Help choose big face Hp

Hamburger

On 8/12/2012 at 3:52 PM, Jchuacl said:

Search for Google pinyin ime for Chinese input.

You can use hanping to look up Chinese words.

Ok..thanks. Noted. No wonder nexus px dropped so drastically even though spec wise much higher than s2. No support of chinese language by default.

Edited by Kopites

The advantage of nexus has always been getting the latest os update rather than user friendliness as it is meant to be a developer's phone rather than consumer phone.

If you are a hands on person, there are plenty of customisation options.

On 8/12/2012 at 4:05 PM, Kopites said:

Ok..thanks. Noted. No wonder nexus px dropped so drastically even though spec wise much higher than s2. No support of chinese language by default.

On 8/9/2012 at 8:03 PM, Elfenstar said:

He's on a custom rom. Stock 4.X has 3 buttons, with the menu joining when necessary.

I am still on Gingerbread. No thanks to Samsung's shitty ICS kernels really. Apparently if you do either a factory reset or do a restore under Clockworkmod, your phone will be hard bricked. Not even a USB JTAG can save your S2. [shakehead]

Some users already reported been bricked while trying out the new 4.0.4 builds (for S2). Thats enough for me to wait out. I am aware that AOSP kernels are spared from this deadly eMMC bug but currently i still don't find CM9 kernels to be stable enough for everyday use.

Edited by Happily1986

On 8/12/2012 at 4:22 PM, Happily1986 said:

I am still on Gingerbread. No thanks to Samsung's shitty ICS kernels really. Apparently if you do either a factory reset or do a restore under Clockworkmod, your phone will be hard bricked. Not even a USB JTAG can save your S2. [shakehead]

Some users already reported been bricked while trying out the new 4.0.4 builds (for S2). Thats enough for me to wait out. I am aware that AOSP kernels are spared from this deadly eMMC bug but currently i still don't find CM9 kernels to be stable enough for everyday use.

Get a Nexus [sly]

On 8/12/2012 at 4:17 PM, Jchuacl said:

The advantage of nexus has always been getting the latest os update rather than user friendliness as it is meant to be a developer's phone rather than consumer phone.

If you are a hands on person, there are plenty of customisation options.

Ironically, I find it the better to use than modified versions ^_^

On 8/12/2012 at 4:05 PM, Kopites said:

Yes and no lah. Now that the S3 has come out, the S2 price has dropped below the Nexus. Anyway ya have to install Google Pingying IME

For folks like me who are pissed with the linked ringer and notification control, customisation is the only way out.

On 8/12/2012 at 11:33 PM, Elfenstar said:

Ironically, I find it the better to use than modified versions ^_^

On 8/12/2012 at 11:37 PM, Elfenstar said:

Yes and no lah. Now that the S3 has come out, the S2 price has dropped below the Nexus. Anyway ya have to install Google Pingying IME

S2 below nex?? according to ST on line shop, S2 is still 50 bucks more than nex...

spec wise, nex is better.

On 8/13/2012 at 6:08 AM, Hamburger said:

S2 below nex?? according to ST on line shop, S2 is still 50 bucks more than nex...

spec wise, nex is better.

Telcos buy stock first mah, then they LL can't move prices as much if they can't sell their stock. Outright at most places, the Nexus goes for $10-$20 more.

Spec wise, not really lah. Specs are quite close. Similar processor, lousier GPU, lousier camera, but better screen for the Nexus. The main selling point (in SG) is the native Android OS coz it does run better than the version with Touchwiz.

Bro, been using S3 for 1month plus,overall performs much better than other rivals,if you dun mind the batt life(about 1 day),which i think is common with all big screen phones nowsaday. Auto upgrade software just like apple IOS. Not sure its the best but confirm its the top 3 choices.

yes.....me mind pretty much set on this :wub:

going to get the accessories first. eg screen protector, back casing....

me preference is ebay local seller. So where do you guys get it???

On 8/13/2012 at 7:13 AM, Hamburger said:

I swear by dataflex for screen protectors. Only bad thing is you have to go to J Cube, AMK, or wait for their store at an IT show to get one.

For branded cases I go to istore.com.sg or this car at Funan's ground floor. For generic cases, I walk all over toa payoh then pick one I like.

For ebay, I usually look for a high ranking feedback and order from HK based stores as they're pretty quick.

i got it from my shop :D:D[laugh]

On 8/13/2012 at 6:51 AM, LTLT said:

Bro, been using S3 for 1month plus,overall performs much better than other rivals,if you dun mind the batt life(about 1 day),which i think is common with all big screen phones nowsaday. Auto upgrade software just like apple IOS. Not sure its the best but confirm its the top 3 choices.

Just to be clear, Android has been using OTA updates long before iOS [:p]

Batt life is about there lah. After I upgraded to JB on my Nexus, I turned on a few functions that cost me more batt. On average now I get about 18hrs per charge.

On 8/13/2012 at 7:30 AM, Elfenstar said:

I swear by dataflex for screen protectors. Only bad thing is you have to go to J Cube, AMK, or wait for their store at an IT show to get one.

For branded cases I go to istore.com.sg or this car at Funan's ground floor. For generic cases, I walk all over toa payoh then pick one I like.

For ebay, I usually look for a high ranking feedback and order from HK based stores as they're pretty quick.

sibei ex....... :blink:

On 8/13/2012 at 9:09 AM, Hamburger said:

sibei ex....... :blink:

The istore and funan one yes [laugh] Aiyah for cases etc, just go into the heartlands, sure can find what you need [laugh] If pasar malam even better, last i checked, its like $5 for a screen protector

There's plenty of acccesories for S3 to choose from. Those from qoo quite cheap.