What is the purpose of Permanent Residency?

Darryn

i'm skeptical on garmen asking public opinion.

to me it come across as if they got no idea what people want all this while?

On 7/26/2012 at 6:42 AM, Darryn said:

There's lots of news in today's paper about PRs, and the differentiation between PR and citizen.

I spend way too much time here, so don't really want to start a debate on whether the policies are good or bad.

Would rather take a step back and look at what your thoughts are for the fundamental purpose of permanent residency.

In my view it should be used to, in the first instance provide a level of "surety" to those who have talents that will add to Singapore while they explore citizenship. So it's mostly an attraction for talent that is an interim step to citizenship.

What do you think?

it is supposed to be part of common immigration mechanism practiced everywhere in the world cmiiw, but for us uniquely it has become another channel to add fix to namely increasing birth rate, work force, etc. not even wanting to mention political here.

so it is more complicated than elsewhere.

On 7/27/2012 at 1:19 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Putting words in my mouth ? I have a high regard for nurses, in fact I have family members who are in the profession. I'm recommending the keyboard warriors to put it into action, educate their own family members about the profession, and encourage them to take it up. Take an active role in improving the pay and benefits of people in this profession. Don't just talk only, bash FT only. FT won't improve our lives, we will.

I hope you have family or is encouraging your family to be in this well respected profession. I really hope so, and not just talk only.

Dont sidestep the issue by holding up pathetic personalisations and useless exhortations. I know what you mean.

The point is simple - cheap, low quality FT is damaging to Singaporeans' advancement. The pathetic state of the nursing profession today is a good case study.

Ask your family members, do them the needed justice. Don't talk c--k. Agree with me first. :D

On 7/27/2012 at 1:16 AM, Kangadrool said:

Actually when they asked you for feedback means they had made up their mind liao.

One ministar ever said,'justice must be done or seen to be done'......same goes for this mah......feedback must be taken or seems to be taken... [:p][laugh]

  On 7/26/2012 at 9:48 AM, Darryn said:

I dunno - never research full list. I think includes Ai Tong, CHIJ (not sure which one) and Mee Toh.

You don't know then don't anyhow say or quote then cause panic or some sort of unhappiness among bros here!!!

On 7/27/2012 at 1:40 AM, TVT said:

You don't know then don't anyhow say or quote then cause panic or some sort of unhappiness among bros here!!!

that the whole intention, but then it is for discussion/debating purpose :D

actually the numbers of PR are not that many..

but local to non-local, hmmm... almost 50:50 wor..

Dec2011

citizen 3.27mil

foreign

PR 0.54 mil

non resident 1.46 mil

total 5.27 mil

ratio local to foreign: 60:40

from Mr.brown tweet, Today paper too

The purpose of PR is to make up the numbers in the workforce, need to ask meh? Want us to go back for ICT plus lower fertility rate. Not enough ppl to work that magic number call GDP. Whether PR or citizens we are just pawns, dun overestimate yourselves and see your individual selves as so important. Ask this question, no point & waste time.