Renouncing Msian Citizenship

Bluepica

Any bro here renounced their Msian Citizenship and join the party here?

If you had done so, what happened to your property in Msia? Do nothing about it or sell off/change name?

Exhausted trying to google but can't find a definite answer [:/]

If you had done so, what happened to your property in Msia? Do nothing about it or sell off/change name?

welcome to singapore club and privilege includes voting rights in next GE [;)]

serioulsy i would also like to know the answer to the question you asked.

you want to hear the right or left side of story?

right which refer to rightfully, under some ruling here. PR are not allowed to own any foreign property hence have to sell off.

Left, which is unrightfully, there are many people who are also keeping it as an investment or back up plan.

After all, SG is just a transitions point.

i suppose it would be the same case as a Sgporean owning a Msia property? (if you're Msian converting to Sgp)

Perhaps tax would be different etc. etc.

better check with prop agent ba?

you want to hear the right or left side of story?

right which refer to rightfully, under some ruling here. PR are not allowed to own any foreign property hence have to sell off.

Left, which is unrightfully, there are many people who are also keeping it as an investment or back up plan.

After all, SG is just a transitions point.

dont confuse him lah. [laugh]

you can make a apeal with HDB to hold your exisiting property in you home country. if granted, you can proceed without issue.

if not, too bad.

one of my friend married singaporean, but she got property under her name in malaysia which is currently housing her old age parents. appeal and pass. so now she waiting for her DBSS to be build.

BTW, she appeal for BTO and didnt pass, but she pass if she buy re-sale or dbss

Edited by Joseph22

dont confuse him lah. [laugh]

you can make a apeal with HDB to hold your exisiting property in you home country. if granted, you can proceed without issue.

if not, too bad.

one of my friend married singaporean, but she got property under her name in malaysia which is currently housing her old age parents. appeal and pass. so now she waiting for her DBSS to be build.

BTW, she appeal for BTO and didnt pass, but she pass if she buy re-sale or dbss

Aiyoyo... I'm refering to Msia side la... not SG [;)]

i heard that its better u sell off msia properties first before u convert , else u will have prob with malaysia once u renounce yr citzenship ...

seriously , i would advise u dun convert la , be a PR are much better than to be citizen ....

too bad msia dun give PRs so easily else i would apply in msia liao ....

Edited by Crystal_tiong

i heard that its better u sell off msia properties first before u convert , else u will have prob with malaysia once u renounce yr citzenship ...

seriously , i would advise u dun convert la , be a PR are much better than to be citizen ....

too bad msia dun give PRs so easily else i would apply in msia liao ....

That is also what I heard of, but there are other version that says no need to do anything since the my name won't change and keep all document true certified copy before surrendering Msia IC....and other version too, so there's no substantiate answer to it unless someone had gone thru before and can advice...

MY or SG citizen I think it really depends on one's personal preference la... difficult to debate :mellow:

That is also what I heard of, but there are other version that says no need to do anything since the my name won't change and keep all document true certified copy before surrendering Msia IC....and other version too, so there's no substantiate answer to it unless someone had gone thru before and can advice...

MY or SG citizen I think it really depends on one's personal preference la... difficult to debate :mellow:

ok , when u become sg citizen , u can only buy msia properties min amt of RM500k and pay levey RM10k!

yup, that's foreigner buying prop in MY, but what if I already pre-own before I become foreigner?

OT, can anyone recalled abt 2 or 3wks back. there was an article in Sunday Times abt Singaporean buying Msian property. Apparently, the 500k depend on different states. Can anyone clarify or elaborate more? TIA.

hearsay, including from msia property agent, not sure he got anyhow smoke or not

1. no need to do anything. the property is purchased while you were still msian. everything stay including your ownership of the property. you is still you.

2. simply add in your parent, sibling name as co-owner with equal rights (like FD either signature can close acct type) if they are still in msia. your parent/sibling still can sell the property unless you don't trust your parent or sibling la

hearsay, including from msia property agent, not sure he got anyhow smoke or not

1. no need to do anything. the property is purchased while you were still msian. everything stay including your ownership of the property. you is still you.

2. simply add in your parent, sibling name as co-owner with equal rights (like FD either signature can close acct type) if they are still in msia. your parent/sibling still can sell the property unless you don't trust your parent or sibling la

Both I also got heard before, as you said it, "hearsay" only, but can't find any black and white rule lo...

I renounced 2 years ago and I don't own any property, so I don't have this problem....

As far as SG side, it will only be a problem if you buy HDB. As for MY side, I think should be OK if you have owned it before you convert to other citizenship. Anyway, need to check with Malaysia side gahmen...

yup, that's foreigner buying prop in MY, but what if I already pre-own before I become foreigner?

my sis' colleague got prob when he wan to sell e properties after convert .... now ding dong here and there ...

would advise u to sell first or change to yr family name first before convert.

OT, can anyone recalled abt 2 or 3wks back. there was an article in Sunday Times abt Singaporean buying Msian property. Apparently, the 500k depend on different states. Can anyone clarify or elaborate more? TIA.

only penang needs needs 1 mil above , the rest of msia still 500k