Local family of 8 can survive on $1800

Ahtong

Last time I used to think that earn low income, never mind, so long as family happy and contented, it's good enough

But now after I read abt this story with 8 kids, my thinking has changed

When someone make babies and bring them to this world, there must be basic responsibility to ensure that the kids are well looked after and their future is secured with minimum requirements.

I look at this 2 parents and felt that they are irresponsible to the kids. Now the kids are young, it's fine to survive with $1800. Everyone is happy

I cannot imagine when the kids growing up and getting ready for teritiary education. Nowadays, must at least get a poly education in order to survive. Those smarter ones, go for University education

Now they have 8 kids. I don't want to say all 8 want to go to university. Let's say 4 are going to poly and 4 go to university. Its not unrealistic. Its highly possible and very realistic. Sit down and think. How are the parents going to afford the education?

When I say that the parents must be responsible for kids' future, I meant providing the required education that the kids need for survival.

If the parents can't even afford this education, it's called irresponsible. It's not only irresponsible to the kids, but also to the society.

If the 8 kids are smart enough to go poly or Uni, but parents no money, then what happens? Ask for busary? What if busary not approved? Kids stop school and go work with "O" levels?

It's the parents of today who worriea about having no money that their kids goes to poly and university. Some even worry their kids don't have car to drive to school. From what I see, as long the kids from the low income are raised properly without being materialistic and without expectation that their parent should support them for life, they can still go to poly or university. I have seen kids from poor family who work part time to pay for tertiary school fees. These are the kids who knows how to think and prioritize early in their life.

IMO, once a person goes into tertiary education, he should slowly reduce handout from their parent, and worried about tuition fees themselves.

Edited by Ender

This article remind me of one of my classmates. His mum single handedly raise 5 kids with $600 as a cleaner. That was over 20years ago. 3 of the 5 are poly or Uni grads.

My classmate sometimes come to school with unwashed shirt but he & his sliblings are close knitted & always seems happy. Their home was a rented 1-room flat. My classmate, being the eldest, work during holiday & he join the navy after sec school to help with his family. He later went to study in the poly. His 2 sliblings who went to Uni with financial assistance. They had a tough life but they make good eventually.

Your classmate sounds like one of my classmate. Lost his father early, the mother I think was a disc washer singlehandedly manage to get all his siblings ( about 2 or so) and himself get uni degree. And for him I think the older sister also chip in once they began to work.

This article remind me of one of my classmates. His mum single handedly raise 5 kids with $600 as a cleaner. That was over 20years ago. 3 of the 5 are poly or Uni grads.

My classmate sometimes come to school with unwashed shirt but he & his sliblings are close knitted & always seems happy. Their home was a rented 1-room flat. My classmate, being the eldest, work during holiday & he join the navy after sec school to help with his family. He later went to study in the poly. His 2 sliblings who went to Uni with financial assistance. They had a tough life but they make good eventually.

one of the very high profile lawyers in SG had this kind of background. parents barely made enough. he/she had more siblings and *all* of them became professionals. he/she said life was tough growing up, but they got through it as a family. if im not wrong all are university educated ... he/she told me this directly ... so its not a second hand story ...

It's the parents of today who worried about no money that their kids goes to poly and university. Some even worry the kids don't have car to drive to school. From what I see, as long the kids from the low income are raised properly without being materialistic and without expectation that their parent should support them for life, they can still go to poly or university. I have seen kids from poor family who work part time to pay for tertiary school fees. These are the kids who knows how to think and prioritize early in their life.

IMO, once a person goes into tertiary education, he should slowly reduce handout from their parent, and worried about tuition fees themselves.

Agree...a lot depend on how they are brought up and the kind of values they hold. Those who know how to prioritise and manage their expectation well should do ok. Often, we worry too much but that's not say I will go down the route the father of the article take either. I have no guts to go live on such budget.

one of the very high profile lawyers in SG had this kind of background. parents barely made enough. he/she had more siblings and *all* of them became professionals. he/she said life was tough growing up, but they got through it as a family. if im not wrong all are university educated ... he/she told me this directly ... so its not a second hand story ...

The 'joy' of going through thick and thin as a family is something money cannot buy and exclusive to any level of our society. I remember that classmate of mine will save up whatever little pocket money he had and use it to buy 3 sweets for $0.10 to be shared among this younger siblings and they were so happy.

Edited by Silver_blade

Is this a Govt propaganda?State papers.At this time.It shd be noted that such case is very fragile in actual course.And the children will not get equal standing in future developments.Need careful thought.

You are stating the obvious. [lipsrsealed]

They are telling everybody that if they can do it, why can't you?

how did u know that they are happy?? Just because its posted in straits times or Zaobao?

The govt is trying to get people to have kids and will continue posting such rubbish articles.

I do not think the kids are happy :blink:

True and fully agree. Who the fark is it to question how they live.

Sigh.. Some of us earn way more than that.. And still not happy with quality of life.. Guess have to really start looking around.. How people are living.. With that 1.8k.. and still.. So happy with 5 kids.. really salute.. [:)] [:)]

yea. whats there to be proud? if the sole breadwinner cannot work then the whole family will suffer.

and confirm no insurance to cover the family ....

need 3 yrs to save for a Genting trip....

if I got 5 kids.... I doubt i can afford to go Genting even with 10 yrs saving.... school fees, food, transport, all in all, everymonth have to go to loanshark liao... where to find savings?? Wonder how they save...

yea. whats there to be proud? if the sole breadwinner cannot work then the whole family will suffer.

if I got 5 kids.... I doubt i can afford to go Genting even with 10 yrs saving.... school fees, food, transport, all in all, everymonth have to go to loanshark liao... where to find savings?? Wonder how they save...

The report did not say they they are proud of it.

There is also nothing to be shameful about them.

At least, they understand they have little to spend and try to save to spend within their means.

$1800 is definitely little by today's standard but at least the sole breadwinner is doing a honest job.

At least they do not resort to unlawful means to get unclean money for material enjoyment and pleasure.

In fact, I feel they are better off than some of the people we know exist in this world

- Educated grads who are single, earn more than $2500 a month yet got themselves in financial hot soup due to overspending using credit cards.

- Parents who splurge so much on their children (e.g. $60 on a child haircut) and yet unable to get their own child to obey authority.

I would place my bet on the children of this family to live happier and have a better future prospect than the child who flouted the school rules and has a lousy mother (in my personal opinion).

Anything wrong for them to need 3 years to save for a Genting trip?

Does this mean we should look down on them?

Does that mean that people richer (e.g. who can buy a ferrari using full cash that you spend 10 years saving also cannot buy) than you can look down on you?

Edited by Carfan

agree, nothing to be ashamed of for not able to go tour every year.

i know cdac has many activities, courses and seminars for these families, some of which are very useful and fully or highly subsidies.

Kids under such living condition appreciate the parents hard work more, they are also more sensible, mature and hungry for success. The bonding is better than the rich family whose parents hardly able to spend time with the kids.

I know a family whose has 3 kids, elder son just complete ns and going into nus under scholarship via poly. the 2nd daughter is in nus high and working part time at grassroots, help MP write letter ^_^ , they dun ask for luxury gadgets that the friends had.

I think this is a very stupid and simple man.

In his situation to have 6 children is extremely irresponsible.

Simply put is to have have what you can afford and bring up your children properly, providing them with enough education so that they can survive decently.

BTW I use my air-airconditioning daily and bath with hot water during cold nights or early morning, have three toilet in my flat and my children use the computer almost 20 hours a day, and I pay about $200 to $250 for utilities bill.

How can he be paying $300 [laugh]

I also think the garment is trying to "PROOF" that we can have more children even if we don't have much money. [mad]

I share the same thought with you....

Looking at their smiling face, I guess they are happier than many that visit Disneyland yearly and yet complaining.... [:|]

actually this is quite true... Nowadays when I go overseas on vacation, I don't really feel so happy anymore. nothing special. My kid is like super excited but for me it is just another vacation...

I wonder if my girl will get tired of vacations after a few years. She is not yet 4 years old but she has been to like Japan 4 times, NZ once, Europe once, Australia once.

Reading this article kinds of gets me thinking about how I should live my life. Maybe I should cut down on my vacations...

Edited by Wind30

another "feel good" report like the 8 bucks heart surgery and 1K HDB buyer.

end of the day, they can "report" or "argue" till cow come home and people here still struggling day and night and birth rate is still low.

i will not be surprised if there will be another report in the future stating 1.8K single got own car, drive everyday and go holiday "once a while".

what Singapore needs most is this kind of family, earning 1.8K got 6 kids. not the educated group that earn 6K or above and still dont want to have kid.

Wow, 6 kids! Next time 1 doctor, 1 banker, 1 entrepreneur, 1 professor, 1 tcs star, 1 CEO. Each give him $2K per month for him to retire.

This is the good side if they are successful. What if the bad side, even if they are degree holders, but some are jobless or most lowly paid? The parents may even have to continue to support them... 2-side of the coin, own luck to determine win or lose.

His children's needs and wants will increase over time + inflation. May be for now, they are ok.

How about long term?

Having children is not a short term thing.