Swifter78 2nd Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Wow this guy so horny? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear August 24, 2012 Author Share August 24, 2012 (edited) Even if I could live frugally like them, I think I also don't want. Only one "toy" a year, eat at home all the time ..... what's the meaning then? Really all work and no play. Edited August 24, 2012 by Ahtong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Considering absolutely no insurance, no tuition, everything bare minimum food only should be OK. But pray that there is no hiccup like health issue or accident. if they approach CDAC, the kids will get free tuition, and school might give SPH pocket $, they may also receive some assistant from CDC and utilities rebate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 anything is possible if you put your mind to it . But this one caught my eye. - Saved for 3 yrs to go Genting for 3D2N It means they take 3 years to save about 1k ( i assume 100 x 5 for weekend package and 500 SGD spending money ) That is very risky if the father is uninsured. The financial pinch will come when the children is about to enter tertiary institutions or serve national service. That is when they will sign on to the forces.... why is that so? during my ns time, although just a megre pay of $300+, i still give my mum nearly half of it($150) every month. being in the combat unit, only saturday can book out(take bus lor), everyday eat cookhouse, still can spend on the once weekly nights off on changi village nasi lemak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 I share the same thought with you.... Looking at their smiling face, I guess they are happier than many that visit Disneyland yearly and yet complaining.... There are many things in life to observe than just money & material, if life is kind to them, they will have 6 kids to support them in old age . All these aren't going to be easy, but may not be as tough as many of us who only get our satisfaction through money and material Many of my generation grow up in big family, clothing are passed down from eldest to youngest, toys are share if there is one (else can look for spider...hehe), many "wants" would have to give way to "need" though, but the care and love from elder sibling compensate all Regardless of the hidden agenda to publish this story if any, I actually envy their facial expression in the photo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Looking at own expenditure, if I less the parents allowance, tithe, car, maid, insurance, kids enrichment/ sch fees, buy cheaper food, I can also support a family with less than 2k take home. (but my family is of 4 only ahaha) But say easy, harder to do it, and even harder to be happy and have no worries doing it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hephaestus Clutched August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 This family has proven is possible to live LSS's mantra to be cheaper, better and faster. Accept low wages and still raise 6 kids. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neko 2nd Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 While I admire this guy, I also question if he had made any long term and contingency planning. Some may say if his family is happy, thats important. However this is very short sighted and unfair to the children. They are literally living on the edge and they need to pray hard the husband don't fall seriously ill or get out of job. The other thing they should realise is, in Singapore, things would only get more and more expensive, and with 6 kids growing up, the cost of even providing basic necessities would only escalate, not to mention peer pressure to own hand phones, computers, xbox, etc. Had the parents factored these in and also provide a buffer for healthcare cost, which is the most unpredictable and costly? My take is they should stop at max 3. The wife can also help to supplement income by taking part time jobs, even a few hundred can go a long way. I actually feel sad for this family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Wow this guy so horny? May be he dont want to pay durex. Wonder how he does it with so many kids around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 to them, your concern probably is 'you over analyse and think too much - just do it!' While I admire this guy, I also question if he had made any long term and contingency planning. Some may say if his family is happy, thats important. However this is very short sighted and unfair to the children. They are literally living on the edge and they need to pray hard the husband don't fall seriously ill or get out of job. The other thing they should realise is, in Singapore, things would only get more and more expensive, and with 6 kids growing up, the cost of even providing basic necessities would only escalate, not to mention peer pressure to own hand phones, computers, xbox, etc. Had the parents factored these in and also provide a buffer for healthcare cost, which is the most unpredictable and costly? My take is they should stop at max 3. The wife can also help to supplement income by taking part time jobs, even a few hundred can go a long way. I actually feel sad for this family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 While I admire this guy, I also question if he had made any long term and contingency planning. Some may say if his family is happy, thats important. However this is very short sighted and unfair to the children. They are literally living on the edge and they need to pray hard the husband don't fall seriously ill or get out of job. The other thing they should realise is, in Singapore, things would only get more and more expensive, and with 6 kids growing up, the cost of even providing basic necessities would only escalate, not to mention peer pressure to own hand phones, computers, xbox, etc. Had the parents factored these in and also provide a buffer for healthcare cost, which is the most unpredictable and costly? My take is they should stop at max 3. The wife can also help to supplement income by taking part time jobs, even a few hundred can go a long way. I actually feel sad for this family. errr ... thats assuming the kids are materialistic isnt it? since when does everyone fall to peer pressure? my parents gave me one of those old cdma phones growing up. can only make call, no sms no nothing. used it for many many years without complaining. got a real handphone only after entering poly (and spending my own money some more ..) if having 6 kids makes the guy happy in life, then so be it ... i'll probably stop at 3 myself ... but thats cos im selfish and dont want to drive an MPV :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hephaestus Clutched August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 They must make Lim Chong Yah eat his words. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear August 24, 2012 Author Share August 24, 2012 to them, your concern probably is 'you over analyse and think too much - just do it!' From my real life observation, over analyze leads to unhappiness. Under analyze leads to disaster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 May be he dont want to pay durex. Wonder how he does it with so many kids around. Or he use my competitors brands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 your friend is confirm paying for some debts you are not aware of....either for herself or for someone else. she comes to me for financial advice so I asked her to provide breakdown on her monthly expenses for me to look at...she did and it looks ok...so I tried to help her analyse where does the additional expenses comes from that make the situation so dire and she said nothing else contributes to it but it just doesn't make sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 While I admire this guy, I also question if he had made any long term and contingency planning. Some may say if his family is happy, thats important. However this is very short sighted and unfair to the children. They are literally living on the edge and they need to pray hard the husband don't fall seriously ill or get out of job. The other thing they should realise is, in Singapore, things would only get more and more expensive, and with 6 kids growing up, the cost of even providing basic necessities would only escalate, not to mention peer pressure to own hand phones, computers, xbox, etc. Had the parents factored these in and also provide a buffer for healthcare cost, which is the most unpredictable and costly? My take is they should stop at max 3. The wife can also help to supplement income by taking part time jobs, even a few hundred can go a long way. I actually feel sad for this family. Well, to certain race, such family size is somewhat common.... Anyway, while I have no doubt they are genuinely happy, it's really like riding on a motorbike with no helmet.... Any three long two short will be very jialat.... However, they also have an advantage. At such income, they can really get a lot of help from various gahmen bodies.... It's those not up not down one that is most chum..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hephaestus Clutched August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Yeoh Lam Keong says there is a growing class of 'working poor' in Singapore. 154th must go all out and prove they living happily despite being poor. http://sg.news.yahoo.com/behind-singapore-...king-poor-.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Life is how you want it, home is where you make it. Why do you guys doubt the family story? You can't get by with $1800 a month doesn't mean they can't. If they can get by with life simply, we should be happy for them. They are not as materalistic as some people, which is good. Some people have all the materalistic things but are living alone with no family. That's happiness? Depend on how you look at it I guess. I'm happy for them but am just thinking, why din he want to stop at 3, perhaps? not so much for himself, but more for his children. he could provide a better living environment for 3 children rather than 6. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...