Jman888 Moderator August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 happy but problem now. you want more i one time give you 4, but should govt subsidies the bills? Quote Quadruplets cost family more than $180k in hospital fees The quadruplets born on July 19 are still in hospital, and their estimated hospital bill is around $180,000. Their grandparents are frustrated over the large sum, which is still increasing, as the babies have been warded for about 30 days and have not been discharged. Madam Lily Lim, 52, told Shin Min Daily News that the babies were born premature and had to be warded in the neonatal intensive care unit, which costs $1,000 a day for each baby. The current bill is around $135,000, as the babies have been warded for 28 days as of August 15. The eldest child Janessa Phua is 1.8kg, and Madam Lim says she is likely to be discharged next week. However the other three - Joelle, Jovianne and Kingsley - might have to stay in hospital for a few more weeks. Madam Lim estimates the bill to hit $180,000 when her grandchildren are finally discharged. She lamented that while the government encourages having more births, her family is unable to bear the high costs of having quadruplets. Madam Lim said the family considered using the Child Development Account to pay the bills, but they found out that the money cannot be used for this hospital bill. The paper understands that Madam Lim has filed applications with the Central Provident Fund (CPF) Board and Ministry of Health to request to use both her husband's and her CPF accounts to help ease the financial burdens of her son and daughter-in-law. As of yesterday, Madam Lim has not received a reply. She says that with their combined CPF of about $90,000, they would be able to pay for half the fees. A spokesman from the Ministry of Health told the paper that they have contacted Madam Lim and Gleneagles Hospital to enquire about the details to evaluate the case. The family has paid her daughter-in-law's medical bill of over $40,000. Madam Lim said that they had appealed to the hospital and received a discount of $1,500. Others have questioned the Phuas' decision in choosing a private hospital over a government one, as the latter would be a much cheaper option. Madam Lim told Shin Min Daily News on Thursday that the family chose Gleneagles, because they felt that delivering quadruplets would be risky. Also, a Chinese practitioner recommended the hospital when her son and daughter-in-law were trying to conceive. When the paper contacted National University Hospital and Singapore General Hospital, both spokespersons said the hospitals have adequate resources to manage multiple births. natlim@sph.com.sg ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 (edited) they choose to go private hospital then LL lor Edited August 17, 2012 by Kiario Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 On 8/17/2012 at 1:38 AM, Kiario said: they choose to go private hospital then LL lor That's what I think too. They should have gone to KKH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 (edited) if no $$$ better don't have so many children ... isn't this old folk saying is still valid today? anyway, $180K for private even go govt ... it's not going to be $18K either Edited August 17, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 On 8/17/2012 at 1:42 AM, Wt_know said: if no $$$ better don't have so many children ... isn't this old folk saying is still valid today? but har, the sperm so powerful, what to do, they wouldn't know its 4 at 1 shot mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 On 8/17/2012 at 1:36 AM, Jman888 said: happy but problem now. you want more i one time give you 4, but should govt subsidies the bills? or-bi-good. no money head so big want to go Private. now no mola to pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 On 8/17/2012 at 1:44 AM, Kiario said: but har, the sperm so powerful, what to do, they wouldn't know its 4 at 1 shot mah. every month got check up one. when show that got 4 baby, they should make plans liao. unless of course, the private hospital didnt tell them the price of delivery there. (which i am not surprise as its a private hospital.) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 17, 2012 Author Share August 17, 2012 what would be the different be if go KK? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 (edited) But hor, giving birth to quadruplets is risky. If your wife you dare to send her to KKH? I think they went there for the expertise & facilities. Siong one shot 4 babies, everything must buy 4 times, very busy. Edited August 17, 2012 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 (edited) understandable ... to some when it comes to wife+baby life is on the line ... sell car sell hdb sell sperm to raise money On 8/17/2012 at 1:47 AM, Watwheels said: But hor, giving birth to quadruplets is risky. If your wife you dare to send her to KKH? Edited August 17, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 On 8/17/2012 at 1:47 AM, Watwheels said: But hor, giving birth to quadruplets is risky. If your wife you dare to send her to KKH? if my wife, i dare send her to KKH. my wife is in medical profession, she dont dare to go to private not because of the high bills. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linlaopei August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 send la. still considered hospital wat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 (edited) sounds like IVF to me .... put in 4 embryo? Quote Madam Lim told Shin Min Daily News on Thursday that the family chose Gleneagles, because they felt that delivering quadruplets would be risky. Also, a Chinese practitioner recommended the hospital when her son and daughter-in-law were trying to conceive. On 8/17/2012 at 1:44 AM, Kiario said: but har, the sperm so powerful, what to do, they wouldn't know its 4 at 1 shot mah. Edited August 17, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 For babies/children medical, KKH is the safest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 On 8/17/2012 at 1:48 AM, Joseph22 said: if my wife, i dare send her to KKH. my wife is in medical profession, she dont dare to go to private not because of the high bills. That's you & your wife. Ppl dun want to risk it. It's their choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 They wouldnt have opted for a private hospital if they are poor. Period. Now that the bills comes out to be much heftier than they thought, comprain see if can get some concessions or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 +1000 would a odd-job worker walk into hour glass to buy a rolex and complain the rolex is expensive than he thought On 8/17/2012 at 1:54 AM, Old-driver said: They wouldnt have opted for a private hospital if they are poor. Period. Now that the bills comes out to be much heftier than they thought, comprain see if can get some concessions or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 17, 2012 Share August 17, 2012 On 8/17/2012 at 1:52 AM, Watwheels said: That's you & your wife. Ppl dun want to risk it. It's their choice. i am hinting that. its actually more risky ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...