NUS Professor in sex for grades scandal

Ahtong

There is two limb test :

a) corrupt element &

CE, has to be satisfied beyond all reasonable doubt that CE & CI are present in the transaction by the Giver,

b) corrupt intent

CI, it is all in the accused state of mind; whether what the accused did was corrupt under ordinary or objective standard.

There is two limb test :

a) corrupt element &

CE, has to be satisfied beyond all reasonable doubt that CE & CI are present in the transaction by the Giver,

b) corrupt intent

CI, it is all in the accused state of mind; whether what the accused did was corrupt under ordinary or objective standard.

for a),I have doubt it is "satisfied beyond ALL reasonable doubt". see comments on b)

for b) we can't read the mind of the accused. we can only infer based on facts that happened. it would appear to me the facts does clearly indicate "copulatory intent" and it takes a fair amount of leap (or assumption) to arrive at "corrupt intent".

Edited by Acemundo

I think if Tey had not resorted to theatrics by donning formal robes, crying and wailing in court, then he might have a chance to win the case. But alas, the judge the was not impressed with his antics and so the verdict - GUILTY!

"Corruption is the asking, receiving or agreeing to receive, giving, promising or offering of any gratification as an inducement or reward to a person to do or not to do any act, with corrupt intent.".......CPIB website FAQ

The keyword here is "corrupt intent", and it says all.

I rest my case.

Maybe is he corrupt a virgin..

4th Gear

heard also lost his PR......so a PR can be a district judge........learned something new today....... <_<

pohfessor tio pork liao!!! [laugh]

20130528.182730_st_tey.jpg

hey guys guys!!!! you see behind the girl like arm chio!!! then he bin orh orh [laugh][laugh][laugh]

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews...528-425752.html

Singapore professor convicted in sex-for-grades case

Tey, who is married with a daughter, tricked Ko into having sex with him and received gifts that included tailored shirts and a limited-edition pen. -AFP

Tue, May 28, 2013

AFP

SINGAPORE - A Singaporean law professor was found guilty of corruption Tuesday after a judge ruled that he abused his position to obtain sexual favours and gifts from a female student in exchange for good grades.

RELATED STORIES

NUS terminates Tey Tsun Hang's appointment as law professor

Law professor Tey Tsun Hang 'guilty' on all six counts of corruption in sex-for-grades case

Defence and prosecution disagree over Tey's relationship with Darrine Ko

Tey's doctor finally shows up

Judge's ultimatum to witness: Appear or risk arrest

Handcuffs for no-show doctor

Exactly how traumatised was he?

Impossible to alter grades, says prof

Tey faked CPIB experience, says judge

Sex-for-grades: Law prof argues with own lawyer?

National University of Singapore (NUS) professor Tey Tsun Hang, 42, now faces jail terms and fines over his relationship with his then-student Darinne Ko in 2010.

Local media reported that she is now 23 and working in a law firm.

Tey, who is married with a daughter, tricked Ko into having sex with him and received gifts that included tailored shirts and a limited-edition pen, Judge Tan Siong Thye said in his verdict.

Ko got pregnant during their affair and paid for her own abortion, the judge noted.

"I find the accused guilty as charged and convict him on all of the six charges against him," he said.

Tey faces a maximum five-year jail term and a Sg$100,000 ($78,000) fine on each charge. He is to be sentenced on Wednesday.

"It is a no-brainer that there was an obvious imbalance of power in favour of the accused. The accused had abused his position and power," the judge said.

"In my view, it was an illicit romantic relationship that was laced with ulterior motives and corrupt intention in which the accused intentionally abused his position and took full advantage of a student."

After the verdict, the NUS announced that it had terminated Tey's employment with immediate effect.

really ish 骗色 [thumbsdown]

heard also lost his PR......so a PR can be a district judge........learned something new today....... <_<

Keep seeing this, but no official reference to it? Not reported in the mainstream news.

Six charges. If each charge contains jail term, we are looking at at least 6-12 years, maybe more.

at least 6 years, i will be very happy.

but look from past sentence, look like between 2-4 years only :(

remember the school principal that got only few weeks jail? really sad he get so very light sentence.

this is actually quite confusing to me.

pardon my bad english please.

usually corruption requires 2 parties, one to give and one to receive.

in this case, it appears that the judge believes that the receipient gave the impression to the giver that he was corruptible, and received gifts as a result. therefore, he is corrupt.

as for the giver, the judge says that the gifts were coz she was in love, not because she was corrupt. (and she is not apparently)

but if the giver did not gift with a corrupt intent, it implies that either the gifts would have been given, regardless of whether he gave the corruptible impression or not.

therefore, the act of soliciting for a bribe (of sorts) alone, is corruption.

extrapolating, would a judge asking his clerk to fetch him coffee, be corrupt? how about a promise of upgrading of your estate in exchange for votes?

asking questions, coz i dont know the answer. dont shoot me..

edit: mod please delete if inappropriate.

Edited by Tonyhawk

at least 6 years, i will be very happy.

but look from past sentence, look like between 2-4 years only :(

remember the school principal that got only few weeks jail? really sad he get so very light sentence.

I don't know.... his crime doesn't seem to be heinous to deserve such a long jail term. :mellow: