Ct3833 Supersonic January 14, 2023 Share January 14, 2023 On 1/14/2023 at 6:49 AM, Jellandross said: What's the deal with some Singaporeans fear with cheena police? They still have family connection back in Tiongland? Expand She is from shanghai, still maintains a bank account in China. She was a reporter, but she has 3mil and more than 1 properties, reporters can make so much without other source of income? https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/retired-reporter-scammed-out-of-3-million-forced-to-sell-properties-to-pay-loan-sharks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged January 14, 2023 Share January 14, 2023 On 1/14/2023 at 8:07 AM, Ct3833 said: She is from shanghai, still maintains a bank account in China. She was a reporter, but she has 3mil and more than 1 properties, reporters can make so much without other source of income? https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/retired-reporter-scammed-out-of-3-million-forced-to-sell-properties-to-pay-loan-sharks Expand errr.. maybe from things she's NOT reporting? 😁 joking joking.. maybe inheritance or she did have other income that the news never report lah.. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 Give credit when credit is due. Gradual at least a good step forward to fight scam. 👍 https://mothership.sg/2023/01/likely-scam-sms-imda/ You may receive SMSes with 'Likely-SCAM' header from Jan. 31, here's why All organisations that use SMS sender IDs will have to register with Singapore SMS Sender ID Registry. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 Once I was in China and my friend was driving me in his car. I suddenly got a call and says he is Michael Liang and he's changed his phone. I was surprised as the person driving me was Michael Liang and I put him on speaker calling him Liang 大哥 . The fella was so happy and he tells me that he wants to come visit me for coffee soon and will be introducing me some business over next few days. Haha, I told him to "remember to bring the 50K RMB that you owe me when you are coming for the coffee" ....he immediately hang up the phone 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 On 1/14/2023 at 8:07 AM, Ct3833 said: She is from shanghai, still maintains a bank account in China. She was a reporter, but she has 3mil and more than 1 properties, reporters can make so much without other source of income? https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/retired-reporter-scammed-out-of-3-million-forced-to-sell-properties-to-pay-loan-sharks Expand Can lah. Retired already if dont even have $3mil, then better dont retire. but she damn gullible lor…. So the $3mil gone, just like that…. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 Last time i met scammer was a fortune teller from China. i was simply having a cigarillo after lunch near Fullerton Bay, then this chinese sifu say he can see dark clouds and a tiger growling over my left shoulder, that he knows i am in financial trouble and i would be bankkrupted within the month if i dont listen to him for the remedy. he talked a lot and until like damn serious, while i just puffed at my cigarillo, almost ready to burst out laughing. At that point i had 2 private properties fully paid and cash and investments worth millions with no debt, and this idiot here is telling me he sees a tiger blah blah blah. at the end of it all, i smile at him and said,” no need, thank you. My kung fu level is probably better than yours.” Muayhahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 Better buy cpf enhanced retirement sum at least won’t get cheated one time take out feel rich wait do stupid things 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 On 1/5/2023 at 1:39 PM, AndrewLee72 said: Scam call aside. Now i get marketing calls. Hello, is this xxx company.. can i speak to yr HR or finance manager. NB. Its from a local Hp number. I juz say no tks. Hang up Expand There is a weird one that call to say they from SingTel and your office lease circuit is cyber breached Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 It's ok I also had to pay so I paid for you already at the same time. On 1/5/2023 at 1:16 PM, Atonchia said: Dunno how LTA know my office mobile number, then send something different to my personal phone. LTA: You have an October bill that will be late with a fine. Please check and complete payment: t.ly/Owning-LAT LTA: You have a bill that will be overdue and incur a penalty. Please check and complete the payment : vs9psau.click/e94e3c Expand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 On 1/20/2023 at 4:29 AM, Jamesc said: It's ok I also had to pay so I paid for you already at the same time. Expand Thank you very much! Was so anxious because cannot find the 2 fines in One motoring and don't want to owe over CNY.🤣 Next time I pay for your MIL too.😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 On 1/20/2023 at 4:23 AM, Mustank said: Better buy cpf enhanced retirement sum at least won’t get cheated one time take out feel rich wait do stupid things Expand Or some may say it is better to ve cheated by government than by scammers 🤣🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 Pity the Nigerians ...... the Original brainchild of Charles Darwin Theory of Evolution Holy Grail and now ....to Magic Stones...... US$$ washing shampoo ..... moving in new forms/ shades of packaging with smarter phones 🙂 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 (edited) @Sdf4786k wah now that u mentioned. I got 1 customer kenna this call. He is gondu enough to actually follow the scammer instructions. He downloaded team viewer. Key in some info until OTP time then he noticed something amiss. He quickly end the session n made a police report. So police ask him format his laptop . Hard reset the router! So he call him to set back router wifi. Ok lor, i charge him $100. Tks to the scammer call. Edited January 20, 2023 by AndrewLee72 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic January 20, 2023 Share January 20, 2023 (edited) https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/municipal-services-office-warns-phishing-scam-involving-fake-qr-codes-passing-online-service-residents-feedback-2094671 Municipal Services Office warns of phishing scam involving fake QR codes passing off as online service for residents' feedback A poster containing a fraudulent QR code (left) which leads users to a phishing website asking for personal information. By Justin Ong Published January 20, 2023 Updated January 20, 2023 SINGAPORE — The Municipal Services Office (MSO) has warned members of public of a phishing scam involving a fraudulent quick response (QR) code masquerading as its online service for residents to send municipal feedback and complaints. MSO said in a statement on Friday (Jan 20) that the fake QR code found passing off as its OneService (OS) Lite QR code leads to a phishing website asking for personal information. Advertisement In 2015, the MSO launched the OneService Mobile App to make it more convenient for members of the public to send their feedback on municipal issues in Singapore. In 2020, a new QR code initiative, called OneService Lite, was started. QR codes that linked users to the OneService webpage can be scanned at places frequented by residents, such as Housing and Development Board (HDB) estate lift landings. Read also MSO app vendor hit by 'cyber incident', OneService app users not affected Users can then send their complaint or feedback through an online form without having to download the OneService app. MSO said that posters containing a fraudulent QR code masquerading as OneService Lite were discovered at lift lobbies of some HDB blocks at West Terra and West Edge estates in Bukit Batok. Advertisement These were discovered by West Edge Residents’ Committees late at night on Thursday, and "immediate action was taken to remove all those posters". "The fraudulent QR code imitates the function of the OneService Lite, and users who scanned it were brought to a website containing an online form for them to provide feedback, and asking for their name, email address, contact number and address," said MSO. MSO said it has since alerted the town councils of the incident, and the town councils are conducting necessary checks on the OneService Lite QR codes in their towns. A police report has also been filed, and the fraudulent website has been taken down and replaced by an advisory indicating that it is a suspected scam website. Read also Users of OneService app can now track progress of feedback on municipal issues MSO said it is also assisting police in their investigations into the incident, and "will continue to work with the town councils to monitor the estates for any fraudulent activities". Advertisement Should members of public have information related this scam, they can submit it online at www.police.gov.sg/iwitness, said MSO. If a QR code or link claiming to be from OneService is a phishing attempt, members of public can email oneservice_community@mnd.gov.sg to report it. "We urge members of the public to remain vigilant when accessing websites, and to always check if the website address is legitimate before submitting your personal details," said MSO. QR codes and links associated with OneService channels will always lead to websites with domains on “gov.sg”, it added. Edited January 20, 2023 by zipping 1 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged January 21, 2023 Share January 21, 2023 On 1/20/2023 at 1:25 PM, zipping said: https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/municipal-services-office-warns-phishing-scam-involving-fake-qr-codes-passing-online-service-residents-feedback-2094671 Municipal Services Office warns of phishing scam involving fake QR codes passing off as online service for residents' feedback A poster containing a fraudulent QR code (left) which leads users to a phishing website asking for personal information. By Justin Ong Published January 20, 2023 Updated January 20, 2023 SINGAPORE — The Municipal Services Office (MSO) has warned members of public of a phishing scam involving a fraudulent quick response (QR) code masquerading as its online service for residents to send municipal feedback and complaints. MSO said in a statement on Friday (Jan 20) that the fake QR code found passing off as its OneService (OS) Lite QR code leads to a phishing website asking for personal information. Advertisement In 2015, the MSO launched the OneService Mobile App to make it more convenient for members of the public to send their feedback on municipal issues in Singapore. In 2020, a new QR code initiative, called OneService Lite, was started. QR codes that linked users to the OneService webpage can be scanned at places frequented by residents, such as Housing and Development Board (HDB) estate lift landings. Read also MSO app vendor hit by 'cyber incident', OneService app users not affected Users can then send their complaint or feedback through an online form without having to download the OneService app. MSO said that posters containing a fraudulent QR code masquerading as OneService Lite were discovered at lift lobbies of some HDB blocks at West Terra and West Edge estates in Bukit Batok. Advertisement These were discovered by West Edge Residents’ Committees late at night on Thursday, and "immediate action was taken to remove all those posters". "The fraudulent QR code imitates the function of the OneService Lite, and users who scanned it were brought to a website containing an online form for them to provide feedback, and asking for their name, email address, contact number and address," said MSO. MSO said it has since alerted the town councils of the incident, and the town councils are conducting necessary checks on the OneService Lite QR codes in their towns. A police report has also been filed, and the fraudulent website has been taken down and replaced by an advisory indicating that it is a suspected scam website. Read also Users of OneService app can now track progress of feedback on municipal issues MSO said it is also assisting police in their investigations into the incident, and "will continue to work with the town councils to monitor the estates for any fraudulent activities". Advertisement Should members of public have information related this scam, they can submit it online at www.police.gov.sg/iwitness, said MSO. If a QR code or link claiming to be from OneService is a phishing attempt, members of public can email oneservice_community@mnd.gov.sg to report it. "We urge members of the public to remain vigilant when accessing websites, and to always check if the website address is legitimate before submitting your personal details," said MSO. QR codes and links associated with OneService channels will always lead to websites with domains on “gov.sg”, it added. Expand There is one disguised as NTUC with 10 dollars feedback voucher same same but different.. same mode of operandi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/google-android-devices-malware-scam-unverified-apps-sideloading-4102991 Is this google update going to reach all SG android users? Cos the update cycle for android is very much based on the manufacturer. And some of these android devices already past the update cycle liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic February 7, 2024 Share February 7, 2024 On 2/7/2024 at 4:08 AM, Lala81 said: https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/google-android-devices-malware-scam-unverified-apps-sideloading-4102991 Is this google update going to reach all SG android users? Cos the update cycle for android is very much based on the manufacturer. And some of these android devices already past the update cycle liao. Expand Tis uses google play protect within playstore app, will auto update de like normal apps 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged March 13, 2024 Share March 13, 2024 (edited) https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/heartrending-case-12-years-jail-woman-who-cheated-boss-giving-her-s37-million-4191356 Not exactly an online scam but must have been a very convincing scammer to have duped her victim of 3.7 mil over 10 years. Curious how such thing can happen and what hold does the scammer have over the victim in this case. There's more than meets the eye. Only other explanation is black magic. I mean if you are the boss and your employee tells you about her financial problem, you would help maybe once or twice up to a limit and then terminate her employment wouldn't you? Edited March 13, 2024 by Sosaria ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...