Irritating teens running over cars

Chucky2007

I have also seen examples whereby the parents discipline their kids (my childhood friends) in forms of physical punishment, yelling and authoritative control. all of them probably did all that u had mentioned..dropped out from school, joined gangs and some of them ended up in boys home.. the last time i saw them again.. still in the same state.

My father also believe in physical punishment.. I also probably did most of the things u mentioned.. join gangs, smoke, steal money, fight f--k around, etc. Lucky for me I came to my senses, although I won't say I'm doing extremely well, but at least Im earning a decent living for myself and my family.

Think there's alot of factors involved la.

So far my kid grew up fine. Maybe academic wise not that extraordinary but character wise I'm proud to say that she's kind and obedient. [:)]

Yeap. Agree to disagree. [:)]

What I believe is never lecture kids in the public, or never do all those lecturing to who even in public. Kids have pride too, it will hurt them damn bad and have bad repercussion.

I will be a parent one day, and seeing all these really worries me.

Really must teach the kids from young to have correct and proper moral.

Hopefully they will learn how to choose their friends with those correct and proper moral in their mind.

All comes from the parents.

What I believe is never lecture kids in the public, or never do all those lecturing to who even in public. Kids have pride too, it will hurt them damn bad and have bad repercussion.

fully agree!

There has always to be a balance, one cannot just go hard and not soft, kids have brains to think and

know what is right and wrong, ONLY when parents install such knowledge into them. If one hits them all the time

for no reason, that ius pure abuse, punishment is to be metered out when needed and after, a explanation of WHY

it was done and what wrong their action was for. I wasn't saying you were spoiling your child, you do what you deed is fit

for your situation. We all have to go thru a learning phase, and best is not have history repeat itself.

And by the way, no need to be defensive, I made no mention of you whatsoever when I wrote that reply.

I have also seen examples whereby the parents discipline their kids (my childhood friends) in forms of physical punishment, yelling and authoritative control. all of them probably did all that u had mentioned..dropped out from school, joined gangs and some of them ended up in boys home.. the last time i saw them again.. still in the same state.

My father also believe in physical punishment.. I also probably did most of the things u mentioned.. join gangs, smoke, steal money, fight f--k around, etc. Lucky for me I came to my senses, although I won't say I'm doing extremely well, but at least Im earning a decent living for myself and my family.

Think there's alot of factors involved la.

Having a 2 way relationship with a child is one thing..spoiling a child is another thing. By doing away with physical and abusive verbal discipline doesn't means Im spoiling my kid. What matters the most to me is her emotional well being.

So far my kid grew up fine. Maybe academic wise not that extraordinary but character wise I'm proud to say that she's kind and obedient. [:)]

Yeap. Agree to disagree. [:)]

True and not.

If the issue is not addressed, parents will forget upon getting home, and thus the child will

see a loop hole, that throwing tantrums outside will not get any repercussions.

Anyway, it's all prospective, one does what one feels is right, so long as society doesn't have to

do the parents job.

There has always to be a balance, one cannot just go hard and not soft, kids have brains to think and

know what is right and wrong, ONLY when parents install such knowledge into them. If one hits them all the time

for no reason, that ius pure abuse, punishment is to be metered out when needed and after, a explanation of WHY

it was done and what wrong their action was for. I wasn't saying you were spoiling your child, you do what you deed is fit

for your situation. We all have to go thru a learning phase, and best is not have history repeat itself.

And by the way, no need to be defensive, I made no mention of you whatsoever when I wrote that reply.

Well as long as it works for you. :)

and....seriously, I wasn't trying to be defensive wor. Why should i be? :wacko: either you think too much or i think too little. LOL

Edited by Baphomet

Nope, works or not, it's up to the individual/parents to make it work.

And sorry, I don't even bother to think, MCF is just for discussion and

see it as is written.

Well as long as it works for you. :)

and....seriously, I wasn't trying to be defensive wor. Why should i be? :wacko: either you think too much or i think too little. LOL

True and not.

If the issue is not addressed, parents will forget upon getting home, and thus the child will

see a loop hole, that throwing tantrums outside will not get any repercussions.

Anyway, it's all prospective, one does what one feels is right, so long as society doesn't have to

do the parents job.

I mean when the child are much older, not at the stage where they will throw tantrums outside, this type sure will scold and slap, they still too young to know what is pride [laugh]

That is what I meant. Older will have to deal in a totally separate way.

Nope, works or not, it's up to the individual/parents to make it work.

And sorry, I don't even bother to think, MCF is just for discussion and

see it as is written.

well ok.. When I said that "I was earning a decent living"I was just trying to say that although me and my friends grew up in same environment and whom parents uses same method of discipline, we did not end up the same way. there's alot of factors involved.

anyway thanks for replying me. [:)]

I encountered before also.. the crazy kids... yelling like nobody business.. suddenly walk into the mscp and each person chose a car to jump over.. I saw liao also jaw drop... lucky mine wasn't the one they jumped over, otherwise....

wanted to call the police but by the time the police arrives, I think they would be gone already.

I will say one thing, how one grows up firstly starts with the parents, and thereafter as an adult,

if the person chooses to mature properly aka wake up his/her ideas, will things start to be proper.

If not, they will still be at the bottom of the pit, blaming everyone else, except themselves.

Of course you are making a decent living, not you wouldn't be able to surf the net.

No thanks needed for replying, respect begets respect.

well ok.. When I said that "I was earning a decent living"I was just trying to say that although me and my friends grew up in same environment and whom parents uses same method of discipline, we did not end up the same way. there's alot of factors involved.

anyway thanks for replying me. [:)]

Seriously Singapore laws and rules are badly flawed!! Call police and they can't chup! I complaint my above neighbour to Town council, swim on table until super wee hours during week days, tiles keep dropping onto the floor and drag their damn chairs like no body business to pick those damn tiles. They say they already went up to warn them, if still continue, please call police! Damn them man, call here call there, can't they have a better rules!?!

I ever read from papers, a lady from UK was ban from sex at night because she moan damn loudly, how can all these moaning be louder than those shouting and tiles dropping?

ok. here is one more example about drawing lines. do you know if your ceiling got problem eg, water drip etc, it is HDB problem(because it it caused by your upper floor neighbour's HDB flat). but if you stay highest floor of your flat, it is town council problem! hahaha.. cuz apparently rooftop managed by town council and your leaking is most probably caused by rooftop.

Not just litters.. In the middle of the night.. they will walk up to landings on 2nd and 3rd floor to pee..

Yes dam true. If cant control ur bladder why hang out under void deck so long?

Dam disgusting lor.

The new generation are too young and dangerous... They do things without even thinking of the consequences... Sad to say, their current situation is cause by our generation... Why? Just ask urself... If the teacher in ur child school punish ur child... What u will u do? Complain? Sue the teacher? Change ur child to another school? Did we over pamper them? Back then in our parent generation, we were beaten like hell if schools teacher complain to our parent... But now, if school teacher complain... They are going to get a scolding from the parent... And is not their child fault...

Actually I'm the sandwiched between ur generation and the current generation.

I'm not spared from the rod, be it in school or at home. But hell, it really shapes one's character.

Quite surprised how things changed so drastically when I was pursuing my secondary/tertiary education.

Nowadays parents so bloody protective that kids tend to have the impression that they are right.

Teachers got to be extra careful when dealing with such kids else will lead to molest, abuse etc.

These kids got the latest phones, computers, games, branded bicycles etc. Good life.

Parents who supported physical punishment always like to say " I whack you , I scold you is because I love U!" Is it really the case? Im sure they love their kids. But when they whack/scold their kid, its not because of love but because they could not control their emotion/anger at that moment.

If by scolding/whacking is love, should they do the same to you when they grow up and you grow old? Well that's what u have been telling them all the while..

Instead of doing all these actions which might emotionally scar our child, we should shower our kids with praises and love. Make them confident kids!

No offense, just my opinion.

Just talk to a school teacher who has been in service for at least 10 years to see the change in the way schools handle youth. Let the facts speak for themselves.

人不为己,天诛地灭 (If each man doesn't by nature safeguards and fights for his or her self interest, the world as we know would already have ended a very long time ago)

The truth is, we were all hardwired from birth instinctively to favour courses of action that leads to self-preservation, including but not limited to self-gratification. There is this unspoken need to condition our young from young (pun intended) to understand that actions bear consequences that impact individuals around them. And such conditioning apparently goes against the grain of intuition. Therefore, there is no choice but to instill such values by means of rote learning. It is the inculcation of a learned response as opposed to an omni-present reflex.

You may argue that your children or children in general are able to exhibit dramatically, a great grasp of understanding from a relatively tender age. The question is, are you able to give a qualified response that the child has really understood the ramifications of the lesson which you are trying to convey? Is it not possible that at certain instances (perhaps not always) that the child may eventually learn that by feigning a favourable response (showing inclinations of understanding), he or she can get away with it?

Inflicting pain and/or bodily harm seems like an awfully primitive means of drilling in pointers especially in the face of critics waving the "an eye for an eye and the whole world goes blind" banner. Still, the whole point of this exercise is not in endeavouring to deliver a pianful message. Rather as i have mentioned, the young may be incapable of recognising that their flawed ways are wrong. It is associating his or her action with corporal punishment will we be able to drive in the message from the onset that such acts are non-condonable. The explanations and meaningful teaching can come in later. Children are like molten wax. Once they have set, you don't want to know what sort of ideas and flawed mindsets would have set within.

My 2 cents.

I will say one thing, how one grows up firstly starts with the parents, and thereafter as an adult,

if the person chooses to mature properly aka wake up his/her ideas, will things start to be proper.

If not, they will still be at the bottom of the pit, blaming everyone else, except themselves.

Of course you are making a decent living, not you wouldn't be able to surf the net.

No thanks needed for replying, respect begets respect.

true true..

Pardon my English. my decent means legal. those friends of mine, what they doing not so much.

Yes, definitely alot, even when bin is just beside. Actually with bins beside is worst, they will topple the bins and spill everything out, worst than beast :angry:

I wonder if the TC actually bothers to do something.

Well, I got this neighbour who happens to be the vice chairman of the RC.

Each time his daughter and son-in-law visits them (a few times a week), there will be ciggie butts thrown all over the corridor.

These butts will be left there for the bangala to clear. [sweatdrop]