination as a condo block instead of the condo entrance, so GPS led me to the HDB carpark beside the condo block can see the destination but blocked by a fence Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged August 29, 2012 Author Share August 29, 2012 On 8/29/2012 at 12:22 PM, Greyminswift said: Even if i have a GPS, i usually check out gothere.sg beforehand for unfamiliar destinations gothere.sg good for i. familarisation with route ii. calculate ERP iii. find parking, and parking charges iv. for shopping centres - figuring out where the carpark entrances are (usually marked with a grey service road). gothere.sg is an excellent webby..helped me many times to locate those parking spots in the city area..and also the estimated time to reach the destination ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...