Kaixing Neutral Newbie August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Time to re-look at the purchase of expensive chairs. http://liangkaixin.wordpress.com/2012/08/1...o-about-chairs/ Much ado about chairs Posted on August 15, 2012 by kyeixhin Hi guys, you know there was this hooha on Ministry of Manpower and their ergonomic chairs right? Link to story: http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/S...325-270092.html In short, they ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 I am an office worker and I spend almost 10 hours in my office chair a day. I paid $2000 plus for my king sized bed and I sleep in it for between 6-7 hours a day. I also have an "office-style" chair at home at my study desk which I hardly sit on once a week and paid $120 for at a nearby HDB furniture shop. Now you might think that my bed and chair at home is bought with my money and so no one's problem but mine, but the 10 hours I sit in the office, I am helping my company with its operations and indirectly contributing to its revenue. So in your opinion, should office staff on taxpayers' funds sit in plastic foldable chairs then? And if you have no idea about office chairs what the heck are you doing questioning the price of them? What would you say is the right price then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 I am an office worker and I spend almost 10 hours in my office chair a day. I paid $2000 plus for my king sized bed and I sleep in it for between 6-7 hours a day. I also have an "office-style" chair at home at my study desk which I hardly sit on once a week and paid $120 for at a nearby HDB furniture shop. Now you might think that my bed and chair at home is bought with my money and so no one's problem but mine, but the 10 hours I sit in the office, I am helping my company with its operations and indirectly contributing to its revenue. So in your opinion, should office staff on taxpayers' funds sit in plastic foldable chairs then? And if you have no idea about office chairs what the heck are you doing questioning the price of them? What would you say is the right price then? From his website, someone posted this. i think maybe himself. kyeixhin on August 15, 2012 at 8:54 am said: Just to add on, according to newspaper reports, Xtra Designs, located at Park Mall, is the sole authorised dealer for Herman Miller chairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Anyway i was thinking of buying one myself but too expensive. end up i buy a 2nd hand Freedoom chair with head rest for 350. Not bad still got warranty on all parts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 Getting ergonomic chair that is for the well-being of office worker is reasonable. I have a Herman Miller chair (for over a decade and still good) at my home office and if it adjusted correctly, it make a lot of diff sitting for long hours as compared to the cheaper korean version (which I also have for years). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 IT should be more transparent with other stat boards, are others doing the same??...By doing so, it open the flood gate for other ministries to jump on the likes of brompton bike and this HM chairs as stepping stone to acquire other branded stuffs in future... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 I think is fine to reward these civic servants who spend quite a time on their desk. It's not like they buying for their own family use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 (edited) IT should be more transparent with other stat boards, are others doing the same??...By doing so, it open the flood gate for other ministries to jump on the likes of brompton bike and this HM chairs as stepping stone to acquire other branded stuffs in future... if our stat boards are having only 1 purchasing department, then yes what you say valid. but in true. not easy. Even in big company, office accessory like chairs in different business unit are buying them individually. what more for a stats board. Edited August 16, 2012 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 I would get quite ticked off if a shareholder holding a few lots of shares in my publicly listed company came into my office and started questioning whether I should be given a $50, $500 or $5000 chair/computer/desk/space. Just because he is a shareholder doesn't mean he gets a say in what equipment I am given to do my job to earn revenue for the company he has a stake in. He might as well give me a cave, a nail and a slab of rock to write my report with so business costs are less and he can get more dividends. Stupid, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 In fact, they are showing other companies , particularly SMES, a good example in providing good office equipment for staff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 (edited) Things are getting out of hands..... Next will they ask why TP buy S60 Volvo for Highway Patrol, Greely cars can leow.... . afterall, TP can rely on their Radar Guns.... Normal police cars can use Cherry QQ... Edited August 16, 2012 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 In fact, they are showing other companies , particularly SMES, a good example in providing good office equipment for staff. totally second that! gona forward that link and email to my superior! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 these chairs can last 10 years.. lousy chairs 1 week,i threw some away liao if base on depreciation on assets, it's consider a good buy already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 As long as they dun install a golden tap next to their desk I'm fine with the chairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 if our stat boards are having only 1 purchasing department, then yes what you say valid. but in true. not easy. Even in big company, office accessory like chairs in different business unit are buying them individually. what more for a stats board. maybe official vehicles should be something like this .... http://xqno.com/binb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 they got good deal on herman millers... those buy outside cost more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 maybe official vehicles should be something like this .... http://xqno.com/binb wah best.. the ppl start KPKB saying how come treat singaporean so bad. really ppl working in stats board got majority singaporean. at least they are the one enjoying it wor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear August 16, 2012 Share August 16, 2012 (edited) i think we are missing an important point. ownership of the subject matter - cost try telling your direct boss, u wanan buy 20 HM chairs. your boss will probably say no before you present the benefits in a ppt. becos cost = $$ from the company = can buy other things, business expansion, dividends, bigger scale DND just becos govt $$ comes from ah kong, and if dun spend all, next year cannot budget as much, i feel la, i may be wrong, there is actually lesser direct ownership in relations to the $$ spent. if it was your own $$, u confirm think 3-4 times b4 buying. so back to the qns, justifiable a not ? HM or brompton, i say no, becos your job is to do your job well in a reasonable condition not to do your job well in the most comfortable condition Edited August 16, 2012 by Sk65 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...