Scoots 3rd Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 Hiyo everything must "pay and pay"..i wonder where all d money go..pray hard its being put to good use.. Money goes to the 'paid and paid' lor .... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 In the first place there should not even be bidding with money. Just the administrative token amount should be enough. COE should be awarded with balloting. Much like HDB flat application. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Satrianeo_2012 Clutched August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 In the first place there should not even be bidding with money. Just the administrative token amount should be enough. COE should be awarded with balloting. Much like HDB flat application. Actually I also feel it should be a ballot. Putting it up for bidding means only the rich can own cars. Its just screwing up those with lower income. Cars are NOT expensive by nature, they are in fact dirt cheap to begin with and many people in SG can afford, its the PAP regime that makes it super expensive so pple cannot afford.... How come only rich people can own cars? Does it mean rich pple are higher mortals? More rights? I bet if such a system is introduced in developed countries (esp. Europe, confirm protest one). Cause they are very particular about welfare and equality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 anything below 60k is cheap also point #2 where coe is paid in 1 lump sum is the same as the current practise isn't it? so what is the intended impact of that change? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLSAMG88 1st Gear August 2, 2012 Author Share August 2, 2012 (edited) Not much diff lah. Cat A COE oredi being bidded in individual's names and not transferable. How to stop dealer from accessing the PC and bidding for u? COE is oredi paid in one lump sum. It's the bank that's providing the installment. Anyway, i bid $1. What I meant was - you bid and the money is deducted immediately from your bank account...no loan for COE Edited August 2, 2012 by SLSAMG88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLSAMG88 1st Gear August 2, 2012 Author Share August 2, 2012 How come no 1-5000 ? It's under "I can't afford a car - FML" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2012 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 $1 . WLL..... Wake rong rong.... Btw, such low prices did happen before, but don't know now must wait for how many more years for a repeat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 (edited) What I meant was - you bid and the money is deducted immediately from your bank account...no loan for COE why no loan? then how are the banks going to make money? if the banks cannot offer such loans, they will have to increase interest rates on other loans and decrease interest on savings accounts which will be bad for the economy. i'd rather 100k COEs than your suggestion which will eventually kill banks and businesses in singapore Edited August 2, 2012 by Expertz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2012 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 In the first place there should not even be bidding with money. Just the administrative token amount should be enough. COE should be awarded with balloting. Much like HDB flat application. In the "second place", if gahmen sees it fit to rely on balloting for the biggest purchase in a person's life (a flat costs hundreds of thousands dollars, not a small sum by any standard), and it's an essential purchase, ie a need, not a want, why not also use ballot for COEs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2012 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 Fark all Cats!!! I'm getting myself a teksi!!! I am going to be a Teksi Lau but the 154th just love to picha my lobang Chrysler 300C or masilee? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 In the "second place", if gahmen sees it fit to rely on balloting for the biggest purchase in a person's life (a flat costs hundreds of thousands dollars, not a small sum by any standard), and it's an essential purchase, ie a need, not a want, why not also use ballot for COEs? Because housing is a need. Whereas a car is just a luxury item. You don't need it to survive. Many people can survive with no problems without a car. If they do the same thing for HDB flats, then those really low income people will stand no chance at getting their own house already. Since a car is a luxury item if you have the money then you'll get it lo. So if demand is high and people bid high those that can't afford too bad la. Just take public transport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 why no loan? then how are the banks going to make money? if the banks cannot offer such loans, they will have to increase interest rates on other loans and decrease interest on savings accounts which will be bad for the economy. i'd rather 100k COEs than your suggestion which will eventually kill banks and businesses in singapore If people aren't allowed to take loans for COE but only can take loan for the car and all the other taxes for the car, the COE price sure drop lower ma. Those who can barely own a car will not be able to take full loan for the car and might have to take public transport instead. This way the demand for cars will be lower. I don't think it will kill the banks la. I doubt the banks make the most from car loans. They probably make alot more from other businesses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 If people aren't allowed to take loans for COE but only can take loan for the car and all the other taxes for the car, the COE price sure drop lower ma. Those who can barely own a car will not be able to take full loan for the car and might have to take public transport instead. This way the demand for cars will be lower. I don't think it will kill the banks la. I doubt the banks make the most from car loans. They probably make alot more from other businesses. with this type of selfish mindset, might as well just skyrocket COE prices then? those who can barely own a car will not be able to afford a skyhigh COE and might have to take public transport instead sounds familiar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 In the "second place", if gahmen sees it fit to rely on balloting for the biggest purchase in a person's life (a flat costs hundreds of thousands dollars, not a small sum by any standard), and it's an essential purchase, ie a need, not a want, why not also use ballot for COEs? assume i'm lucky enough to win a ballot and i buy myself a brand new car then i'll be faced with the decision of selling it off immediately and pocket that 40k or driving it and waste 40k so you can say, law says i need to drive for 1 year so i drive for 1 year and pocket 30k, i still profit right? heck even 10k is good profit for winning a ballot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Princey_anne 1st Gear August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 assume i'm lucky enough to win a ballot and i buy myself a brand new car then i'll be faced with the decision of selling it off immediately and pocket that 40k or driving it and waste 40k so you can say, law says i need to drive for 1 year so i drive for 1 year and pocket 30k, i still profit right? heck even 10k is good profit for winning a ballot I think the more complains the more changes like now taking out taxis but cutting coe. More complains equal higher erp n coe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 2, 2012 Share August 2, 2012 with this type of selfish mindset, might as well just skyrocket COE prices then? those who can barely own a car will not be able to afford a skyhigh COE and might have to take public transport instead sounds familiar? A car is a luxury in Singapore. You can travel around Singapore quite easily by public transport. So a car isn't a need. So why do they need to make it cheaper? If cannot afford then too bad. COE skyrocket then too bad for those who can barely own a car lo. Just have to learn how to live without this luxury. Just like if you cannot afford to stay in a condo or landed property then stay in a smaller house la. If you cannot afford a car then just use public transport lo. Its still viable right? Not as if those people without cars cannot travel around Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 3, 2012 Share August 3, 2012 Chrysler 300C or masilee? i prefer Chrysler 300C, look nicer, but hardly anyone would want to take Chrysler 300C cab, too exp marsarlee good but also suffer from passenger phobia...... best is sonata TURBO DIRECT INJECTION, can kui turbo chiet just about everyone on the road the worst are those natural gas type Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLSAMG88 1st Gear August 3, 2012 Author Share August 3, 2012 with this type of selfish mindset, might as well just skyrocket COE prices then? those who can barely own a car will not be able to afford a skyhigh COE and might have to take public transport instead sounds familiar? That's the entire intent of the COE! To control the number of cars om the road! The highest I would pay is 30,000 - any more, I will take PT. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...