Holysniper Neutral Newbie July 29, 2012 Share July 29, 2012 If thats the case, then your CAI may not be working well. Many people just put a big open pod filter in the engine bay sucking in 80+C air coming out from the radiator. Thats totally wrong. A properly done up CAI has to take in cool air from outside the engine bay + all pipes properly insulated from the engine bay heat. This is why stock configuration works best. but during a hot day, the air will also be hot too! anyway, at night the radiator will also be at 80+C too, so by right it will affect the open pod too. But in fact there is actually better response at night. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ungtiong 2nd Gear July 31, 2012 Share July 31, 2012 just a question... CAI involves 1) cold air intake? 2) straight path for less air flow resistance? reason is my Altis G10, the air intake is already to the lower edge, near the fog lamp so i assume the air intake is from the outside air flowing under the front bumper. The only difference is they got lots of bends to prevent water and dirt (also for other reasons from what i read) from entering the airbox..even then can see leaves even small sand stuck at my filter. The reason is i read most of the comments is about cold air intake vs stock drawing hot air from the engine. If i mod my air intake to a pod, THEN it will draw in hot air from the engine..but stock setup already drawing mostly cold air. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahrex Clutched July 31, 2012 Author Share July 31, 2012 I installed a carbon charger with cai yesterday.. immediately can feel some diff.. cus I finished the installation at evening time, the air is cooler so my pickup was much faster and smoother.. today is a hot day and I tried it... its not sluggish.. but the pickup was like my stock setup which I had previously. Muz floor to really feel the pickup.. previously on my stock setup, even if floor the pedal also quite sluggish.. On r overall, I think its quite ok la.. meet my requirements of better pickup.. happy liao.. lolx.. significant improvement IMHO during night or cold days.. hot days juz need to rev harder to feel more power.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahrex Clutched July 31, 2012 Author Share July 31, 2012 One more thing to ask.. during washing car how ar? Cus e cai s a open hole in e front leh Will affect anot? If suck in water how? I mean during car wash will definitely turn off engine.. but after wiping dry, the inside of the cai is bound to be wet. So how? Normally I will go jb wash car every week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edms Clutched August 28, 2012 Share August 28, 2012 just use a piping to channel air to the filter, dun direct Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear August 30, 2012 Share August 30, 2012 just use a piping to channel air to the filter, dun direct this is my current setup up, cheap and good. remove resonator box and u-tube, install flexible tube from front bumper void for fog light feed to airbox. airbox of course still with filter (this one is very important). but flexible tube is not aligned directly with airbox hole so that by centrifugal force, any accidental water, rain or fluid will be guided away from the airbox. driven in torrentials rain and big puddles of water, splashed water big time, no problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edms Clutched September 1, 2012 Share September 1, 2012 ya, u will still get cold air without the risk of sucking in the water if flood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear September 1, 2012 Share September 1, 2012 ya, u will still get cold air without the risk of sucking in the water if flood eh noticed u kanna banned still can posted??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edms Clutched September 2, 2012 Share September 2, 2012 warning =( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...