Another Conman Spotted...'Gifted' private tutor told by MOE

Watwheels

parents guidance is much more effective than tuition for my case.

save money & show significant improvement, plus you can really know what's your child progress, good for quality time spent too.

think too many parents can't spend much time with their children now, luckily for me, i'm able to and glad i can. once they grow up, that time period is gone and if you didn't really build up the relationship then, it is even harder after that.

ok ok i rephrase it to "if you kids fail to meet the expectation" [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

actually TS never mentioned what the $10K was for:

1. For how many months? (cannot be per month $10K right?)

2. For how many pax? (he mentioned kidS)

3. For how many subjects in EACH centre? skali 4 subject each!

Perhaps some really do put it plainly to their parents? But of course it will take some time before they do it so that kid must be really hardcore...

Or it's just ADHD...

save money & show significant improvement, plus you can really know what's your child progress, good for quality time spent too.

think too many parents can't spend much time with their children now, luckily for me, i'm able to and glad i can. once they grow up, that time period is gone and if you didn't really build up the relationship then, it is even harder after that.

Agreed, though some of us can't really spend that amount of time due to needing to work...

After dinner around 8pm, should be a good time to supervise their work and enjoy family bonding :)

same here

i rather ownself coach rather let other do

rast time poeple also wonself teach their son how to hold a swrod and shield one what

Since when go tuition guaranteed passed?! Unless the center had access to actual exam paper...

As parents, you still have the obligation to check on the progress of your child.

same here

i rather ownself coach rather let other do

rast time poeple also wonself teach their son how to hold a swrod and shield one what

No wonder last time street fight casualties so high. Last time, my parents no teach me marital art. I only learn how to climb tree, hide or run if i encounter gang fight. n last time primabee where got Alzebra keke

A for Apple, B for Bus, C for Cane if u dare to bring a Donkey home.

Most schools offer make up/extra lessons for those kids who are abit behind.

IMO, that is more effective than private tuition. Firstly, it will be taught by qualified

teachers. Secondly, it doesn't cost anything n lastly saves time as it

will be in school.

The other observation I have is that unless your child requires individual

attention, more often it is better to learn in groups and preferably not more than

4, ideally of the same pace/capabilities. I know that's asking a lot but what

we as parents can do is to ask your child's fellow classmates n network with

their parents who are like minded.

Edited by Spring

The problem lie in the syllabus, our time vs our children's is so very different. How to guide?

That's the problem and those vultures prey on parents' ignorance. If the parents know how to guide and teach dan no need those tuition teachers.

IMMHO I believe in continuation of supervision and guidance by parents even after their kids finishes a tuition lesson... The tutor or teacher can only do so much and it's up to the parents to enforce the lessons back at home...

Doesn't mean paying sky high prices for super tutors equates to good if not excellent results...

Fully agree. wanna praise this post, but can't .

Remembered a conversation with my Mrs just last Saturday evening while driving to my mum's place for dinner... She has a colleague (well to do) who spends $1.2k a month on tuition for her pri 5 kid... So far getting good results... She has just asked the same tutor how much for her other kid who is starting Pri 1 next year? That tutor still got some heart to tell her to not kan cheong and let her kid enjoy Pri 1 first...

I told my wife if I'm the tutor I sure carrot her...

Tuition is like taking health supplements... Only do it when you need to...

Fully agree. wanna praise this post, but can't .

Glad that you feel the same way too... [:)]

Remembered a conversation with my Mrs just last Saturday evening while driving to my mum's place for dinner... She has a colleague (well to do) who spends $1.2k a month on tuition for her pri 5 kid... So far getting good results... She has just asked the same tutor how much for her other kid who is starting Pri 1 next year? That tutor still got some heart to tell her to not kan cheong and let her kid enjoy Pri 1 first...

Earn enough liao. Toon buay loke liao. :D

Edited by Kangadrool

Since when go tuition guaranteed passed?! Unless the center had access to actual exam paper...

As parents, you still have the obligation to check on the progress of your child.

The best tuitors are the parents themselves..... [sly]

Want to have children, then have to forgo some of personal time and spend with the children everynight from 7.00pm to 9.30pm. Go through with their daily school work and give them revision.

Forget all 7.00pm evening shows, forget about dinner appointment with friends during weekdays. Spend quality family time together with them during weekends and maybe, just once a month dinning with friends.

That's the best tuition the child can get and its free of charge..... [cool][cool]

Earn enough liao. Toon buay loke liao. :D

I'm amazed that she spends so much just for 1 kid... She's rich, her parents are rich too so money is no problem to her...

My daughter's English tuition is $120 for 4 lessons and I'm grumbling to her every time I pass the money to her...

Glad that you feel the same way too... [:)]

放长线钓大鱼! [laugh]

i dun think they will runaway given the elder kid has proven result. Probably the tuition teacher schedule is filled for next year.

I'm amazed that she spends so much just for 1 kid... She's rich, her parents are rich too so money is no problem to her...

My daughter's English tuition is $120 for 4 lessons and I'm grumbling to her every time I pass the money to her...

$120 for 4 lesson is very reasonable liao [:(]

The best tuitors are the parents themselves..... [sly]

Want to have children, then have to forgo some of personal time and spend with the children everynight from 7.00pm to 9.30pm. Go through with their daily school work and give them revision.

Forget all 7.00pm evening shows, forget about dinner appointment with friends during weekdays. Spend quality family time together with them during weekends and maybe, just once a month dinning with friends.

That's the best tuition the child can get and its free of charge..... [cool][cool]

guide and check but not on coaching, so far my wife monitor the work and make sure everyday what he needs to complete. However, we can't teach what was in the syllabus so we leave a few subjects to tuition. At least the tuitor can point to the right direction of his learning ability and enlighten him.

放长线钓大鱼! [laugh]

i dun think they will runaway given the elder kid has proven result. Probably the tuition teacher schedule is filled for next year.

$120 for 4 lesson is very reasonable liao [:(]

Yah then charge her $1.4K citing syallbus change... Anyway she already too deep to pluck herself out...

Yup but I'm pretty tight so always tell my daughter to work hard and maximise her lessons...

No need elite parents. Now ordinary parents also send their children for all kinds of enrichment and sports and ballet and piano classes. It's sad when you see the parents lose sight of their own hopes and dreams and place all their dreams on their children and hope their children fulfill their unfulfilled dreams. Every weekend is spent sending their kids for enrichment class and these adults, many of whom are only in their 30s and 40s, have no more life and passion of their own. The problem is every parent seem to believe their child has some hidden talent, be it in sports or dance or tennis etc and therefore they want to try every possible enrichment class but the reality is their child is likely to have no talent at all. I think it is important for parents to realise, your life does not END just because you have a child. If you have wanted to learn piano, you can still learn piano at 30 years old. No need to force your child to fulfill your unfulfilled dreams and interests.

And I think the gifted program is a joke. If you need to be taught to be gifted, then you're probably not gifted. The questions are quite standard, therefore those who have done it before in such encirhment classes will be able to answer better and faster. None of the gifted children are gifted. They just have more kiasu parents.

If these elite parents are willing to spend so much money on tuition

they better jolly well do their own due diligence

kena conned already then KPKB...too bad