ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 Actually you should think of it this way. Will singing religious song reach out to non-believers? Compare to you sing pop culture song, how many non-believers you can reach out to? Her genere is dance music. Dance music are mostly mindless thumping and repetition of the chorus. Anyway most ppl are drunk where clubs play dance music. Lyrics say what dun really matter. Why they chose dance music probably becoz Asians can't get into the regular English song market. Nobody will want to see an Asian sing English songs. Just check the music you download or the albums you bought, got any Asian singing English songs boh? Most likely dun have. This is not racism but I call it stereotype. They got to aim for bigger audience to reach out to. They can't be doing what other Asians singers had already been there, done that and failed. Unfortunately due to stereotypes and culture you dun see any ang moh willing to collaborate with an Asian singer to make an album. Not that they are racist pigs but becoz they know the album won't sell. To break into any music market other dan Asian music market is actually not easy. I'm talking about how the music industry works. I haven't go into religious music or CHC. I can see where they are coming from. But dan many other do not coz most ppl just want to see them fall. If they really want to reach out to as many ppl as they can there are not many options to choose from. This kinda thing trial & error. Nobody can foresee whether it will work. If ppl think they are misusing the funds to promote this project....I mean not every investment is a sure win. Maybe they lost too much money and dun get to see any returns ppl are concern. Much like our gahment invest in promoting Sgp, you and me can't really see the returns. You've got a point - But I can't help thinking of, for example, U2, or Black Sabbath, or that Disney movie about the Preacher's Son who did a Cyrano De Bergerac ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 Then of course there's no end of popular songs that are about god, pride, sin... Here's one of my favourites http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6RUg-NkjY4 Or that songs with a Message can't be popular http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WvwZR4S513k and although this may be a bit "trite" in my opinion (I am rushing something out and cannot look for better), it is streets ahead of Horse Face's China Wine, and it has a discernable message http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=70VWkJJLIxc The worst part of all though, the Geisha (yes the word is very carefully chosen, because I think she figuratively prostituted herself) disavowed her faith and church connection 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 Whoops - third song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=70VWkJJLIxc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 (edited) sori ure stereotype theory obviously has flaws coz PSY has more than proven that americans readily embrace asian pop music if it is good, in fact PSY's gangnam style dominated the entire world & its not even in English! Americans were singing along in korean!!! sun ho's music sucks period & she has no excuse calling herself geisha as a means to reach out to rest of world. to me she was trying to be a mainstream popstar, confirm not a christian music star. The runaway popularity of Gangnam Style is anomaly and no other Asian artistes manage to achieve similar if not the same level of success and international recognition. IMHO, it is tough to break into the secular market as a Christian artiste simply because secularism and religion just don't mix. . Edited August 12, 2014 by Toothiewabbit 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 The runaway popularity of Gangnam Style is anomaly and no other Asian artistes manage to achieve similar if not the same level of success and international recognition. IMHO, it is tough to break into the secular market as a Christian artiste simply because secularism and religion just don't mix. Quoted and Repeated for the truth of the matter!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DavidOh 5th Gear August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 Actually you should think of it this way. Will singing religious song reach out to non-believers? Compare to you sing pop culture song, how many non-believers you can reach out to? Her genere is dance music. Dance music are mostly mindless thumping and repetition of the chorus. Anyway most ppl are drunk where clubs play dance music. Lyrics say what dun really matter. Why they chose dance music probably becoz Asians can't get into the regular English song market. Nobody will want to see an Asian sing English songs. Just check the music you download or the albums you bought, got any Asian singing English songs boh? Most likely dun have. This is not racism but I call it stereotype. They got to aim for bigger audience to reach out to. They can't be doing what other Asians singers had already been there, done that and failed. Unfortunately due to stereotypes and culture you dun see any ang moh willing to collaborate with an Asian singer to make an album. Not that they are racist pigs but becoz they know the album won't sell. To break into any music market other dan Asian music market is actually not easy. I'm talking about how the music industry works. I haven't go into religious music or CHC. I can see where they are coming from. But dan many other do not coz most ppl just want to see them fall. If they really want to reach out to as many ppl as they can there are not many options to choose from. This kinda thing trial & error. Nobody can foresee whether it will work. If ppl think they are misusing the funds to promote this project....I mean not every investment is a sure win. Maybe they lost too much money and dun get to see any returns ppl are concern. Much like our gahment invest in promoting Sgp, you and me can't really see the returns. correct me if I am wrong to be suspicious. I think, they thinking of a HUGE captive market such as USA would make the donations from Singapore a tiny population look like peanuts. The axiom may be right: if you want to win big better to bet BIG too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 correct me if I am wrong to be suspicious. I think, they thinking of a HUGE captive market such as USA would make the donations from Singapore a tiny population look like peanuts. The axiom may be right: if you want to win big better to bet BIG too I'm not a psychologist - but I think it was pride that did it. Heck - you can burn 50 million supporting her career - how long would it take to spend that sort of money? In any realistic sense, I can't understand how they would need more. Rather, I believe she had a dream, and he either couldn't say no to her, or was similarly blinded to the shortcomings and deluded himself with the axiom "the ends justifies the means" (the "ends" being making his wife happy) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 correct me if I am wrong to be suspicious. I think, they thinking of a HUGE captive market such as USA would make the donations from Singapore a tiny population look like peanuts. The axiom may be right: if you want to win big better to bet BIG too Those additive gamblers also like to think as above bold red, in the end............they are in "hot soup" 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TJX Turbocharged August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 The Gospel must be the main course, it should not be a dessert after someone's concert. Well said bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 correct me if I am wrong to be suspicious. I think, they thinking of a HUGE captive market such as USA would make the donations from Singapore a tiny population look like peanuts. The axiom may be right: if you want to win big better to bet BIG too USA is a huge Christian country more or less. Why would you be trying to preach to a Christian country ? There are plenty around locally to preach or reach out to. Or perhaps the money is not there. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 (edited) USA is a huge Christian country more or less. Why would you be trying to preach to a Christian country ? There are plenty around locally to preach or reach out to. Or perhaps the money is not there. Hollywood is in USA, should be easier to get famous Edited August 12, 2014 by Fongmy 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ExigeTan 3rd Gear August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 USA is a huge Christian country more or less. Why would you be trying to preach to a Christian country ? There are plenty around locally to preach or reach out to. Or perhaps the money is not there. I think North Korea would be a good place for them to go and evangelise 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 I was trying to search for mao tai (茅台) and nu er hong (女儿红) in the internet and youtube showed me that China Wine video. Alamak! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TJX Turbocharged August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 Lies, lies and more lies uncovered. Got guts to cheat no guts to admit mistake.. Pui!!!! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DavidOh 5th Gear August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 There must be a reason why the Bible has this passage When a rich man asked Jesus, “what must I do to inherit eternal life?” Jesus replied, ‘You shall not murder, you shall not commit adultery, you shall not steal, you shall not give false testimony, you shall not defraud, honor your father and mother.” “Teacher,” the man declared, “all these I have kept since I was a boy.” Jesus looked at him and loved him. “One thing you lack,” he said. “Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” At this the man’s face fell. He went away sad, because he had great wealth. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear August 12, 2014 Share August 12, 2014 I was trying to search for mao tai (茅台) and nu er hong (女儿红) in the internet and youtube showed me that China Wine video. Alamak! Bro u power 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear August 13, 2014 Share August 13, 2014 Lies, lies and more lies uncovered. Got guts to cheat no guts to admit mistake.. Pui!!!! I think to them and their followers they are not wrong. Now its the Devil testing their faith. Anything against them or tekan them is actually Devil testing their faith. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 13, 2014 Share August 13, 2014 Actually you should think of it this way. Will singing religious song reach out to non-believers? Compare to you sing pop culture song, how many non-believers you can reach out to? Her genere is dance music. Dance music are mostly mindless thumping and repetition of the chorus. Anyway most ppl are drunk where clubs play dance music. Lyrics say what dun really matter. Why they chose dance music probably becoz Asians can't get into the regular English song market. Nobody will want to see an Asian sing English songs. Just check the music you download or the albums you bought, got any Asian singing English songs boh? Most likely dun have. This is not racism but I call it stereotype. They got to aim for bigger audience to reach out to. They can't be doing what other Asians singers had already been there, done that and failed. Unfortunately due to stereotypes and culture you dun see any ang moh willing to collaborate with an Asian singer to make an album. Not that they are racist pigs but becoz they know the album won't sell. To break into any music market other dan Asian music market is actually not easy. I'm talking about how the music industry works. I haven't go into religious music or CHC. I can see where they are coming from. But dan many other do not coz most ppl just want to see them fall. If they really want to reach out to as many ppl as they can there are not many options to choose from. This kinda thing trial & error. Nobody can foresee whether it will work. If ppl think they are misusing the funds to promote this project....I mean not every investment is a sure win. Maybe they lost too much money and dun get to see any returns ppl are concern. Much like our gahment invest in promoting Sgp, you and me can't really see the returns. if you put the Korean groups altogether to preach after every concert, they can form a biggest cult for whatever they want to preach! even ang mo also crazy about them! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...