Another Conman Spotted...'Gifted' private tutor told by MOE

Watwheels

Anyone want to try my service?

I sat next to a gal on a bus that claimed

she was in a school and was part of the GEP.

I also have a 100% no money back guarantee

if your child does not make it.

On 7/30/2012 at 1:42 AM, Throttle2 said:

Why? Are they stupid? The parents, i mean.

The kids surely dont need so much tuition.

If you read the article, I think the mother pay the tutors to do her son's assignments. $200/hr after midnight, even more so late into the night.

You call them stupid. I call them crazy. :D

On 7/30/2012 at 2:33 AM, Sosaria said:

Yup, some of these "elite" parents spend too much time working and on their own activities. I mean, that's how they got rich in the first place, right?

They think that they can solve their problems by throwing money at it, here, by sub-conning the work to tuition teacher. Too bad, didn't check close enough.

These are very sad people.....

On 7/30/2012 at 4:01 AM, Watwheels said:

If you read the article, I think the mother pay the tutors to do her son's assignments. $200/hr after midnight, even more so late into the night.

Oh...I didnt read the article.... I thought they were plain stupid.

now I know they are stupid and crazy.

actually pity the kids , really

On 7/30/2012 at 4:01 AM, Watwheels said:

i can also be 'gifted' to do homework/assignment for student :D :D

  On 7/30/2012 at 2:33 AM, Sosaria said:

Yup, some of these "elite" parents spend too much time working and on their own activities. I mean, that's how they got rich in the first place, right?

They think that they can solve their problems by throwing money at it, here, by sub-conning the work to tuition teacher. Too bad, didn't check close enough.

how many parents would put in effort to learn and understand these basic primary school concepts themselves and teach their own kids?

they would rather pay $$ to the tuition agencies while they wait around outside for their kids, surfing on their IPADs to pass time.

Edited by Enye

Yes yes

I oso forced my boy to learn swimming

It's for survival

Yeah

These parents cxxk la

If their kids are gifted

They dun need to go for gifted classes ma

Will be man made gifted Liao lor

Hahaha

On 7/30/2012 at 6:35 AM, Skyiet27 said:

Yes yes

I oso forced my boy to learn swimming

It's for survival

Yeah

These parents cxxk la

If their kids are gifted

They dun need to go for gifted classes ma

Will be man made gifted Liao lor

Hahaha

Agree!! During my time, gifted school mates don't have tution one. Their classes also super relaxing... The gifted teachers are also more chio!!

lol, i think it was admitted as much by the ministry, that in their 10-20 years of running the GEP, only found 1 or 2 truly gifted individuals. the rest, while smart, are not gifted. i think that might suggest that the "gifted" quality they are looking for, can be trained and squeezed out of the individual. lets just say if we did an analysis on the backgrounds the kids in the program, i wouldnt be surprised they came from the upper strata.

oh, and there are plenty of less gifted in the GEP.

Firstly, it is just so wrong to have to "train" to get into GEP.

Either the kid is gifted or he is not.

If the kid is inherently not gifted, yes he might be able to clinch a place thru intensive "training" and memorizing of the tests. Ultimately it will soon show (phua kang tao) when he ends up at the bottom of the class every semester.

The kid will be ostracized by his classmates, his self esteem will take a severe beating and he will probably be scarred for life.

On 7/30/2012 at 3:43 AM, Karoon said:

the only class i force my kids to go to is swimming.

u won't die if u dunno piano, but u might die if you can't swim.

all other classes are voluntary :)

Haha i agree!

I think swimming + music/ballet is always good to have. Physical + artistic.

I regret refusing to learn music when i was young. -_-

On 7/30/2012 at 7:36 AM, Lala81 said:

Haha i agree!

I think swimming + music/ballet is always good to have. Physical + artistic.

I regret refusing to learn music when i was young. -_-

well, at least u learnt to play the 'organ'

[grin] [grin] [grin]

On 7/30/2012 at 7:37 AM, RadX said:

well, at least u learnt to play the 'organ'

[grin] [grin] [grin]

i believe he is also not that 'young' when he start playing -_-