To those who leave family behind to work overseas....

Tjkbeluga

bring the family over.

your kids escape the sg education hell-hole, your wife is always with you, and you work better knowing family is nearby.

In my previous job i spent months away from the family coming back for 2 week periods. Kids were still young then but the country of posting not very safe. It's a suffering I'll never want to repeat again.

please go ahead, with internet and 4G network, can see and talk to each other anytime you want.

last time must wait for days before the pigeon comes back <_<

Indeed... But then hor, in 2007 we already used dedicated webconferencing to talk. That time children still small.... My wife asked then, "who is papa" and they pointed at the webconferencing machine.... Whenever i think of this incident I still feel kek sim....

taiwanese pay are typically lower..... so there is possiblity that your pay could be higher than the taiwanese bossess......

unless there is difficulity that you faced...... just try to keep your kid and wife with you.....less problem.... and u can concentrate on work

Edited by Lv3338

bring the family over.

your kids escape the sg education hell-hole, your wife is always with you, and you work better knowing family is nearby.

In my previous job i spent months away from the family coming back for 2 week periods. Kids were still young then but the country of posting not very safe. It's a suffering I'll never want to repeat again.

Japan is no better.... Bullying there is bad...

This discussion of going over has been mooted for a long long time... Initially I was thinking why not put me in Taiwan since for the same salary I can keep salary more but Japan boss say cannot because that same salary will be more than Taiwan boss... They will be unhappy. Also wife say NO WAY... too many distractions there.... What I am hoping for is When I go over, I slowly build up a team which I can manage it independently. That way, there is less need for me to be stationed in Japan. Meanwhile, buildup more contacts and find opportunity. Also, I'm thinking if there are any lucrative trading I can do like selling stuff online....

What your boss said is true, salary wise, we beat Taiwan hands down, feet as well. Distractions are everywhere, Taiwan and Japan are no different, Taiwan was under Japanese rule for 55yrs, so..... that saying you will save far more in Taiwan then Japan, transport and food wise is far cheaper in Taiwan.

Akihabara got loads of sales going on idea for online.

taiwanese pay are typically lower..... so there is possiblity that your pay could be higher than the taiwanese bossess......

unless there is difficulity that you faced...... just try to keep your kid and wife with you.....less problem.... and u can concentrate on work

Wife is a nurse and pay here is quite high already... If she goes over, she will need to be proficient in Japanese and need to take Nursing exam before she can practice... So, chance is pretty slim for her to work there....

What your boss said is true, salary wise, we beat Taiwan hands down, feet as well. Distractions are everywhere, Taiwan and Japan are no different, Taiwan was under Japanese rule for 55yrs, so..... that saying you will save far more in Taiwan then Japan, transport and food wise is far cheaper in Taiwan.

Akihabara got loads of sales going on idea for online.

Don't understand why their salary is so pathetic.... Average engineer salary there is 40K NT only.... that's like 1800. Living expenses in Taipei is only slightly cheaper than SG.

i did asked in the last thread about what marriage thingy, that would a guy sacrifice for the sake of keeping family together by forgoing the opportunity to work overseas.

like some say, if the marriage is strong and the wife is independent, why not?

but to me i probably won't do it, maybe i am getting old [laugh] [laugh]

If wife young very dangerous lo..

Indeed... But then hor, in 2007 we already used dedicated webconferencing to talk. That time children still small.... My wife asked then, "who is papa" and they pointed at the webconferencing machine.... Whenever i think of this incident I still feel kek sim....

kids are very smart and mature early these day, you have been with them for past few years is good enough to keep you in their heart. come back wvery 2 months bring back some excitement with them.

it is the pressure on the spouse that long distant relationship that should be worrying about.

Don't understand why their salary is so pathetic.... Average engineer salary there is 40K NT only.... that's like 1800. Living expenses in Taipei is only slightly cheaper than SG.

One reason being the gov. did a cap on salaries, and it has never been reviewed since. My nephew has a Phd in Comp Science, yet he's only getting paid S$3k a month! He's been trying to get a job at one of our local fabs here to no success, and keeps envying my job and salary. Taipei to say this is cheaper then SG, really, you cannot compare Ser Lin night market prices etc.. the regular makan stalls are so much cheaper then SG many times, still can get a very very decent meal for S$2.00.

If given a choice, I'd go Japan, the place is so much cleaner as compared with the huge amount of rubbish people dump all over the place in Taiwan, spoiling the beautiful natural scenery. Also one thing you surely won't get used to is the typhoon and flooding, and also leaking roof everytime it rains, sad, even international airport also tio.

Both places got loads of lobang for doing biz. I buy a lot of industrial equipment and also comps from both places. :D

Wife is a nurse and pay here is quite high already... If she goes over, she will need to be proficient in Japanese and need to take Nursing exam before she can practice... So, chance is pretty slim for her to work there....

BTW, from what I know, a friend moved back Japan some years back, and wife was also a nurse (Singaporean) and she had to retake everything again from scratch. I don't know if that is true, that was what he was complaining to me back then.

One reason being the gov. did a cap on salaries, and it has never been reviewed since. My nephew has a Phd in Comp Science, yet he's only getting paid S$3k a month! He's been trying to get a job at one of our local fabs here to no success, and keeps envying my job and salary. Taipei to say this is cheaper then SG, really, you cannot compare Ser Lin night market prices etc.. the regular makan stalls are so much cheaper then SG many times, still can get a very very decent meal for S$2.00.

If given a choice, I'd go Japan, the place is so much cleaner as compared with the huge amount of rubbish people dump all over the place in Taiwan, spoiling the beautiful natural scenery. Also one thing you surely won't get used to is the typhoon and flooding, and also leaking roof everytime it rains, sad, even international airport also tio.

Both places got loads of lobang for doing biz. I buy a lot of industrial equipment and also comps from both places. :D

Talk about property in taiwan, I really buay tahan the dirty outlook of their buildings.... They don't have town council like us who will cleanup the surroundings. All has to be self managed.... And the property is not cheap too... Nowadays the price is comparable here.... only plus is that it's freehold...

their pays are typical lower if they work for local company....and have to work like horse & cow late every night.... company like foxconn, quanta, tsmc , umc or those in xinzhu technological companies are like that...... .... no no for local company unless u are in higher management position...shoud reach out for the mncs....

just share with you after what i went thru......... there are always thunder storm outside....rain ..or shine...

I learnt no matter what....just stick close with your family...wife and kids together.... many thing we can't turn back the clock...the kids go up fast...we age day by day..........

other things are secondarily.....which can strive and work out together...

but if you going japan..... you may need to recalculate if 20% increment justifiable....cos japan living standard is qutie high also...

Edited by Lv3338

their pays are typical lower if they work for local company....and have to work like horse & cow late every night.... company like foxconn, quanta, tsmc , umc or those in xinzhu technological companies are like that...... .... no no for local company unless u are in higher management position...shoud reach out for the mncs....

just share with you after what i went thru......... there are always thunder storm outside....rain ..or shine...

I learnt no matter what....just stick close with your family...wife and kids together.... many thing we can't turn back the clock...the kids go up fast...we age day by day..........

other things are secondarily.....which can strive and work out together...

but if you going japan..... you may need to recalculate if 20% increment justifiable....cos japan living standard is qutie high also...

Thanks... Indeed, these are wise advise////

Talk about property in taiwan, I really buay tahan the dirty outlook of their buildings.... They don't have town council like us who will cleanup the surroundings. All has to be self managed.... And the property is not cheap too... Nowadays the price is comparable here.... only plus is that it's freehold...

What management? Buildings of homes, the front is tiled and the sides are BARE cement! [:(]

Plus if you noticed, this is really a culture shock to most, go toilet cannot flush the toilet paper down

if not will choke the toilet, so the paper with all it's crap has to be deposited into a metal bin lined with a plastic bag!

WAH LAU! Talk about hygiene!

Property of course is not cheap in Taipei lah bro. *ahem* if you look elsewhere, central (past Taichung)

3 floors, with car park etc.. far lesser then a 4rm HDB flat. Freehold yes, but don't forget, got earthquake hor.

Wife and me bought two houses 20yrs ago, one near her mum's place, other in Kaohsiung. When I go there,

I stay in my SIL's place! Free man, plus wife like to gossip with all her sisters. [laugh]

suppose u and family go over... fast fwd say 10 years from now...

it'll be an adventure in japan you, wife and kids will look back on, probably bittersweet memories....

if you go alone, it is not something you and the family would even want to look back on.. its just like a memory block with lots of missing pieces

You'd be surprise how even 302 deeded as ONLY a medical number, have far more loyalty to people

they deed as friends then those so called pseudo/ pseudonym "friends".

Loyal people are few and far between these days