Accident between car and cyclist at Jurong East

Yamapi

Even though i am cyclist, i still says orbi good!!

Hope the cyclist live & learn his lesson.

Anyway, even pedestrian also anyhow cross road nowadays.

What camera is this anybody knows? Very clear

Pity the driver. Even with this video he sure going to get some sort of blame and probably get fined or something.

As for the second video where the girl almost got hit at zebra crossing, I think both the taxi and the girl equally bad. She should be watching out for cars before crossing and the taxi should have slowed down since he was approaching a zebra crossing. This was taught during driving lessons right?

I feel that Wish driver could have been little smarter as it is pedestrian cross without signal and he should have expected this thing and the girl was totally lost!

Ya, but it happen too unexpectly and fast. If it happened to you, you will also no time to react lor. Lucky thing is that the wish driver is travel slowly.

Actually its a zebra crossing so not really "anyhow" cross..Even though she had the right of way, she should have kept a look out..

The taxi driver should have stopped when he saw the girl near the crossing, so if kena langa then its his 100% his fault..

Off topic abit...was the camera mounted on a bicycle?

I feel that Wish driver could have been little smarter as it is pedestrian cross without signal and he should have expected this thing and the girl was totally lost!

And I think the driver unwind window and KPKB the girl...she looked like she was apologising to him..But I think he should have been more alert and stopped whenever got ppl near zebra crossing

What is it with people who persisted in using their hp or plugged into earphones while crossing roads, crossing carparks, cycling,

all the while oblivious to their surroundings. I noticed that most of the time is bochap attitude......thinking that drivers would

always look out for them, give way or stopped for them!

Sori, I know this thread is regarding errant cyclists, but I would like to take this opportunity to let off steam.

Nearly had blubber from a fat pedestrian splattered on my car a few days ago.

I already signal left turn into AAS driveway after the traffic junction, slowed down, turned in abt 2 metres

when suddenly, this fat guy who was standing on the grass kerb with hp glued to ear

stepped off the kerb onto the left front of my car!

If not for the stupid SOB following so close behind me, I would have got out of car to give the fatso a good pc of my mind!

Meanwhile, the rear of my car was still on main road and the car that was behind pressed hard on his horn at me.

If he had not been following too close, he would have seen the reason why I stopped suddenly.

Most probably he must be cursing 'another stupid female driver' !

Why can't the cyclist just wait for the fcking Traffic light to be in his favour?? [mad]

Wanted to cross the road faster but in the end never make it to the other side of the road [:(]

Pity the car driver also..not his fault but have to go thru the pain and trouble after the incident..Lucky got footage to support him

Anyways, hope the cyclist is alright and learnt his lesson..

And glad to see that many passers by rushed to help the cyclists altough there were 2 who stood at the traffic light and never moved :angry:

That is not the girl's fault. If I was her, I would have my middle finger up at the taxi driver.

Pedestrian crossing is to give way to the pedestrian - read your bloody BTT book!

I see this all the time, drivers not stopping at pedestrian crossing.

Actually its a zebra crossing so not really "anyhow" cross..Even though she had the right of way, she should have kept a look out..

The taxi driver should have stopped when he saw the girl near the crossing, so if kena langa then its his 100% his fault..

Off topic abit...was the camera mounted on a bicycle?

I agree with you....and I also have the same question! How was he holding the camera!! Or is it the new tactic to upskirt!!!??? [laugh]

If you look carefully you will see that the cyclist was actually in motion travelling along the road - he simply decided to sweep across both lanes in order to cross to the other side. Going by the speed at which he made the maneuver, he did not check blind spot beforehand!

and driver shifted the car to road side, he is in trouble regardless of whose fault...

The car took some distance to come to a complete stop from where the impact occurred. The fact that there was video evidence and the driver didn't run away are probably mitigating circumstances that could make the car being shifted to one side irrelevant.

If you look carefully you will see that the cyclist was actually in motion travelling along the road - he simply decided to sweep across both lanes in order to cross to the other side. Going by the speed at which he made the maneuver, he did not check blind spot beforehand!

Yes. You are right. The cyclist was not waiting at the Pedestrian Crossing for the light to turn Green. He was cycling in the same direction with the car in the left lane. I guess he wanted to turn right and he just cut into the lane on his right without checking and ended up being hit by the car traveling on that lane. Hope he survive to learn his lesson

Edited by Civic2000

The car took some distance to come to a complete stop from where the impact occurred. The fact that there was video evidence and the driver didn't run away are probably mitigating circumstances that could make the car being shifted to one side irrelevant.

what ever it is, shifting of vehicles is not allowed. .........Thats rule No. 1

What is it with people who persisted in using their hp or plugged into earphones while crossing roads, crossing carparks, cycling,

all the while oblivious to their surroundings. I noticed that most of the time is bochap attitude......thinking that drivers would

always look out for them, give way or stopped for them!

Sori, I know this thread is regarding errant cyclists, but I would like to take this opportunity to let off steam.

Nearly had blubber from a fat pedestrian splattered on my car a few days ago.

I already signal left turn into AAS driveway after the traffic junction, slowed down, turned in abt 2 metres

when suddenly, this fat guy who was standing on the grass kerb with hp glued to ear

stepped off the kerb onto the left front of my car!

If not for the stupid SOB following so close behind me, I would have got out of car to give the fatso a good pc of my mind!

Meanwhile, the rear of my car was still on main road and the car that was behind pressed hard on his horn at me.

If he had not been following too close, he would have seen the reason why I stopped suddenly.

Most probably he must be cursing 'another stupid female driver' !

i had a similiar incident one night last wk. I was making a left turn fm a main road into a minor road, traffic lights in my favour, the pedestrain crossing for the minor road was "red", but i noticed two men on my left walking parrellel to me, towards the crossing.

Lo and behold, they proceeded to cross without even chking if there were oncoming cars turning in from the main road!! i blasted my horn at them while braking (in the corner, no doubt) The cars queueing along the minor road to turn out (lights were red for them) were probably shocked at the pedestrains' behaviour too.

the two chaps looked at me and raised their hands... i am not sure if that was an apology or simply an acknowledgement of my presence. [bigcry]

It is fine for us to analyze it from behind our computers, but I wouldn't be sure I wouldn't do something silly like shifting cars if a cyclist suddenly smacked across my front fender, like moving my car off to the side; it is a shocking incident and gets the adrenaline going! I've had an accident before (fortunately no injuries as it was a light tap) and all I could think of was having the car(s) shifted to one side away from blocking traffic... in any case, it is hard to expect the driver to stomp on his brakes the moment impact occurred. Even if he did, he would still have shifted the car (technically).

Edited by Macrosszero

What if the car stopped in between the two lanes, blocking traffic...is he/she still not allowed to shift to one side?

Just read that the car driver is a mother with two young kids in the car (from newspaper).

She's afraid that if she sudden brake maybe the kids in the car will hurt too, she said this is her first car accident.

So I think she was in shock that made her react slow.

As long as she DID NOT run away and there was video evidence, it's ok in this situation.