Eight badminton players disqualified from London 2012

Yamapi

got.

i think its indonesia in Tiger cup last time. they go score own goal to loss match. -_-

yup, and they were punished subsequently

Blame the system dun blame the players....

its the olympic council to keep thinking of new ways to improve...

i kind of subscribe to your theory.

in any type of failure, we have to look at it from both perspective of system and people.

in this case, most people were quick to shoot the players. not that i am condoning them.

but their tournament format and rules also exacerbate the problem.

most times, to help others, we start by helping ourselves.

use a more orthodox tournament format and players are very unlikely to do such things.

So next time I don't lock my door, you will blame me and not blame the thief?

Better yet, my daughter don't wear chastity belt, blame her and don't blame the rapist?

first instance - you are partly to blame. you can help yourself by locking the door. then you help the other party not to comit thievery.

second instance - rapist wont know whether your daughter wearing chastity belt and chastity belt is not even common in feudalistic modern day society. not a good example to pick. a more appropriate example would have been your daughter wear scantily. yes big portion of the blame still goes to the rapist but your daughter should also reflect and regret her own action to dress scantily. ask your wife to explain to you the chinese idiom of "attracting the wolves to your home"

Edited by Acemundo

first instance - you are partly to blame. you can help yourself by locking the door. then you help the other party not to comit thievery.

second instance - rapist wont know whether your daughter wearing chastity belt and chastity belt is not even common in feudalistic modern day society. not a good example to pick. a more appropriate example would have been your daughter wear scantily. yes big portion of the blame still goes to the rapist but your daughter should also reflect and regret her own action to dress scantily.

Seriously, you are going to say that dress scantily is "justification" for rape? Really and honestly?

So what level of "dress scantily" does she have to adhere to in order to escape blame?

And in the instance of the badminton, it was not that the players got an advantage by throwing the game, the whole strategy was so that they didn't meet their own team-mates in the semi, which makes it worse.

Seriously, you are going to say that dress scantily is "justification" for rape? Really and honestly?

So what level of "dress scantily" does she have to adhere to in order to escape blame?

And in the instance of the badminton, it was not that the players got an advantage by throwing the game, the whole strategy was so that they didn't meet their own team-mates in the semi, which makes it worse.

i already say almsot all the blame goes to the rapist.

but your daughter also have to learn to accept her own action contributed part to it. she has to understand some guys are just like beast attracted to meat or wolves attracted to flesh. one is inviting trouble if they tempt the beasts. as to the scanty level, it is not for me to comment but i darn sure most girls knows what type of dressig turns men sexually on.

in badminton case, the organisers contributed to it by adopting round robin/grouping format. this gives rise to situation of teams not havign to win the penultimate game to qualify and also teams seeking to pick opponents in the next game. again you have to realise i am not supporting the players. i am saying the organisers also have to share some blame for using this format.

hence the adage "helping others to help ourselves"

Edited by Acemundo

i already say almsot all the blame goes to the rapist.

but your daughter also have to learn to accept her own action contributed part to it. she has to understand some guys are just like beast attracted to meat or wolves attracted to flesh. one is inviting trouble if they tempt the beasts. as to the scanty level, it is not for me to comment but i darn sure most girls knows what type of dressig turns men sexually on.

in badminton case, the organisers contributed to it by adopting round robin/grouping format. this gives rise to situation of teams not havign to win the penultimate game to qualify and also teams seeking to pick opponents in the next game. again you have to realise i am not supporting the players. i am saying the organisers also have to share some blame for using this format.

hence the adage "helping others to help ourselves"

I'm a big believer in "owning" your actions.

If she got drunk, and hooked up with a less than attactive guy - regretting it in the morning. Then YES, I would say she was at fault.

If she walked through a dark park at night in a rape prone area, then that is her only fault - she bears no blame for the actual rape - that is 100% the rapists fault.

Likewise here - just because it was possible for people to cheat, doesn't mean that the organiser bears the blame. And again - do remember, it was not for personal gain, but for national team gain they were doing this - so that they wouldn't meet their countrymen in the semis.

They got everything they deserved.

I don't see how you would really expect to change the format to make such an outcome not possible - round robin in the early stages is inherently fair (better that straight knockout), the only thing is that perhaps can play games simultaneously.

I'm a big believer in "owning" your actions.

If she got drunk, and hooked up with a less than attactive guy - regretting it in the morning. Then YES, I would say she was at fault.

If she walked through a dark park at night in a rape prone area, then that is her only fault - she bears no blame for the actual rape - that is 100% the rapists fault.

Likewise here - just because it was possible for people to cheat, doesn't mean that the organiser bears the blame. And again - do remember, it was not for personal gain, but for national team gain they were doing this - so that they wouldn't meet their countrymen in the semis.

They got everything they deserved.

I don't see how you would really expect to change the format to make such an outcome not possible - round robin in the early stages is inherently fair (better that straight knockout), the only thing is that perhaps can play games simultaneously.

you see, you also agree she has to be responsible for her own action notwithstandign the blame on the rapist. that's exactly the same i have been saying "helping others to help ourselves"

as for the tournament format, how many badminton individual events were played with this format? by % wise, it is definitely rare compared to the knock out format. things does not happen by chance. if they put it in the team event, I say the stupidity is lower because there is no chance of any team tryign to avoid meeting their compatriot team in the next game. but in individual events they would be stupid to expect the players to priortise the loyalty to the "sporting" spirit than to their own country.

the former does nothing to groom, support and nuture the players. the latter is mother to everthing they are now. as a father, i also don't like my sons to slay each other. in the corporate world, you also see some company try to avoid hiring siblings and relatives within same company. this is a case of them helping others to help themselves because they don't want to present these employess with the chance to decide whose interest to better serve or loyalty to divide to (company or relatives).

Edited by Acemundo

aiyoh... like i said earlier, next time, the players just fake lau sai... easier, dont even need to go to the venue, save time, save even more energy...

The lucky losers...

Bruse Alex and Li Michele of Canada

Fujii Mizuki and Kikiiwa Reika of Japan

http://www.london2012.com/badminton/event/...2202/index.html

The winner tonight will get a Silver medal.

A Russian pair will meet another pair from China.

knn... the canadian pair, one of the gals is transgender, is it? the name "Bruce Alex", and her height and weight is so manly...

Blame the system dun blame the players....

its the olympic council to keep thinking of new ways to improve...

true...

it's the loophole and flaw in the system

just like football, many times the teams field youngsters when they have qualified for the next round

that, in professional view, is also as good as throwing the match away

true...

it's the loophole and flaw in the system

just like football, many times the teams field youngsters when they have qualified for the next round

that, in professional view, is also as good as throwing the match away

yeah, who will be so noble as to always play to best and field best team when results inconsequential?

Man U has done it many times before, Arsenal too! Even Rafa-led Pool who focused more on Champs league and subs his key players in the league games.

now these people blame the rules and format ?? Can't believe it. Machiam blaming the shopkeeper for putting his goods outside his store when caught for stealing [hur]

Rules and fixed, rules cannot cheat, rules did not ask you NOT TO PLAY ...... typical of humans since Day 1 - blame everyone/everything but themselves....

However, I think this was a instruction by their Team Managers/Association so ......... lan lan lor . If you wanna 'play' the game, then dun cry foul when you're caught !

yeah, who will be so noble as to always play to best and field best team when results inconsequential?

Man U has done it many times before, Arsenal too! Even Rafa-led Pool who focused more on Champs league and subs his key players in the league games.

bro, these BADminton players did not play a substandard game, they simply DID NOT play. you dun see Liverpool players scoring own goals to lose right?

bro, i did not directly compare pool to these badminton players. if you realise, i only bring in pool when brother scion start talking about football teams that don't field the best team or play their best. i am just saying it is human instinct to rest or field subs on less important matches and offered those teams as proof of such instincts/practices. we can't blame teams for proritising between competing needs and choices right?

Edited by Acemundo

well, as for LFC, they have their own bigger problem, that is to score goals to win, that's why you dont see them score own goals to lose...

and as for those really super-duper good teams / players, they have the luxury to choose who and when they want to meet their same-level kind of opponents... the mentality is totally different from those slightly mediocre players whom probably just wanna win every match that they play in...

in this incident, it is just too bad for the players... get caught and penalised for "bad-acting"...

bro, i did not directly compare pool to these badminton players. if you realise, i only bring in pool when brother scion start talking about teams that don't field the best tema or play their best

dont just mention on rafa lead can or not?

even Kenny do the same thing.

its universal choice for any manager to chose the battle to fight.