Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Author Share August 16, 2012 I had to spend about 250 SGD oneway taxi to Narita Airport (of course company reimbursed every time). Tokyo is damn expensive lah...Be careful with your numbers! No need taxi laa... airport limousine is about 3000 to 3500 yen 1 way. by 2 ways get 20% discount. by the way, it's not tokyo... It's Yokohama... which is quite close actually... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 My advice: stay in sgp and be there and watch/treasure your time wif ur young kids and let them grow up wif their father. There's always another job but once u missed the kids growing years, it's gone forever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Oh yes.... I'm doing well now.... regular checkup at KTP every 6 monthly. No issue. After moving house, my blood sugar elevated. I belong to high risk in diabetes. Now after 2 months of lifestyle change and accupuncture, HBA1C result was fantastic. Accupuncture is fantastic I'd say.... More energetic and able to jog further than I could previously.... Oh yes, health (food) is another issue. I lost several kilos there because of poor diet. Since I was alone most of the time, did not take food properly. Obviously there is a huge difference between Singapore and Japan in terms of food choice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Please lah, what culture shock you talking baout, you think TS is from some dark ages or crawled out from a deep dark cave is it? Culture shock. hello, having able to get AV freely on the street and on tv channel is a shock ok :o [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Author Share August 16, 2012 So your net take home monthly increased by 14~16% thereabout? Yes, current salary + employer CPF + about 20% = nett Japan salary after tax deduction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 My advice: stay in sgp and be there and watch/treasure your time wif ur young kids and let them grow up wif their father. There's always another job but once u missed the kids growing years, it's gone forever. wise words from an old fart [laugh] but agree...the time spent would be priceless cf earning $$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Since your wife has grown tired of you and is hard up for money, why not? Even if you meant it as a joke... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Yes, current salary + employer CPF + about 20% = nett Japan salary after tax deduction. i believe you weigh jab satisfaction and happiness more than money, i guess it is ok unless your wife dun feel a hint of burden for doing everything alone here, that is more important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 i believe you weigh jab satisfaction and happiness more than money, i guess it is ok unless your wife dun feel a hint of burden for doing everything alone here, that is more important. er u think he go Japan for injection ah [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 wise words from an old fart but agree...the time spent would be priceless cf earning $$ it's not as if TS has is unskilled, jobless and broke in sgp and suddenly a super high paying job overseas drop on his lap. 14-16% increment is easily attainable locally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Author Share August 16, 2012 Ok good. If those issues are resolved, well, it is up to you. But Qn I finally ask is; is it really worth it? U say u old liao. Well, weight the options bro and all the best Currently I have 3 options - Stay. Company prospect not so good. If look for another job, almost certain not able to get my current salary due to lack of paper qualification. Believe me, I have tried looking around. Closest I can find is 20% below my current salary. - Move to Japan like what I mention - Move to australia. We are still holding on to the PR but we only have another 2 more years before it expires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 it's not as if TS has is unskilled, jobless and broke in sgp and suddenly a super high paying job overseas drop on his lap. 14-16% increment is easily attainable locally. and Japan ain't cheap too. the 14-16% can be wiped out and left with 4-6% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrathchild156 2nd Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 I had gone through an overseas work attachment previously for 2 months. I understand why people say even seemingly decent men will stray when they work overseas long term due to the amount of spare time they have. and the burden on wife bringing up kids alone in Singapore would be tremendous. think again if you value your family Bro, done it 1997 -2001 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Yes, current salary + employer CPF + about 20% = nett Japan salary after tax deduction. I would decline if i were in your shoes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Currently I have 3 options - Stay. Company prospect not so good. If look for another job, almost certain not able to get my current salary due to lack of paper qualification. Believe me, I have tried looking around. Closest I can find is 20% below my current salary. - Move to Japan like what I mention - Move to australia. We are still holding on to the PR but we only have another 2 more years before it expires. now not time to consider as this yr there is a hire freeze. Well, for the short term, as a sacrifice then it might be the viable option. Aus, are they in recession too? tough choice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 That is true lah bro, but sometimes if you got the opportunity to do so, for more $$ why not? When I left for US, it was because of family, needed to make $$$ for the kids. If not I wouldn't have gone, I missed out 8yrs of my boys growing up years. Honestly, I got the money,but it can't buy back the years I missed out when they were young. My advice: stay in sgp and be there and watch/treasure your time wif ur young kids and let them grow up wif their father. There's always another job but once u missed the kids growing years, it's gone forever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Author Share August 16, 2012 it's not as if TS has is unskilled, jobless and broke in sgp and suddenly a super high paying job overseas drop on his lap. 14-16% increment is easily attainable locally. My biggest worry is what if I lose my job today and I can't another job that is of similar salary.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 My biggest worry is what if I lose my job today and I can't another job that is of similar salary.... ever thot of gg to u own business?? Soya renting his teksi [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...