Raymondism Twincharged August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 Conclusion is: Most folks here not willing to give up luxury of life....... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 My grandpa has 9 children, ended up 3 have to be given away. My mum, being one of the elder children, had to give up her education (after sec 4) to start work after 16 years old to provide for the family. That was many years ago when a bowl of mee cost 20cents. I can't imagine how it would be possible nowadays. 8 people squeezing in one 3-room HDB flat, when one member is sick or has a fever, the rest would probably get it also. Imagine the medical bills. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 (edited) Conclusion is: Most folks here not willing to give up luxury of life....... Definitely wrong conclusion. Most posters who thump their chests the loudest here are championing values of frugality, stoicism and to be easily contented etc (basically anti materialistic/consumerism values). This is highly understandable since the official information released by the government in actual reality shows the vast majority of residents: i. do not live beyond their means & ii. are frugal and are not materialistic. Savers are by far the vast majority here. However, in the over eagerness of many confucian values "chest thumping" posters to speak highly of certain cultural values which they hold dear, they jump on the extreme case in the article and also fall back on their favorite, highly selective and non representative "individual stories that they know of" in making wildly inaccurate portrayals of the consummeristic behaviour of Singaporeans in general. Edited August 26, 2012 by CKP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xanavi 4th Gear August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 (edited) Unfortunately, while "freedom and right to choose" has been cited several times, people forget that freedom works in both ways. So far no one has mentioned that this also means it is also good to be free to have no/less children (vs 6 children), and good to free to be materialistic (vs frugal). People should try to be consistent in their own stances and not try to champion self-contendedness with frugality, if they also simultaneously view "freedom from external dictation" as most important. In other words, don't try to have it both ways and say: "Oh he must be free to do what he wants" and then in the same breath make your own value judgement criticisms on others by saying: "People do not know how to manage expenditures"... "they are so materalistic... " "they don't bother to make sacrifices etc" Also, most of the criticisms are just that; criticism is not the same as dictation. So far this is the wisest of all. Good for you bro! I seldom call people bro especially non-friends. But you deserve respect. If you don't mind. Edited August 26, 2012 by Xanavi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angchug 3rd Gear August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 I think this is a very stupid and simple man. In his situation to have 6 children is extremely irresponsible. Simply put is to have have what you can afford and bring up your children properly, providing them with enough education so that they can survive decently. BTW I use my air-airconditioning daily and bath with hot water during cold nights or early morning, have three toilet in my flat and my children use the computer almost 20 hours a day, and I pay about $200 to $250 for utilities bill. How can he be paying $300 I also think the garment is trying to "PROOF" that we can have more children even if we don't have much money. Irresponsible? My uncle to 7 boys n 7 girls they are not complaining! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 That's the main problem.... We sporean think, compare & expect too much.. I'm 1 of them last time but luckily realized these early enough to switch my mindset and lifestyle. Seriously, now i'm poorer but definitely much happy n healthy. Last time when young i stay with my grandma, she can support her 6 kids alone despite being a frozen food hawker with meagre income and the best part all of us stay in a 1 room flat. I guess nowadays parents have much higher expectations from life and they inevitably pass down these traits to their children and results in the current prevalent material driven mindset for everything, i.e money is the key to everything, be it happiness, health, fun, joy, love or whatever tangible/intangible states people chase at. The point is, the $1800 family have high chance to weather any storm if from young their parents already inculcate the right correct moral values and expectations to them, per their parents standard. Lastly, as some forumers pointed out, the joy of living thru thick n thin with your loved ones are stuff that $$$ can't by and usually serve as a strong motivation to excel as life moves on. You are special dear friend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 6th Gear August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 You are special dear friend No lah, me not special..haha. As my mum fav. saying go, earn 1 dollar live 1 dollar lifestyle.. However, those who earn 1 dollar & spend $2, jialat liaoz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mummypenguin Neutral Newbie August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 Anyone notice that neither the husband nor the wife financially supports their own parents? The HDB monthly instalments are paid through father's CPF & cash of ~$200. As he gets older, the contribution to CPD OA reduces, that means that he'll have to pay more cash for his monthly instalment. He doesn't have any buffer in his CPF nor savings. Once he loses his job, he'll run into arrears the following month. There's no iron rice bowl here, the possibility of him losing his job sooner or later is very real. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 No lah, me not special..haha. As my mum fav. saying go, earn 1 dollar live 1 dollar lifestyle.. However, those who earn 1 dollar & spend $2, jialat liaoz.. Yes, I agree with you on this. My mommy says the same too, we all have to learn to manage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 I grew up from a poor famly last time. We didn't get to keep our angpow money during Chinese New Year. We gave the collected angpows to mother so that she could recycle and gave some back to the relatives' kids. Wow, 6 children, come to think of it, the mother is going to make a clean sweep of angpows during the Chinese New Year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerrcik 1st Gear August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 Different people different likings with different perceptions of happiness. That is his choice. But i do admire his will and financial planning. I one kid also cannot tahan.,...pei foo..pei foo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 i also got only one daughter. told her in her face, i send her to good nursery school / primary school and sec school. i gave her everything as i only have her, if she cannot study hard and make it in life, Dun blame me. but total 8 ppl on $1800 alot of luxury need to be given up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 i also got only one daughter. told her in her face, i send her to good nursery school / primary school and sec school. i gave her everything as i only have her, if she cannot study hard and make it in life, Dun blame me. but total 8 ppl on $1800 alot of luxury need to be given up. So will u give up these luxuries to hv more kids? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 Different people different likings with different perceptions of happiness. That is his choice. But i do admire his will and financial planning. I one kid also cannot tahan.,...pei foo..pei foo So does it mean tt u choose not to give up certain luxury in order to cope w more kids? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sga54g 1st Gear August 26, 2012 Share August 26, 2012 Anyone notice that neither the husband nor the wife financially supports their own parents? The HDB monthly instalments are paid through father's CPF & cash of ~$200. As he gets older, the contribution to CPD OA reduces, that means that he'll have to pay more cash for his monthly instalment. He doesn't have any buffer in his CPF nor savings. Once he loses his job, he'll run into arrears the following month. There's no iron rice bowl here, the possibility of him losing his job sooner or later is very real. That's a very, very valid point abt the parents! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomasky 2nd Gear August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 (edited) To me, the following 3 elements ranked in order of importance, are crucial in defining happiness 1. Safety of loved ones / family members ('ping an' in mandarin), ie. free from unexpected mishap like murder / traffic accidents 2. Health and longevity of loved ones / family members, ie. free from life threatening illness such as heart attack, kidney failures, cancers, etc 3. Wealth and luxury, ie. 5 Cs For older generations and many of our forefathers in the 1960s and 1970s or even the older ancestors who have survived the japanese occupation, they would be content if they are bestowed with the first two. In modern days, younger and immature generations are unrealistically greedy to demand all 3, many of them even allocate wealth as priority and take the first two for granted. If we are of the opinion life is fair, it has to be fair to both our forefathers and the young generations. Many religions have this traditional belief that we can never have all the above 3 at the time. If you yearn for wealth, god will bestow it you, but at the same time he will take away either the first or second element or both of them. That's why you see most of the patients diagnosed and suffering with cancer are actually from affluent countries like USA, UK, South Korea, Taiwan and Singapore Even today in many less developed areas like rural China, Phillippines and african nations, many of the younger generations are plagued by poverty, starvation and poor sanitary conditons, not because they deserve it Some even live in fear of natural disasters like typhoons, earthquakes, landslides, not because they deserve it Even today, there are still more than 50% of global population living in rural areas Count yourself lucky to be in Singapore, Don't be greedy... Edited August 27, 2012 by Tomasky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear August 27, 2012 Share August 27, 2012 That's a very, very valid point abt the parents! I believe they will still survive and well, you will be surprise how helpful our government are to the poor. But turn the scenario around, maybe some of us here might just contribute another number in Bedok reservoir. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...