Enye Hypersonic August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 I had gone through an overseas work attachment previously for 2 months. I understand why people say even seemingly decent men will stray when they work overseas long term due to the amount of spare time they have. and the burden on wife bringing up kids alone in Singapore would be tremendous. think again if you value your family ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 i did asked in the last thread about what marriage thingy, that would a guy sacrifice for the sake of keeping family together by forgoing the opportunity to work overseas. like some say, if the marriage is strong and the wife is independent, why not? but to me i probably won't do it, maybe i am getting old cos no sio sio milo and ccf, go for fark [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 I appreciate the fact that IT is a field in which good advancements are hard to come by. Still, i feel that a 20% increment wouldn't justify uprooting your workplace to Japan. TS, are you currently working in a Japanese MNC that strongly reflects Japanese corporate culture? I feel that the the pay increment being the pull factor, your dislike for your current job serves as the push factor. It could be quite unpleasant to find out that the push factor turns out to be a rude culture shock. Furthermore, being stationed full time in Japan, this will mean that your tax residency status will change right? Does your pay increment justify that? I am not sure but i believe that income taxes are a hell lot higher over there. Bro, i think he's worked in Japan 5yrs ago.. so the culture shock part probably won't be too bad.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Since your wife has grown tired of you and is hard up for money, why not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 fren, you can drop dead anytime....think you rather have your body here....for me too easier topick your body [laugh] dont bruff lah. here the vats cheep cheep, just tumblah inside put vinegar kway kway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 fren, you can drop dead anytime....think you rather have your body here....for me too easier topick your body [laugh] SembWaste Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Hey, sometimes, it's really best not to look a gift horse in the mouth. If he didn't take it up, he might well be kicking himself later on in the years for not doing so. Tax wise, speak with HR to sort things out. I appreciate the fact that IT is a field in which good advancements are hard to come by. Still, i feel that a 20% increment wouldn't justify uprooting your workplace to Japan. TS, are you currently working in a Japanese MNC that strongly reflects Japanese corporate culture? I feel that the the pay increment being the pull factor, your dislike for your current job serves as the push factor. It could be quite unpleasant to find out that the push factor turns out to be a rude culture shock. Furthermore, being stationed full time in Japan, this will mean that your tax residency status will change right? Does your pay increment justify that? I am not sure but i believe that income taxes are a hell lot higher over there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 I had gone through an overseas work attachment previously for 2 months. I understand why people say even seemingly decent men will stray when they work overseas long term due to the amount of spare time they have. and the burden on wife bringing up kids alone in Singapore would be tremendous. think again if you value your family Japan not so bad, china 100% confirm [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Bro, i think he's worked in Japan 5yrs ago.. so the culture shock part probably won't be too bad.. Thanks bro. Must have missed that part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Author Share August 16, 2012 bro...i know you and we spoke abt yoru health. Has that been resolved? Maintained? Suggest you get a full chk before you go, and a stress ECG to confirm any doubts. call me if u need any good clinician Oh yes.... I'm doing well now.... regular checkup at KTP every 6 monthly. No issue. After moving house, my blood sugar elevated. I belong to high risk in diabetes. Now after 2 months of lifestyle change and accupuncture, HBA1C result was fantastic. Accupuncture is fantastic I'd say.... More energetic and able to jog further than I could previously.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Oh yes.... I'm doing well now.... regular checkup at KTP every 6 monthly. No issue. After moving house, my blood sugar elevated. I belong to high risk in diabetes. Now after 2 months of lifestyle change and accupuncture, HBA1C result was fantastic. Accupuncture is fantastic I'd say.... More energetic and able to jog further than I could previously.... Ok good. If those issues are resolved, well, it is up to you. But Qn I finally ask is; is it really worth it? U say u old liao. Well, weight the options bro and all the best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Japan not so bad, china 100% confirm [laugh] a thai business associate once told me foreigners who are stationed in thailand would do very little work for at least 6 months upon arrival Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Japan not so bad, china 100% confirm [laugh] You sure? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aino_Kishi :wub: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 If consider go back every 6 weeks, it will be 6 trip home a year. 3 flights will be provided by company and 3 flights self pay. Given that there is almost no bonus here in SG compare to at least 1 month bonus in Japan, this should pretty much cover it... I had to spend about 250 SGD oneway taxi to Narita Airport (of course company reimbursed every time). Tokyo is damn expensive lah...Be careful with your numbers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Author Share August 16, 2012 I appreciate the fact that IT is a field in which good advancements are hard to come by. Still, i feel that a 20% increment wouldn't justify uprooting your workplace to Japan. TS, are you currently working in a Japanese MNC that strongly reflects Japanese corporate culture? I feel that the the pay increment being the pull factor, your dislike for your current job serves as the push factor. It could be quite unpleasant to find out that the push factor turns out to be a rude culture shock. Furthermore, being stationed full time in Japan, this will mean that your tax residency status will change right? Does your pay increment justify that? I am not sure but i believe that income taxes are a hell lot higher over there. Yes, I did factor in the tax.... As I mentioned, 20% is net increment after tax deductions.... they have 2 kind of tax there.... income tax and municiple tax. In addition, there is pension fund like CPF which is compulsory... But that can be taken back when I leave the country... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Please lah, what culture shock you talking baout, you think TS is from some dark ages or crawled out from a deep dark cave is it? Culture shock. Bro, i think he's worked in Japan 5yrs ago.. so the culture shock part probably won't be too bad.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Since your wife has grown tired of you and is hard up for money, why not? Anyone ordered a lowblow? Nope? *SLAMS DOOR Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Yes, I did factor in the tax.... As I mentioned, 20% is net increment after tax deductions.... they have 2 kind of tax there.... income tax and municiple tax. In addition, there is pension fund like CPF which is compulsory... But that can be taken back when I leave the country... So your net take home monthly increased by 14~16% thereabout? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...