To those who leave family behind to work overseas....

Tjkbeluga

I had gone through an overseas work attachment previously for 2 months.

I understand why people say even seemingly decent men will stray when they work overseas long term due to the amount of spare time they have. :D

and the burden on wife bringing up kids alone in Singapore would be tremendous. [sweatdrop]

think again if you value your family

i did asked in the last thread about what marriage thingy, that would a guy sacrifice for the sake of keeping family together by forgoing the opportunity to work overseas.

like some say, if the marriage is strong and the wife is independent, why not?

but to me i probably won't do it, maybe i am getting old cos no sio sio milo and ccf, go for fark [laugh] [laugh]

-_-

I appreciate the fact that IT is a field in which good advancements are hard to come by. Still, i feel that a 20% increment wouldn't justify uprooting your workplace to Japan. TS, are you currently working in a Japanese MNC that strongly reflects Japanese corporate culture? I feel that the the pay increment being the pull factor, your dislike for your current job serves as the push factor. It could be quite unpleasant to find out that the push factor turns out to be a rude culture shock.

Furthermore, being stationed full time in Japan, this will mean that your tax residency status will change right? Does your pay increment justify that? I am not sure but i believe that income taxes are a hell lot higher over there.

Bro, i think he's worked in Japan 5yrs ago.. so the culture shock part probably won't be too bad..

fren, you can drop dead anytime....think you rather have your body here....for me too easier topick your body [laugh] [laugh]

dont bruff lah. here the vats cheep cheep, just tumblah inside put vinegar kway kway. :D

Hey, sometimes, it's really best not to look a gift horse in the mouth.

If he didn't take it up, he might well be kicking himself later on in the years for not doing so.

Tax wise, speak with HR to sort things out.

I appreciate the fact that IT is a field in which good advancements are hard to come by. Still, i feel that a 20% increment wouldn't justify uprooting your workplace to Japan. TS, are you currently working in a Japanese MNC that strongly reflects Japanese corporate culture? I feel that the the pay increment being the pull factor, your dislike for your current job serves as the push factor. It could be quite unpleasant to find out that the push factor turns out to be a rude culture shock.

Furthermore, being stationed full time in Japan, this will mean that your tax residency status will change right? Does your pay increment justify that? I am not sure but i believe that income taxes are a hell lot higher over there.

I had gone through an overseas work attachment previously for 2 months.

I understand why people say even seemingly decent men will stray when they work overseas long term due to the amount of spare time they have. :D

and the burden on wife bringing up kids alone in Singapore would be tremendous. [sweatdrop]

think again if you value your family

Japan not so bad, china 100% confirm [laugh] [laugh]

bro...i know you and we spoke abt yoru health. Has that been resolved? Maintained? Suggest you get a full chk before you go, and a stress ECG to confirm any doubts.

call me if u need any good clinician

Oh yes.... I'm doing well now.... regular checkup at KTP every 6 monthly. No issue. After moving house, my blood sugar elevated. I belong to high risk in diabetes. Now after 2 months of lifestyle change and accupuncture, HBA1C result was fantastic. Accupuncture is fantastic I'd say.... More energetic and able to jog further than I could previously....

Ok good. If those issues are resolved, well, it is up to you. But Qn I finally ask is; is it really worth it? U say u old liao. Well, weight the options bro and all the best

Japan not so bad, china 100% confirm [laugh] [laugh]

a thai business associate once told me

foreigners who are stationed in thailand

would do very little work for at least 6 months upon arrival

If consider go back every 6 weeks, it will be 6 trip home a year. 3 flights will be provided by company and 3 flights self pay. Given that there is almost no bonus here in SG compare to at least 1 month bonus in Japan, this should pretty much cover it...

I had to spend about 250 SGD oneway taxi to Narita Airport (of course company reimbursed every time). Tokyo is damn expensive lah...Be careful with your numbers!

Yes, I did factor in the tax.... As I mentioned, 20% is net increment after tax deductions.... they have 2 kind of tax there.... income tax and municiple tax. In addition, there is pension fund like CPF which is compulsory... But that can be taken back when I leave the country...

Please lah, what culture shock you talking baout, you think TS is from some dark ages or crawled out from a deep dark cave is it?

Culture shock. [shakehead]

Bro, i think he's worked in Japan 5yrs ago.. so the culture shock part probably won't be too bad..

Yes, I did factor in the tax.... As I mentioned, 20% is net increment after tax deductions.... they have 2 kind of tax there.... income tax and municiple tax. In addition, there is pension fund like CPF which is compulsory... But that can be taken back when I leave the country...

So your net take home monthly increased by 14~16% thereabout?