Porche 5th Gear August 14, 2012 Share August 14, 2012 The new generation are too young and dangerous... They do things without even thinking of the consequences... Sad to say, their current situation is cause by our generation... Why? Just ask urself... If the teacher in ur child school punish ur child... What u will u do? Complain? Sue the teacher? Change ur child to another school? Did we over pamper them? Back then in our parent generation, we were beaten like hell if schools teacher complain to our parent... But now, if school teacher complain... They are going to get a scolding from the parent... And is not their child fault... then i'm the odd parent, i tell my kid's teacher, want to beat her carry on. so long she is naughty or does not behave or do her homework, no need to tell me just go ahead. I tell her, don't worry no need to put coins like arcade... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear August 14, 2012 Share August 14, 2012 Those kids better be careful not to let the owner see... otherwise will bring them all to centerpoint I sue you until your backside.. HAHAHAHAHAHA.. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Have you noticed after those illegal gatherings, there are rubbish littered everywhere? I'm considering writing to the Town Council because these people think they are king. After creating so much noise, they anyhow dump their rubbish when the litter bin is just behind them. Bubble tea, leftover food etc all thrown on the floor. Pity the bangala cleaner. Yes, definitely alot, even when bin is just beside. Actually with bins beside is worst, they will topple the bins and spill everything out, worst than beast :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 The new generation are too young and dangerous... They do things without even thinking of the consequences... Sad to say, their current situation is cause by our generation... Why? Just ask urself... If the teacher in ur child school punish ur child... What u will u do? Complain? Sue the teacher? Change ur child to another school? Did we over pamper them? Back then in our parent generation, we were beaten like hell if schools teacher complain to our parent... But now, if school teacher complain... They are going to get a scolding from the parent... And is not their child fault... Correct, parents really spoil kids these days. My dad used work as OM in secondary school, have to handle all those unreasonable parents which of course he have his own way. An ah beng from that school even start a fight with my dad, lucky my dad got some kung fu and pin him down hard, sent him to the police. Last time when kena whack in sch, when go back home 2nd round of whacking from parents. Now all the complaints from parents instead... :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Just today when I went to popular to buy toner and a4 paper, got one group of 7 ite kids sitting in the middle of the aisle at the corner of the store. I Asked them to sit at different place then one of them said this exact sentence to me: Eh c*ibai we want to sit where we want, we sit lah! KNN! I straight away ask the store attendant to deal with them. Live in SG now so stressful, then they want to make more stress. Want to act like their grandfather sister aunty shop somemore. Indeed.. these pp when in a group they will wanna show off to their peers that they sky no scared ground no scared.. Usually when alone they just become quiet dog.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Have you noticed after those illegal gatherings, there are rubbish littered everywhere? I'm considering writing to the Town Council because these people think they are king. After creating so much noise, they anyhow dump their rubbish when the litter bin is just behind them. Bubble tea, leftover food etc all thrown on the floor. Pity the bangala cleaner. Not just litters.. In the middle of the night.. they will walk up to landings on 2nd and 3rd floor to pee.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Green_carnation Clutched August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 The new generation are too young and dangerous... They do things without even thinking of the consequences... Sad to say, their current situation is cause by our generation... Why? Just ask urself... If the teacher in ur child school punish ur child... What u will u do? Complain? Sue the teacher? Change ur child to another school? Did we over pamper them? Back then in our parent generation, we were beaten like hell if schools teacher complain to our parent... But now, if school teacher complain... They are going to get a scolding from the parent... And is not their child fault... Exactly.. they no longer know what's right what's wrong. In school now students act gangster challenge teachers.. when punished parents complain that schools and teachers did not handle the correct way. It could end up school having to apologise instead.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 ok my turn to share. there is this group of harmless kids always play football at the "open amphitheatre" found in most new sengkang/ punggol estates. the orientation is that it is in the middle of 5/6 blocks of flats. so when they play, the noise is very loud cuz it is kind of enclosed. amphitheatre put big big signs no football. call police, police say they cant chup. must call town council because the amphitheatre is specifically managed by town council!! isn't all open spaces managed by town council???? crazy tio bo... but police replied ture, but we got internal arrangements with town council liao... they gave me town council number. guess who come down? a ah beng with goldeen hair driving a maintainance van. I guess he is town council contractor cleaning company supervisor. should be town council ask him help chase the boys away. he came down and shouted very loud "HELLO NO PLAYING FOOTBALL'... the boys pretend not to hear and he shouted "HEY f--k YOU I SAY NO FOOTBALL. I COME BEAT YOU!!!" i came down from my in-law's flat and try to talk talk a bit.. i ask the boys why dun cross the road play at soccer court.. they say the upper secondary school kids bully and beat them chase them away... haiz... but my baby need to sleep how? not i ngeow.. but 9th floor they can make my baby wake up crying you can imagine how loud... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) Parents who supported physical punishment always like to say " I whack you , I scold you is because I love U!" Is it really the case? Im sure they love their kids. But when they whack/scold their kid, its not because of love but because they could not control their emotion/anger at that moment. If by scolding/whacking is love, should they do the same to you when they grow up and you grow old? Well that's what u have been telling them all the while.. Instead of doing all these actions which might emotionally scar our child, we should shower our kids with praises and love. Make them confident kids! No offense, just my opinion. Edited August 15, 2012 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) When kids are growing up they are still developing their brains, trying to understand social norms, differentiate right from wrong... parents should reinforce good behavior AND ALSO condemn bad behavior. If we keep praising them and not punishing them for bad behaviour you are sending them a message that some (bad) things can be done and they can get away scott-free. Unfortunately such is not the case. Today they can run over cars. Tomorrow they grow up and hurt/murder somebody they will be hanged/caned/jailed. I didn't say whack the child up-side-down, but whacking and yelling is part of the regime. How do you toilet train your pets? Keep giving them treats? Of course you whack them too. Edited August 15, 2012 by Detach8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Parents who supported physical punishment always like to say " I whack you , I scold you is because I love U!" Is it really the case? Im sure they love their kids. But when they whack/scold their kid, its not because of love but because they could not control their emotion/anger at that moment. If by scolding/whacking is love, should they do the same to you when they grow up and you grow old? Well that's what u have been telling them all the while.. Instead of doing all these actions which might emotionally scar our child, we should shower our kids with praises and love. Make them confident kids! No offense, just my opinion. I don't think we mean physically whack, even if whack also not those crazily whack, but the main thing is parents must do the right thing at the right time. When kids are always late for school, teacher ask the parents to come over to explain, do you still side the kid or apologies and tell the teacher will monitor the kid? Alot of parents will actually side their kid and thats why all the wrong moral gets foster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 ok my turn to share. there is this group of harmless kids always play football at the "open amphitheatre" found in most new sengkang/ punggol estates. the orientation is that it is in the middle of 5/6 blocks of flats. so when they play, the noise is very loud cuz it is kind of enclosed. amphitheatre put big big signs no football. call police, police say they cant chup. must call town council because the amphitheatre is specifically managed by town council!! isn't all open spaces managed by town council???? crazy tio bo... but police replied ture, but we got internal arrangements with town council liao... they gave me town council number. guess who come down? a ah beng with goldeen hair driving a maintainance van. I guess he is town council contractor cleaning company supervisor. should be town council ask him help chase the boys away. he came down and shouted very loud "HELLO NO PLAYING FOOTBALL'... the boys pretend not to hear and he shouted "HEY f--k YOU I SAY NO FOOTBALL. I COME BEAT YOU!!!" i came down from my in-law's flat and try to talk talk a bit.. i ask the boys why dun cross the road play at soccer court.. they say the upper secondary school kids bully and beat them chase them away... haiz... but my baby need to sleep how? not i ngeow.. but 9th floor they can make my baby wake up crying you can imagine how loud... Seriously Singapore laws and rules are badly flawed!! Call police and they can't chup! I complaint my above neighbour to Town council, swim on table until super wee hours during week days, tiles keep dropping onto the floor and drag their damn chairs like no body business to pick those damn tiles. They say they already went up to warn them, if still continue, please call police! Damn them man, call here call there, can't they have a better rules!?! I ever read from papers, a lady from UK was ban from sex at night because she moan damn loudly, how can all these moaning be louder than those shouting and tiles dropping? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) When kids are growing up they are still developing their brains, trying to understand social norms, differentiate right from wrong... parents should reinforce good behavior AND ALSO condemn bad behavior. If we keep praising them and not punishing them for bad behaviour you are sending them a message that some (bad) things can be done and they can get away scott-free. Unfortunately such is not the case. Today they can run over cars. Tomorrow they grow up and hurt/murder somebody they will be hanged/caned/jailed. I didn't say whack the child up-side-down, but whacking and yelling is part of the regime. How do you toilet train your pets? Keep giving them treats? Of course you whack them too. Im not saying we should not discipline our child. But not necessary resort to yelling and whacking. I want them to understand why its wrong to do certain things and not due to fear of being whacked. Teaching our kids whats right/wrong and whacking/yelling are 2 different things. "I cant do this because my Dad is going to beat me to death" or "I can't do this because its not right to do so" which one is better? I prefer the latter. I feel communication is the key to good parenting. I want my child to talk to me when she have any problems rather then due to fear of being reprimanded or beaten thus choosing to remain silent. As for the pet thing.. I prefer not to compare a child with an animal. Edited August 15, 2012 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 I don't think we mean physically whack, even if whack also not those crazily whack, but the main thing is parents must do the right thing at the right time. When kids are always late for school, teacher ask the parents to come over to explain, do you still side the kid or apologies and tell the teacher will monitor the kid? Alot of parents will actually side their kid and thats why all the wrong moral gets foster. Good to hear that! I've seen parents whacking their kids like they are being possessed!! As for the parent - school thing, I will not immediately side with any side. I will try to find out what really happened. The problem with alot of parents is that they will side with the school with out even trying to find out what actually happened. If its found that its really my child's mistake, I will not side with her. School/Authority doesn't means that they are always right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 You know what, I know of 4 parents who did exactly that and the kids turned out the other side of midnight, one used to tell me my way of disciplining my boys was so wrong, and love and talking to them was the proper and only way to do so. I lie not on this, she did that to her daughter, and we personally saw what happened, the daughter shouted at the mother (her) and even scolded her CCB, etc... the other three, two joined gangs, one fall out of school, started smoking at pri.6, stole the parents money, sold off stuff from the parents, and.....the boy and girl who joined gangs, brought "play mates" and had sex in the house, got caught by the parents when one fall sick and came home on MC. How one chooses to teach one's child is one's own choice, so is the repercussion. Choice to believe or not. Agree to disagree. Parents who supported physical punishment always like to say " I whack you , I scold you is because I love U!" Is it really the case? Im sure they love their kids. But when they whack/scold their kid, its not because of love but because they could not control their emotion/anger at that moment. If by scolding/whacking is love, should they do the same to you when they grow up and you grow old? Well that's what u have been telling them all the while.. Instead of doing all these actions which might emotionally scar our child, we should shower our kids with praises and love. Make them confident kids! No offense, just my opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 Agree on that, teachers etc could well be getting even with the child, using parents to do the deed. Good to hear that! I've seen parents whacking their kids like they are being possessed!! As for the parent - school thing, I will not immediately side with any side. I will try to find out what really happened. The problem with alot of parents is that they will side with the school with out even trying to find out what actually happened. If its found that its really my child's mistake, I will not side with her. School/Authority doesn't means that they are always right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 You know what, I know of 4 parents who did exactly that and the kids turned out the other side of midnight, one used to tell me my way of disciplining my boys was so wrong, and love and talking to them was the proper and only way to do so. I lie not on this, she did that to her daughter, and we personally saw what happened, the daughter shouted at the mother (her) and even scolded her CCB, etc... the other three, two joined gangs, one fall out of school, started smoking at pri.6, stole the parents money, sold off stuff from the parents, and.....the boy and girl who joined gangs, brought "play mates" and had sex in the house, got caught by the parents when one fall sick and came home on MC. How one chooses to teach one's child is one's own choice, so is the repercussion. Choice to believe or not. Agree to disagree. I will be a parent one day, and seeing all these really worries me. Really must teach the kids from young to have correct and proper moral. Hopefully they will learn how to choose their friends with those correct and proper moral in their mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear August 15, 2012 Share August 15, 2012 (edited) You know what, I know of 4 parents who did exactly that and the kids turned out the other side of midnight, one used to tell me my way of disciplining my boys was so wrong, and love and talking to them was the proper and only way to do so. I lie not on this, she did that to her daughter, and we personally saw what happened, the daughter shouted at the mother (her) and even scolded her CCB, etc... the other three, two joined gangs, one fall out of school, started smoking at pri.6, stole the parents money, sold off stuff from the parents, and.....the boy and girl who joined gangs, brought "play mates" and had sex in the house, got caught by the parents when one fall sick and came home on MC. How one chooses to teach one's child is one's own choice, so is the repercussion. Choice to believe or not. Agree to disagree. I have also seen examples whereby the parents discipline their kids (my childhood friends) in forms of physical punishment, yelling and authoritative control. all of them probably did all that u had mentioned..dropped out from school, joined gangs and some of them ended up in boys home.. the last time i saw them again.. still in the same state. My father also believe in physical punishment.. I also probably did most of the things u mentioned.. join gangs, smoke, steal money, fight f--k around, etc. Lucky for me I came to my senses, although I won't say I'm doing extremely well, but at least Im earning a decent living for myself and my family. Think there's alot of factors involved la. Having a 2 way relationship with a child is one thing..spoiling a child is another thing. By doing away with physical and abusive verbal discipline doesn't means Im spoiling my kid. So far my kid grew up fine. Maybe academic wise not that extraordinary but character wise I'm proud to say that she's kind and obedient. Yeap. Agree to disagree. Edited August 15, 2012 by Baphomet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...