Damienic 5th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 3:13 AM, Watwheels said: I LOL at the "supreme leader". Sound so commie. sounds like sarcasm with that....cos people always address North Korea ex leader Kim Jong Ill as the "supreme leader" too... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 2:35 AM, Tom_kkh said: http://temasektimes.wordpress.com/2012/08/...ing-birth-rate/ The Women Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayy25 6th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 3:00 AM, Tom_kkh said: at least this is the most sound proposal i have ever heard compared to COE, HDB, Floods, etc implement a not is another issue altogether like you said "at least"... the least they can do is implement it but most of time it all talk talk talk.... like the election when PM said at least he can do is say "sorry" but most of time things still screw up at least for the citizens. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear August 24, 2012 Author Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 3:18 AM, Happily1986 said: sorry to burst your bubble but a white paper is a byword for suggestion. there has been steering committees formed by more PAP heavyweights and I have yet to see any implementation as of yet. do we see a feasibility study happening anytime soon? lets wait and see. hmmm.... i think everyone got me wrong. i said its a good sound proposal not a good implementation to look forward to.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear August 24, 2012 Author Share August 24, 2012 (edited) On 8/24/2012 at 3:24 AM, Jayy25 said: like you said "at least"... the least they can do is implement it but most of time it all talk talk talk.... like the election when PM said at least he can do is say "sorry" but most of time things still screw up at least for the citizens. different shoes fit different ppl. I don bias against a party's sound proposal even if i don like them. I know implementation will not come to light, maybe. but to me, though its a overdue proposal at least it was brought up. so much better than any other proposals i have heard been brought up since PAP was formed. ok i stressed again. implementation is not my focus for thumbs up here. Edited August 24, 2012 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 3:18 AM, Happily1986 said: sorry to burst your bubble but a white paper is a byword for suggestion. there has been steering committees formed by more PAP heavyweights and I have yet to see any implementation as of yet. do we see a feasibility study happening anytime soon? lets wait and see. what i feel is uncalled for is this sentence Meanwhile, there is nothing heard from the Workers Party on the issue whose MPs are nowhere to seen, heard or found of late. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 3:33 AM, Galantspeedz said: Meanwhile, there is nothing heard from the Workers Party on the issue whose MPs are nowhere to seen, heard or found of late. Who are those MPs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 3:37 AM, TVT said: Who are those MPs? i think he meant WP MPs so should be from Aljuinied grc i guess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yrvsport 2nd Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Cakap Tak Guna Tenbak Tak Kena.....N.A.T.O... Show result comment later... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 (edited) On 8/24/2012 at 3:33 AM, Galantspeedz said: what i feel is uncalled for is this sentence Meanwhile, there is nothing heard from the Workers Party on the issue whose MPs are nowhere to seen, heard or found of late. sometimes when my gf quarrel with me, she will use this tactic too. LOL Edited August 24, 2012 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 (edited) i don't see any details of the proposals leh Edited August 24, 2012 by Altivo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 ya....wait till pappy successfully get thougth these implementation....and [ yield positive result than talk...] now dun need to hoot the pappy or wp...too early to be fair to both side... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 2:49 AM, Fcw75 said: Precisely, nothing is being implemented yet. Talk is cheap, or rather free. What's there to give a thumbs up for? he is a pap supporter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 Implementation or not, all "suggestions" had been brought up before. If you have heard Class 95FM, they also felt that the suggestions are not solutions to the core problem. It is more long-term... Good but only touching the top of the ice berg... The couples must be ready for a long term responsibilities - heavy financial and mental commitments. Starting from the birth of the child: - Financial 1. Cost for hospital bills 2. Cost for diapers & milk powders 3. Cost for a infant care center if both parents need to work Mental 1. Sleepless nights 2. Continuous crying due to colic 3. Less social life, only time for baby 4. Anxiety when baby is sick Not just looking at the beginning but the whole process till the child is 18yrs old... It is neither an individual group nor political group problem, it's a national problem. So not ethical to say: "Meanwhile, there is nothing heard from the Workers Party on the issue whose MPs are nowhere to seen, heard or found of late." I think if we are looking at issues by issues then we will be in trouble again (that's what is happening now) Marriages and Birth Rates related issues: 1. Affordability of education, childcare and infant care 2. Affordability of housing, transportation and daily necessities 3. Strong support from employers' on flexi hours for both parents 4. Total Household income less than desirable Affordability of education, childcare and infant care Facts: Childcare / Nursery education may charge at low rate but there are always packaged with so call "enrichment" which parents NEED TO PAY EXTRA FOR BETTER OR ENHANCED TEACHINGS!! Affordability of housing, transportation and daily necessities Facts: Public Transport is relatively cheap but overcrowded, Public Housing don't come cheap. CPI index keeps increasing so daily necessities have already increased by 11points since 2008. Inflation of 5.3% or 4.4% are just reflection of monthly % changes but not the overall (statistics from http://www.singstat.gov.sg/). Strong support from employers' on flexi hours for both parents Facts: Local SMEs CANNOT afford giving LONG MATERNITY LEAVE not even PATERNITY LEAVE. Period. Total Household income less than desirable Facts: Looking back at the GST offset, a single household with 2 grandparents not working due to old age illness, 1 mother not working to take care of 2 YOUNG CHILDRENS are only given $110 because they all stayed in 4-room flat. But their total household income is less than $900 even if the father earns $3500 before CPF deductions!! Money is what makes the world goes round. If the couples can balance their monthly statement while not affecting their work, I don't think Marriages and Birth Rates will become an issue now. My 2-cents worth, thanks for reading. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 3:00 AM, Tom_kkh said: at least this is the most sound proposal i have ever heard compared to COE, HDB, Floods, etc implement a not is another issue altogether Not saying it is a good proposal or not (I think is is still doing more of the same that was done... no fundamental changes) . But until it is implemented it has zero impact to the problem it is trying to solve. Pop the champagne after you win the race not after you lead in the 1st lap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 release paper nia .... so excited for what... hot air Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mothorrr12 Neutral Newbie August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 5:16 AM, Othello said: release paper nia .... so excited for what... hot air is hot paper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear August 24, 2012 Share August 24, 2012 On 8/24/2012 at 2:35 AM, Tom_kkh said: http://temasektimes.wordpress.com/2012/08/...ing-birth-rate/ The Women ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...