To those who leave family behind to work overseas....

Tjkbeluga

I came back on company every 8 months, my own leave was used when wife gave birth.

And the boys I left in teh US are all my very good friends from my US courses,

and they would love to have a piece of your soft fat arse! [laugh]

Hur.... you missed your boys for 8yrs when you are in US.... :o

Then after you came back, those boys you left in US will miss you until now .... [:p]

I can also "take part" if the director allows! [laugh]

Btw, tomorrow is Friday liao! Please post more Jap gals pics in your TGIF thread, thanks many many! [thumbsup]

Mai lah, I donch like Jap, all chwee chwee one. [:p]

I came back on company every 8 months, my own leave was used when wife gave birth.

And the boys I left in teh US are all my very good friends from my US courses,

and they would love to have a piece of your soft fat arse! [laugh]

u mean u boys der all porker type ah...302kind :wacko: :wacko:

My biggest worry is what if I lose my job today and I can't another job that is of similar salary....

i'm around your age.. IT also.

tested water a few months back... yes.. quite jialat out there..

one of the recruitment agency even told me lucky i am not 40 yet [knife]

seems like its the culture in sg for not hiring people over 40.. too old, too expensive. experience count zilch even though they are relevant.

at that age, you can only count upon the contacts u built up over the past years for lobang.

if u don't, its going to be very difficult..

how would you guys feel if your wife tell you she need to go overseas and work based on your same terms and let you handle the kids alone here [sly]

This is my 12th years in SZ/HK, I am entitle to have a week full paid home leave for every 1 month of stay there. There are about 12k of Singaporeans staying and work in HK and number of SIngaporeans working in SZ is increasing.

Work and stay overseas will be a trend for our younger generation due to our limited opportunity back home. Nothing complex being working overseas and leave your family staying behind. You just have to make it a point that you spend quality time with them whenever you are back, also keep your wife inform wherever you go.... Some hardwork have to put in if you choose to work overseas for whatever reasons.

I am assuming that TS is now working in Sgp and having an opportunity to work in Japan with a pay increasement of about 20%? TS may wnat to justify the opportunity cost of this 20% diff in current pay.

PRC are occupying space here....and SGP has to go up north.......

but i can say it's good to have overseas experience....you could demand more when you're back...

I used to worked in ROC for about 5 years...during my thirties..before I return ...

i'm around your age.. IT also.

tested water a few months back... yes.. quite jialat out there..

one of the recruitment agency even told me lucky i am not 40 yet [knife]

seems like its the culture in sg for not hiring people over 40.. too old, too expensive. experience count zilch even though they are relevant.

at that age, you can only count upon the contacts u built up over the past years for lobang.

if u don't, its going to be very difficult..

My current job is also from my previous company department boss. Work environment here is really dead and mundane.... Come to work is like looking forward to lunch and then go back home. This has been going on for 2 years and my wife knows I've been unhappy but what to do, salary is good and get to stay with family. Tong lor.... In the meanwhile, all along I have been doing part time for this Japan company which wants me to go over. If I join, I will be heading a separate team. Work, though is fast pace, is very interesting. As I mentioned, I have looked around too.... Sent out a couple resume to the job posting at JobsDB but none came back. In the resume, I've already asked for 20% cut in salary.

You should do your sum and see if it's worth the trouble. I left my family in sg and venture oversea for 10 years alone. I return back to sg at 46 and retired. Japan is a great place to work if you can get along with the bosses. I spend a year in nagaoka and love working there. Japanese look at end results. 5 years in Beijing, not easy but great place to make money. Lots of "opportunities" and "gifts". Chinese look at power and connection. As long as you got your special connections there. Just enjoy your life there. Don't bring your sg mindset to China. Don't go to middle east, I nearly got kill in Yemen.

Yes, I was there in 2007 and prior to that, have been working with this Japan company too. Boss is really nice and close to the staff.... He really empower the member to go beyond own capability. Like, he pushed some Japanese members to take up leadership courses, english exams, golf, singing, musical instrument, etc.... Some hated it as they are constantly being pushed out of their comfort zone. One sales guy snapped after being pushed too much and went for long holiday.... hahaha.... I could say, I really felt like part of the family in the team. One the other hand, the work pace there is really fast and tiring as there is never ending stuff to do....

Well, at 40, it could keep you going for a while more and your boss seems like the 'worklife' kind. Which is why i stay at my present place too....

Can u be sure boss no change? Another thing to consider, but guess not. Japs tend to stay on for life

This is my 12th years in SZ/HK, I am entitle to have a week full paid home leave for every 1 month of stay there. There are about 12k of Singaporeans staying and work in HK and number of SIngaporeans working in SZ is increasing.

Work and stay overseas will be a trend for our younger generation due to our limited opportunity back home. Nothing complex being working overseas and leave your family staying behind. You just have to make it a point that you spend quality time with them whenever you are back, also keep your wife inform wherever you go.... Some hardwork have to put in if you choose to work overseas for whatever reasons.

I am assuming that TS is now working in Sgp and having an opportunity to work in Japan with a pay increasement of about 20%? TS may wnat to justify the opportunity cost of this 20% diff in current pay.

It's not just the 20% increment..... If everything is the same except the 20%, I wouldn't even take a 2nd look at it.... It's a mix of push and pull factor... The push factor is I don't see much prospect here and I'm "nuahing" here as I lost drive in working in this company.

At this point, why dun you do a 360 with your boss and sound your worries. Do you like your place? Boss ok? Ask for challenges, etc and see what he says. I feel that you also want to keep things stable, and change is something we can start to do less as we move on from 40

Well, at 40, it could keep you going for a while more and your boss seems like the 'worklife' kind. Which is why i stay at my present place too....

Can u be sure boss no change? Another thing to consider, but guess not. Japs tend to stay on for life

Those that click in the company culture do stay.... The headcount in Japan is about 10 with about 5 who has been more 10 years.

Boss and I are actually very close... We ahve been working together since 96 when I was with my first company. Sometimes, tend to be bo tua bo suay with him..... Hahaha

Edited by Tjkbeluga

Those that click in the company culture do stay.... The headcount in Japan is about 10 with about 5 who has been more 10 years.

Boss and I are actually very close... We ahve been working together since 96 when I was with my first company.

Well bro, looks like more of a pull than a push to me.......in terms of survivability....but on the family scene, tough call

You may need to widen the scope of time..... I know it's not easy to get a job here..mainly because there're too much competitive ...from within and the FT...

thinking about the risk... of getting older ...when you come back from japan.....unless you are sure that you can stay there forever... or u will able to upgrade your role and career from there.. with better prospect....

if not .... it may be better to take the pain now....to venture to a new opportunity locally .... then taking this step...

just additional point u may wan to consider...

u mean u boys der all porker type ah...302kind :wacko: :wacko:

I know you have a crave for all things gay lah, but my friends over there, gay or not, are still my friends,

what they do in their private life remains private, even known to me, I don't go washing my friends dirty

laundry in public, it's something that is lacking in the present society, a word trust. And anyway, all of them are

ex-military, if it wasn't for their help, i wouldn't have been able to drag myself and my family out of the deep

and slippery well we were in.

You'd be surprise how even 302 deeded as ONLY a medical number, have far more loyalty to people

they deed as friends then those so called pseudo/ pseudonym "friends".

At this point, why dun you do a 360 with your boss and sound your worries. Do you like your place? Boss ok? Ask for challenges, etc and see what he says. I feel that you also want to keep things stable, and change is something we can start to do less as we move on from 40

My SG boss just migrated to US branch... He is on semi retire liao.... Now my direct boss is and ah neh in US. Quite a nice guy actually... Soon, we will move office to Tagore Lane.... It's really a god-forsaken place with jungles all around....

your yes, can tell shorter story anot...like grnadfadder you...trying to teach me to suck eggs ah..... <_< I also have 302 friends.....so dun try teaching me hor..u not much older...

My SG boss just migrated to US branch... He is on semi retire liao.... Now my direct boss is and ah neh in US. Quite a nice guy actually... Soon, we will move office to Tagore Lane.... It's really a god-forsaken place with jungles all around....

hmmm..make fren with the monkeys at upper thomson