I'm baffled! Raggedy rag.

Count-Bracula

Had been experiencing vibration in the dashboard when I pedal gas hitting above 90km/h. Sent car to workshop this morning and since boss not in yet. Opened the bonnet and looked inside. Found a piece of rag inside engine bay, hmmmm ? Took it out and closed bonnet. Boss came in, took him out for a spin to let him figure what's wrong and guess what? The strong vibration no longer exist when I speed up to 90-100km/h. Workshop boss looked at me and said "Nothing wrong leh!" Wah piang!!

On 8/16/2012 at 9:09 AM, Count-Bracula said:

Had been experiencing vibration in the dashboard when I pedal gas hitting above 90km/h. Sent car to workshop this morning and since boss not in yet. Opened the bonnet and looked inside. Found a piece of rag inside engine bay, hmmmm ? Took it out and closed bonnet. Boss came in, took him out for a spin to let him figure what's wrong and guess what? The strong vibration no longer exist when I speed up to 90-100km/h. Workshop boss looked at me and said "Nothing wrong leh!" Wah piang!!

7 month come early for u [laugh] [laugh]

You took out the rag and vibration gone ofcourse boss say nothing wrong what. What do you expect?

Would a rag cause such vibrations? I really doubt so...its only a piece of cloth and not a solid item.

TS...what baffles me more is that you didnt even open the bonnet to have a look???

Goodness...got small problem straight away sent to workshop??

this is super baffling.

On 8/16/2012 at 10:30 AM, Bigmatt140 said:

TS...what baffles me more is that you didnt even open the bonnet to have a look???

Goodness...got small problem straight away sent to workshop??

this is super baffling.

I did checked for loose parts but never notice the rag was stuffed next to the air filter box. Maybe the workshop I went to previously left it there.

How could a rag, 5" by 5", caused the vibration? Did it obstruct the air intake? Cannot be arhh? But it sounded like engine was choking and gasping for air!

Mounting got problem liao... spend money time...

Went for a spin, engine sound is smooth and is responsive. Motul 300V is goood. Thank goodness! Workshop must have left it there so that I go back to get chop carrot. That's the bugger who swapped my car mat for a old tattered one. "Champion" lah, this cheat at AV. [mad]

On 8/19/2012 at 5:16 AM, Count-Bracula said:

Went for a spin, engine sound is smooth and is responsive. Motul 300V is goood. Thank goodness! Workshop must have left it there so that I go back to get chop carrot. That's the bugger who swapped my car mat for a old tattered one. "Champion" lah, this cheat at AV. [mad]

lol... i think i heard that story before