Watwheels Supersonic July 30, 2012 Author Share July 30, 2012 most parents think that, expensive = good and they cannot accept the fact that their kids IQ are normal. i have colleague who tell me proudly the large number of extra lessons he sent his daughter on every weekends, ballet, piano, language drama, maths etc. when i ask him whether his daughter really enjoy them, my colleague still can retort me that his daughter is vey fortunate to be able to attend all these extra classes when he himself aren't able to when he was young. He's not wrong in any way. Many of my friends want to learn something at their age now eg. learn a musical instrument, have difficulty finding time to commit. Actually only when they are young they get to have that time luxury to learn all these things. You must be single to say other ppl. When you have a family you will wish you have some time to yourself to do something you enjoy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 30, 2012 Author Share July 30, 2012 Wow....$1000 per month tuition. If he got 20 students......HUAT AH! Sua ku. http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...304-331542.html Almost $6k a month, ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liping24cn Clutched July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 Wah, perhaps for me to post my tuition phamphlets in the bukit timah bangalow areas. If can get just two students.....if the parents willing to pay $1000 per month.....X2 I can truely finance a brand new BMW with the extra income, the time I spend surfing Internet over the evenings and weekends can be put to good use. Tuition is really a good money making business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 His updated webpage now profiles him as Quote" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 What a lame excuse. My mother think i should be a doctor so call me Doctor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 most parents think that, expensive = good and they cannot accept the fact that their kids IQ are normal. i have colleague who tell me proudly the large number of extra lessons he sent his daughter on every weekends, ballet, piano, language drama, maths etc. when i ask him whether his daughter really enjoy them, my colleague still can retort me that his daughter is vey fortunate to be able to attend all these extra classes when he himself aren't able to when he was young. Yes, I agree with you that many parents can be easily conned into thinking that expensive = good. But the smart ones will also demand results - if you have little to show after some time, your services will be terminated tactfully I have that experience from teaching tuition during university days, and some of my students were from "elite" JCs prepping for 'A' Levels. Sometimes it's just plain incompatibility with the student, or differing expectations. But let me assure you that though people are prepared to pay big money for such personal tutoring, they also want to see some change/good results. As for extra lessons for kids, well, wait till you have kids yourself (if you have none now). It's good to expose the kids to many other activities beside plain school studies when they are young. I think music and sports are particularly good to spend time on. At least, it's a chance to uncover their other potential or talents, if any. And also if they are not so academically good in future, the other activities they may excel and this can give them some extra confidence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 Sua ku. http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...304-331542.html Almost $6k a month, ok. WTF .. she pay people to do her son's homework?? whats the point of learning then?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 No point getting a child to do something he/ she does not like. Where is the enjoyment and childehood then ? is the parent fufilling their own wish or the child's ? I am a proud father of 1 btw... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 Sua ku. http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...304-331542.html Almost $6k a month, ok. Why? Are they stupid? The parents, i mean. The kids surely dont need so much tuition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 No point getting a child to do something he/ she does not like. Where is the enjoyment and childehood then ? is the parent fufilling their own wish or the child's ? I am a proud father of 1 btw... i am a father of 1 boy, and i agree with you, the child wish or the parents? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 Im a father of 2..my 3yr+ old daughter has gone for ballet, reading, piano,gym etc.. on top of her normal nursery.. No only reading, gym and nursery.. She enjoys it though..not like we forcing, wen we terminate her ballet class, she keep asking to go ballet class..i told her the teacher retire liao. Siong on pocket, dun remember i got go so many ecas when i was young..i tink i onli go kindergarten then pri sch..my mother tell me 1.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 If these elite parents are willing to spend so much money on tuition they better jolly well do their own due diligence kena conned already then KPKB...too bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 (edited) Im a father of 2..my 3yr+ old daughter has gone for ballet, reading, piano,gym etc.. on top of her normal nursery.. No only reading, gym and nursery.. She enjoys it though..not like we forcing, wen we terminate her ballet class, she keep asking to go ballet class..i told her the teacher retire liao. Siong on pocket, dun remember i got go so many ecas when i was young..i tink i onli go kindergarten then pri sch..my mother tell me 1.. at least you tell me your daughter enjoy it . i ask my colleague a simple question of whether her daughter enjoy all these extra classes, he choose not to answer it directly and choose to justified all these extra classes with other reasonings instead. my boy also attend extra classes during his school hours in nusery provided by his school, siong on the pocket indeed, but i reackon that since i am not able to pick him up before 5pm on weekdays, might as well let him attend them. Edited July 30, 2012 by Kiario Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 (edited) i am a father of 1 boy, and i agree with you, the child wish or the parents? I mean, if your kid really objects to going to class - then no point forcing. It could be the environment, or the teacher, and not just the activity. Sometimes you got to see whether their refusal is real, or just testing you. Kids are real smart these days, and are always testing adults to see how far they can go. End of the day, your kid will have to go to classes, i.e. SCHOOL, whether he or she wishes it or not. So get them used to it earlier is better. I do agree that cost is a factor, so sometimes we also got to ask ourselves whether spending so much on the kids is worthwhile?? Will they be thankful in future? As for myself, I wish I had the opportunity to learn some other skill, which I'm only doing now - at older age when not so fast or nimble anymore - instead of just being good at studies and spending so much time at work in my first job! So when it comes to kids, I try to give them these chances and remind them about the importance of always learning new things. Edited July 30, 2012 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 If these elite parents are willing to spend so much money on tuition they better jolly well do their own due diligence kena conned already then KPKB...too bad Yup, some of these "elite" parents spend too much time working and on their own activities. I mean, that's how they got rich in the first place, right? They think that they can solve their problems by throwing money at it, here, by sub-conning the work to tuition teacher. Too bad, didn't check close enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 my mother said I am handsome -> I must be very handsome. Does that mean you possess a face that only a mother would love. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 i am going to enrol my daughter for taekwondo. and although she's still young, the process must be consultative. sign her up , send her once, then ask if she enjoys it and if she wants to continue. If she declines then fine, perhaps this is not her character that she gets so physical . It breeds a sense of conscription when it is shoved down the throat even if the original intention is justified Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged July 30, 2012 Share July 30, 2012 i am going to enrol my daughter for taekwondo. and although she's still young, the process must be consultative. sign her up , send her once, then ask if she enjoys it and if she wants to continue. If she declines then fine, perhaps this is not her character that she gets so physical . It breeds a sense of conscription when it is shoved down the throat even if the original intention is justified the only class i force my kids to go to is swimming. u won't die if u dunno piano, but u might die if you can't swim. all other classes are voluntary :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...