Local family of 8 can survive on $1800

Ahtong

Agree! it takes discipline , sacrifice and character . Respect these families to the max.

Its is thru hardship and suffering that the family bond is the strongest. -_-

why is that so?

during my ns time, although just a megre pay of $300+, i still give my mum nearly half of it($150) every month.

being in the combat unit, only saturday can book out(take bus lor), everyday eat cookhouse, still can spend on the once weekly nights off on changi village nasi lemak.

haha..you never "sub" duty in camp for extra income meh bro? [laugh]

Last time when I was in Navy my income was about $1.5k including service pay. [:p]

haha..you never "sub" duty in camp for extra income meh bro? [laugh]

Last time when I was in Navy my income was about $1.5k including service pay. [:p]

This kind of thing still dare to bring out and say. :D

Yeah, I did as well, Saturday one price, Sunday higher. [:p]

This kind of thing still dare to bring out and say. :D

Yeah, I did as well, Saturday one price, Sunday higher. [:p]

Holiday double or triple rate ok.... [laugh] [laugh]

Then follow those regular go flower joints hang flower...oops [:p]

its this the second of such news this week?

??? trying to brainwash us that raising kids is very simple and cheap?

its this the second of such news this week?

??? trying to brainwash us that raising kids is very simple and cheap?

you got the message wrong, the correct message is

those complaining that raising kids is expensive are unwilling to make sacrifices

who knows the man has many other rich and close relatives

so he's far from worried

i have a friend not earning a lot and is contented to lead a humble life with his parents in a small flat

but his grandma actually owns a bungalow in singapore

for your info, obama's brother lives a very laid-back and low-profile lifestyle all by himself in a rural area, very few in his village know his brother is actually president of USA

Edited by Tomasky

who knows the man has many other rich and close relatives

so he's far from worried

i have a friend not earning a lot and is contented to lead a humble life with his parents in a small flat

but his grandma actually owns a bungalow in singapore

even if have rich relative cannot disclose mah...

it would invalidate the underlying message of the article

Ha ... ha... I think so too. No cable tv, no movies, save money by not going out, no hobbies to spend on, so what's there left to do? [laugh]

Children still young, so they don't compare with others. But they may become resentful of their lifestyle when they grow older and start to think for themselves.

Actually the guy should go and upgrade further, as $1800 salary now is easily surpassed even with some basic jobs like driving bus, aux police, etc. He can easily earn more.

But looking at his family... I think he got no time to go for upgrading!

Last time I used to think that earn low income, never mind, so long as family happy and contented, it's good enough

But now after I read abt this story with 8 kids, my thinking has changed

When someone make babies and bring them to this world, there must be basic responsibility to ensure that the kids are well looked after and their future is secured with minimum requirements.

I look at this 2 parents and felt that they are irresponsible to the kids. Now the kids are young, it's fine to survive with $1800. Everyone is happy

I cannot imagine when the kids growing up and getting ready for teritiary education. Nowadays, must at least get a poly education in order to survive. Those smarter ones, go for University education

Now they have 8 kids. I don't want to say all 8 want to go to university. Let's say 4 are going to poly and 4 go to university. Its not unrealistic. Its highly possible and very realistic. Sit down and think. How are the parents going to afford the education?

When I say that the parents must be responsible for kids' future, I meant providing the required education that the kids need for survival.

If the parents can't even afford this education, it's called irresponsible. It's not only irresponsible to the kids, but also to the society.

If the 8 kids are smart enough to go poly or Uni, but parents no money, then what happens? Ask for busary? What if busary not approved? Kids stop school and go work with "O" levels?

Last time I used to think that earn low income, never mind, so long as family happy and contented, it's good enough

But now after I read abt this story with 8 kids, my thinking has changed

When someone make babies and bring them to this world, there must be basic responsibility to ensure that the kids are well looked after and their future is secured with minimum requirements.

I look at this 2 parents and felt that they are irresponsible to the kids. Now the kids are young, it's fine to survive with $1800. Everyone is happy

I cannot imagine when the kids growing up and getting ready for teritiary education. Nowadays, must at least get a poly education in order to survive. Those smarter ones, go for University education

Now they have 8 kids. I don't want to say all 8 want to go to university. Let's say 4 are going to poly and 4 go to university. Its not unrealistic. Its highly possible and very realistic. Sit down and think. How are the parents going to afford the education?

When I say that the parents must be responsible for kids' future, I meant providing the required education that the kids need for survival.

If the parents can't even afford this education, it's called irresponsible. It's not only irresponsible to the kids, but also to the society.

If the 8 kids are smart enough to go poly or Uni, but parents no money, then what happens? Ask for busary? What if busary not approved? Kids stop school and go work with "O" levels?

ermm....its 6 kids and not 8.

please...

you relate that in other countries like Thailand, Indonesia and even Malaysia

the malay natives will tell you that's achievable and do-able...no big deal...it's pretty common in those countries

so it's not this household that has a problem...it's Singapore (sinking) society that has a problem

the problem lies with this materialistic society who condemn and look down on them

Edited by Tomasky

Wow, 6 kids! Next time 1 doctor, 1 banker, 1 entrepreneur, 1 professor, 1 tcs star, 1 CEO. Each give him $2K per month for him to retire.

This article remind me of one of my classmates. His mum single handedly raise 5 kids with $600 as a cleaner. That was over 20years ago. 3 of the 5 are poly or Uni grads.

My classmate sometimes come to school with unwashed shirt but he & his sliblings are close knitted & always seems happy. Their home was a rented 1-room flat. My classmate, being the eldest, work during holiday & he join the navy after sec school to help with his family. He later went to study in the poly. His 2 sliblings who went to Uni with financial assistance. They had a tough life but they make good eventually.

Edited by Silver_blade

Honestly, $1800 for a family of 8. I don't know if I should call that courageous or plain stupid.

IMO, it is totally poor planning on the parents' part. Very IRRESPOSIBLE towards the children. The kids are disadvantaged from the start line.

Making sacrifies is thinking of your children as first priority over anything else. That is something that many new generations are not able to do.

However, this is no longer a case where making sacrifice is enough.

I know of a similar family. They are my grandma's neighbours, so their kids and I sort of grew up together. Whole family of 7(kids+parents+their granny) in a 4 rm flat, I assume fully paid for since they were compensated for the relocation from lim chu kang. Father was the sole breadwinner. Very low income. In fact much lower than this family of 8, but that was in the 90's where even $10 was very big. One fine day the father had a stroke. Ended up sibei cham. Even 80 year old granny still need to go out find work.

Do not compare across countries because benefits and subsidies are different. Cost of living is different. The level of competition is also different. In many cases, it often ends up as idiots breeding idiots, then breeding more idiots. They are happy in their own way, but I always believe that one should not decide the type of life his kids should have or over shelter them. Instead, just be able to support him through the basic education system up to his first degree. After that he is on his own. Want to work as farmer or banker is his own choice liao. However, the key here is, at least be able to support him through the basics like how the average family can, nothing more and nothing less.

I have an ex bf whose dad is a bus driver, with OT and blah blah blah, and compulsory 6 days week, he takes home $2000... his mother works at the supermarket and she takes home about $1200 after cpf, when he wanted to go to the Poly, his dad say no money cos every month pay for their 5 room flats, utilities, as well as a basic life policy for each of the kids, there are 5 kids and an aged grandpa, both parents have to take high blood medicine... so he boh pian went to sign on cos he still got 3 brothers in secondary school, older brother also same incident have to sign on to get sponsorship for poly.... got good O-levels but cannot afford to go poly... anyway he is doing well today cos he studied while he work and moved on to private sector after his degree...

Oh and the 3 younger brothers are from another mother, who passed on already.... he couldnt go poly so that his parents could support the 3 other brothers...

$2000 + 1200 = $3200 and they have not much luxuries, both parents work 12-16 hours, so all have to eat out, parents sometimes quarrel over money..

this one 5 kids 1.8k, I dun know how happy they can be leh... maybe all the kids still young lah...

Edited by Meganut