NUS Professor in sex for grades scandal

Ahtong

i don't think anyone here will deny lawyers are pretty immoral. lol

Bro, first target doctors (that real estate thread), now lawyers? What profession is next? [laugh]

As a matter of fact, I don't think lawyers are immoral in general. They have a highly developed code of ethics that most of them strive to adhere to, just like doctors. There are black sheep in every profession - the problem with getting your soundbites from the popular press is that the black sheep are disproportionately represented in the reporting.

Bro, first target doctors (that real estate thread), now lawyers? What profession is next? [laugh]

As a matter of fact, I don't think lawyers are immoral in general. They have a highly developed code of ethics that most of them strive to adhere to, just like doctors. There are black sheep in every profession - the problem with getting your soundbites from the popular press is that the black sheep are disproportionately represented in the reporting.

teacher/lecturere already kena, next will be table wiper and undertaker [rolleyes][rolleyes]

Err...next profession will be farmers...digging is immoral???

NNB this is one of the most impartial and clear minded post I've read. Thumbs up.

Edited by Chickenfarm

His career and reputation gone liao. Dunno whether he still can practice law here.

no problem one lah ..... look at "gold tap" Durai, Ming Yi, "mango" Palmer etc .... all had no problems rejoining the work force despite their "immoral" acts

Well, he served his time and now he is acquitted and saves himself $514.80.

But now, he is officially a "man without honour".

what is "honour" worth nowadays ?? ZILCH [grin]

But didn't the guy in charge of his case at the CPIB get charged for corruption himself recently? The same guy that was also in charge of NBG and that Peter fellow?

Fren... since when it is the guy who is incharge of his case get charged? and since when it the same guy who is incharged of NBG and Peter Lim?

The guy who was charged and convicted is not the same person la.. The guy who was charged did not even appear for this 3 case.

Fren... since when it is the guy who is incharge of his case get charged? and since when it the same guy who is incharged of NBG and Peter Lim?

The guy who was charged and convicted is not the same person la.. The guy who was charged did not even appear for this 3 case.

sorry la....I tot that cpib fellah that recently charged was part of the team

already served 5 months, the appeal is to get back the fine $514.70?

Do our courts compensate people who have been wrongfully jailed?

If not, this is seriously unfair.

Edited by Kusje

Tey kept on streesing that these are political motivated.

Can he (i think he is only PR) join the black and fight against the white?

IIRC, there was a guy who was jailed and rotaned many years ago for molest/rape??? After discharged, the court ruled he was not guilty. Think that guy chose not to pursue further also.

On the other hand, we had one who was over-rotaned few years back. He sued and think he should have got something as settlement, undisclosed sum of course.

ch8 news just reported the lawyer saying unlikely to get compensation as he was the one to decide to serve sentence before appeal and purposely time the hearing to be after the sentence period.

Dunno what is he trying to prove [hur]

Edited by Dark

Maybe he serve the term out of guilt? :huh:

He opt to go to jail lah how to claim compensation?

For me, I feel that this Prof is just saying every single thing he can to try to win back face. You see what he say and do during the trial.. [hur][dizzy][knife]

He was a judge before and that he is a law prof.. tell me he dunno anything about law and dunno what to do, say , act so as to win a case...

What political motivated... everyday u see ppl KPKB about P^P and garment... u dun see everyone kenna politically charged...

If he dun do stupid thing (i.e go F own student and abortion and stuff) you think the authorities got things to charge him... he might as well say the girl was planned by some garment agency to seduce him so that he will fall into this trap...

What ever he say, what he do is really wrong and stuff... maybe not to the extend of corruption in Legal sense.. but he whole mind is really corrupted morally...

I dun mind CPIB dig out more this kind of shit.. at least doing the society a favour to cleanse these B*stard up....