Government purchase expensive chairs, justifiable?

Kaixing

hmm honestly ikea flagship chair look bland...though ikea's middle class image certainly best justify purchase compare to atas ang mo brand.

ya..stat or civil,they have space allocation requirement ,etc for higher level

for this kind of pricing, i assume is higher post or meeting rooms

yep,

i think so too.

2K brompton is for park warden right?

not for director board meeting .....

its the tip of the iceberg i must say

and just becos everyone is doing it,

or how long they have been doing it

= the correct thing to do.

ya..stat or civil,they have space allocation requirement ,etc for higher level

for this kind of pricing, i assume is higher post or meeting rooms

Initially tot was also meant for top tier personels or meeting room...but its total of 470 chairs

hmm honestly ikea flagship chair look bland...though ikea's middle class image certainly best justify purchase compare to atas ang mo brand.

i thought the HM they get is high end HM model??

if so, should always compare apple with apple. high end versu high end.

its like when you want to engage labour supplier.

say for specialise electrical work. you dont compare with odd job labour right??

i think we are missing an important point.

ownership of the subject matter - cost

try telling your direct boss, u wanan buy 20 HM chairs.

your boss will probably say no before you present the benefits in a ppt.

becos cost = $$ from the company = can buy other things, business expansion, dividends, bigger scale DND

just becos govt $$ comes from ah kong,

and if dun spend all, next year cannot budget as much,

i feel la, i may be wrong,

there is actually lesser direct ownership in relations to the $$ spent.

if it was your own $$, u confirm think 3-4 times b4 buying.

so back to the qns,

justifiable a not ?

HM or brompton,

i say no,

becos your job is to do your job well in a reasonable condition

not to do your job well in the most comfortable condition

Spot on, years ago when i was still an NSF in a Unit HQ, Head LOG would come around and ask us what we needed 2 months b4 FY ended. He said if u dun exhaust the budget, next years' would be cut then dun blame him if not enuff $ to buy things then. So ended up we got all kinds of wonderfull equiptment like posterprinters, laptops, huge ass laminators etc which we don't even use stashed away in the store. For a HQ of less than 20 headcount, there was certainly alot of unused equipment bought.

By far, I'm all for the public questioning govt expenditure as the $ comes from the people.

Err...Are you equating the civil servants to maids and domestic helpers?

btw,

its just my own opinion.

may differ from many others out there.

just one last qns.

if every is saying you deserve a better working condition la....

back ache la...

did you buy a $4000 Beauty Rest for your maid at home ?

or any $100 "lum-lork" will do?

your own $$ then protective,

ah gong's money then spend, its fine....

tio bo ?

Err...Are you equating the civil servants to maids and domestic helpers?

i am treat my maid as part of my family.

which equate to employees as part of the company.

if thats what you were trying to ask.

So should the gahmen organisation also do the same? Treat their employees as their family? [:p]

i am treat my maid as part of my family.

which equate to employees as part of the company.

if thats what you were trying to ask.

I dun think the cost of the chair really matter alot lah ...cos MOM could easily recover the spending by visting more construction site and gaving out $$$ fine.