Typhoonz 4th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Can the above be used together? I have 1GL of the former and need about a QT more for my Mazda 5... Have loose QT of 5W30 so intend to use it to top up as the 1GL is definitely not enuff... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Since we do not have much "temperature variations", practically it should be okay to mix both. Theoretically it is not advisable to blend oils. If you are a practical person, just go ahead - after all it is your car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) I always mix them, have mixed a few different combination car still moving perfectly. Below are some info from Mobil 1 website http://www.mobil1.sg/academy/faq.aspx#q5 Edited August 15, 2012 by Deckbuild Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Can the above be used together? I have 1GL of the former and need about a QT more for my Mazda 5... Have loose QT of 5W30 so intend to use it to top up as the 1GL is definitely not enuff... no problem, just use. If not, i throw away for you.....in my engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 15, 2012 Author Share August 15, 2012 Since we do not have much "temperature variations", practically it should be okay to mix both. Theoretically it is not advisable to blend oils. If you are a practical person, just go ahead - after all it is your car I always thought that one cannot mix different viscosity nia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 15, 2012 Author Share August 15, 2012 no problem, just use. If not, i throw away for you.....in my engine Your Ody is your test bed for experiments ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 15, 2012 Author Share August 15, 2012 I always mix them, have mixed a few different combination car still moving perfectly. Below are some info from Mobil 1 website http://www.mobil1.sg/academy/faq.aspx#q5 What have you mixed before? Different brand and weight or just different brands? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Cannot. Your car will blow up :D [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 15, 2012 Author Share August 15, 2012 Cannot. Your car will blow up :D [laugh] Wah then but new car lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 I always thought that one cannot mix different viscosity nia... That is right. I would not be happy to mix oils of different viscosity or brand. But, engines are quite rugged, nothing should happen noticeably though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 15, 2012 Author Share August 15, 2012 That is right. I would not be happy to mix oils of different viscosity or brand. But, engines are quite rugged, nothing should happen noticeably though Perhaps just FC going up? Engine feeling sluggish? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Can the above be used together? I have 1GL of the former and need about a QT more for my Mazda 5... Have loose QT of 5W30 so intend to use it to top up as the 1GL is definitely not enuff... can lah................i mixed before.........boh daiji leh..........and 0w30 and 5w30 so close .......and your mix is like 4:1.........safe safe........... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 15, 2012 Author Share August 15, 2012 can lah................i mixed before.........boh daiji leh..........and 0w30 and 5w30 so close .......and your mix is like 4:1.........safe safe........... [laugh] The main bulk will be 0W30 and top up is 5W30... Went to Amsoil last week as they have their offer for 1GL SSO 0W30 going for $56... No offer for 5W30 as I think most would take this grade... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 I always mix W30 and W40 oil but same brand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 generally if they are the same brand and formula (ie Mobil 1 and Mobil 1) it's ok to mix. many people on BITOG forum mix oils to get a specific grade. but that's for colder weather, in Sg's climate, nothing to worry. only thing is when you use different brands/formulas, then the additives MAY interfere/react with each other. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 15, 2012 Author Share August 15, 2012 I always mix W30 and W40 oil but same brand. How's the FC and performance? Normal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear August 15, 2012 Author Share August 15, 2012 generally if they are the same brand and formula (ie Mobil 1 and Mobil 1) it's ok to mix. many people on BITOG forum mix oils to get a specific grade. but that's for colder weather, in Sg's climate, nothing to worry. only thing is when you use different brands/formulas, then the additives MAY interfere/react with each other. Yes that's what I read from the web... Those formulation in different brands may react against each other when mixed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 The main bulk will be 0W30 and top up is 5W30... Went to Amsoil last week as they have their offer for 1GL SSO 0W30 going for $56... No offer for 5W30 as I think most would take this grade... cheap leh.........and since all W30 and same brand.............mix lah.......... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...