NUS Professor in sex for grades scandal

Ahtong

Phenomenal $100,000? Really?

I am sure that is only few months of his salary.

Below is a letter from Prof Tey:

Dear friends and members of the media profession,

I will appear at Court 26 of the Subordinate Courts of Singapore at 9am today (27 July 2012), facing six charges of corruption - two of which involve sexual gratification; all of which are about showing favour in my assessment of a recently-graduated female student's academic performance.

I stand by my academic principles. I have always pursued my academic writing in good faith, with no ill intent.

The bail is set at a phenomenal sum of S$100,000.

I remain, yours faithfully, as ever

TEY Tsun Hang

Report say he is charismatic & nice guy blah2..

Im reading a frd fb (whose a lawyer) wall...she & her frds all hated him in law school..haha.

Seems like they oso dunno he is those kind.

btw how was he caught?

kana sabo by student/colleague(old professor who don have happening, jealous) or f--k already never give good rates, the woman complain... also unlikely...

Alamak, the girl is from Raffles.

Can join other Durai, Ming Yi and Kong Hee in the hall of shame [laugh]

We will soon be known as sexgapore...

All the scandals...

That condom survey likes to say we have the lowest amount of sex in Singapore.

Its wrong, we have a lot of sex just that we cannot tell people about it!

Alamak, the girl is from Raffles.

Can join other Durai, Ming Yi and Kong Hee in the hall of shame [laugh]

where u read this?

We will soon be known as sexgapore...

All the scandals...

I'm not surprised. With the casinos(somehow it will attract vice trades), business minded OKTs may have already setup sex tourism for tourists. :D

If it was for love, everybody will understand.

But it was grades!

If I were her classmate, and hearing what she did and how hard I studied, my blood will boil.

Even if it was for "love", it's still very wrong, ethically.

Or has all sense of ethics gone out the window nowadays?? Or that's the first thing you need to discard when you enter law school?? [laugh]

Even if there was no favour in assessment, no money changed hands, it is still absolutely wrong, because one is a teacher and another is a student. In teacher-student relationship there must be complete professionalism, no matter that both are consenting adults. No hanky panky as this will open a whole can of worms, and is a clear conflict of interest.

I'm surprised these people are all well-versed with the law, but cannot see anything wrong with teacher-student relationships?

Nowadays if your children come home praising this and that teacher for conducting interesting lessons, popular with the students, etc. ... I'd be very, very careful.

Dispassionate and uncaring teachers are much, much safer option now! [laugh]

Edited by Sosaria

Or has all sense of ethics gone out the window nowadays?? Or that's the first thing you need to discard when you enter law school?? [laugh]

One of my ex-bosses used to say, "Whatever you do, it must be able to hold up in a court of law.", so as long as it's legal, nothing mentioned about ethics. [:p]

Nothing wrong with teachers making classes

interesting, its their jobs.

Just as long as they dun have sex with my kids.

SYT teachers sex with my kids' father can.

Edited by Jamesc

Well , when a judge Can buy the argument of not able to differentiate BTW a tree branch and cyclist, I already don't have high hope ....

my question is, did the judge then use this justification for the light sentence or there are other reason for mitigation.