Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 My altis aircon suddenly no cold air... so i guess the coolant must be low Got a mechanic to top up gas... after that the aircon is fine again mechanic claimed that cooling coil hv problem and say need to replace n quoted $420 and say will add filter for my car (Altis no aircon filter) any bros here has similar experience... the only problem cooling coil give its either choked, or leak... Its something like radiator, where coolant cool the metal and when air passed thru the block, it will be cooled... Did you installed airon filter? Altis (the previous version, current version not sure) doesnt comes with aircon filter. You need to install it yourself at workshop outside. If you didnt install before. It will give you problem after 3yrs to 7 yrs. The whole aircon block is choked with dust, road debris, leaves, insects and air cannot go thru it, thurs, its not be cooled. Forget about cleaning it.... cooling coil itsef its cheap.. the expensive part its the labour. The installer need to remove the whole dashboard in terms to replace the coil.... its min 1/2 day work for Altis (my dad replace it before for his Altis) If you installed the aircon filter since day 1. Then its unlikely for the coil to be choked, in fact, when I replaced my cooling coil, I was surprise how clean it was after using it for 6 years... Since you have just refilled the gas, then monitor for a while to see whether the aircon gas leak. For altis, there is a small glass window along the aircon pipe. If the aircon gas is low, you can see plenty of bubble when aircon is turn on... very easy to monitor... If there is really a leak, your gas should be depleted within a week (I kena before). If you are very much into ICE, make sure the aicon shop is doing a good job. After I replace the cooling coil, there are "aeroplane sound" and the ICE installer told me that either the interconnector, or speaker cables was accidentally shifted and there is signal interference... troubleshooting could be quite ex cause all the cabling works are hidden in the dashboard... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 if it's still cold, monitor 1st..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 the only problem cooling coil give its either choked, or leak... Its something like radiator, where coolant cool the metal and when air passed thru the block, it will be cooled... Did you installed airon filter? Altis (the previous version, current version not sure) doesnt comes with aircon filter. You need to install it yourself at workshop outside. If you didnt install before. It will give you problem after 3yrs to 7 yrs. The whole aircon block is choked with dust, road debris, leaves, insects and air cannot go thru it, thurs, its not be cooled. Forget about cleaning it.... cooling coil itsef its cheap.. the expensive part its the labour. The installer need to remove the whole dashboard in terms to replace the coil.... its min 1/2 day work for Altis (my dad replace it before for his Altis) If you installed the aircon filter since day 1. Then its unlikely for the coil to be choked, in fact, when I replaced my cooling coil, I was surprise how clean it was after using it for 6 years... Since you have just refilled the gas, then monitor for a while to see whether the aircon gas leak. For altis, there is a small glass window along the aircon pipe. If the aircon gas is low, you can see plenty of bubble when aircon is turn on... very easy to monitor... If there is really a leak, your gas should be depleted within a week (I kena before). If you are very much into ICE, make sure the aicon shop is doing a good job. After I replace the cooling coil, there are "aeroplane sound" and the ICE installer told me that either the interconnector, or speaker cables was accidentally shifted and there is signal interference... troubleshooting could be quite ex cause all the cabling works are hidden in the dashboard... do u think $420 is reasonable? my car is left w 3 yrs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 if it's still cold, monitor 1st..... bro... that's what I said to my mechanic... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkscale Neutral Newbie August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 below happen in Sat and Sunday, other than this the aircon is working ok .. can anyone adv what cauese this? compressor going to up the lorry? 01. On Sat, after dropping the kid and wife, go park car and the aircon subbenly no cold air, after i park the car, i on and off the aircon notice the comperssor didnt on .. but after a few on and off, the comperssor kick in and there is cold air. 02. Sun drove from west to east side to pick up friend for dinner, waited for about 10~15mins with the engine on as my kid are in the car. After pick up my friend suddenly there is no cold air .. so i on and off the aircon a few times while driving, and finally the aircon come back. 03. After maka, drop my friend off and was outside the car about 10 mins before we drove back, and the aircon suddenly no cold air .. so do the same trick again and the aircon come back again after few try on and off of air con. by the way i driving 3 yrs old Latio and clock 107,000km. Same experience before, connectors connected to the air con resistor melted and loose, or the Air con resistor is spoilt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fd60 Neutral Newbie August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 bro air con problem got a lot of cause one . there is realli a lot of possiblity . filter , blower , cooling coil , compressor , condenser , air con gas . n the ultimate s--t problem of all , WIRING . but tat onli applies for old car la . from ur case , most likely is the compressor spoil . but then again it could be u r low on air con gas since u drove it onli for 3 years . or maybe is the filter that is dirty alreadi . this one can bring to those specialise in air con one . they r veri experienced . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 22, 2012 Share August 22, 2012 do u think $420 is reasonable? my car is left w 3 yrs yup, its ard that pricing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 23, 2012 Share August 23, 2012 do u think $420 is reasonable? my car is left w 3 yrs Try calling scrapyard or stockist to check price 1st. U can actually ask the mechanic to do a water pressure test for ur evaporator cooling coil. He will remove the coil from the car, connect to a hand pump with a pressure gauge and pump it up to a certain pressure. 1) If pressure is holding after 5-10mins, evaporator coil is good. 2) If pressure is not holding, somewhere in the evaporator coil is leaking. 3) If u see water dripping from the coil as he pump up the pressure, then evaporator coil confirm gone. If everything is good, ask him to do chemical cleaning for ur evaporator coil and re-install back. A/C is a closed system, if no more refrigerant, means somewhere is leaking. It might not be the evaporator coil, need time to trace the various components and pipes with soapy water. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilahonda Clutched August 23, 2012 Share August 23, 2012 huh?wat toking u??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PP5712 Neutral Newbie October 5, 2012 Share October 5, 2012 Sorry to hijack this thread (as I can't start a new thread) ... the lcd display for my camry aircon has some fogging on the inside ... any recommendations on where I can go for this to be rectified? Thank you very much in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtb 6th Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 Sorry to hijack this thread (as I can't start a new thread) ... the lcd display for my camry aircon has some fogging on the inside ... any recommendations on where I can go for this to be rectified? Thank you very much in advance. try Delgro Engrg Pandan Loop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 My car aircon got faint "hissing" sound in cabin and I can smell chemical smell from the air that's blown out.. Starts to notice this last week. The chemical smell is making me sick.. So I tahan for 2 days.. cannot stand it so send to Tomiko aircon service. The boss said aircon coil or something has leaked, cannot use OEM coil..must use original parts etc. Actually I dun quite understand what he meant as I have no experience in car ac before as this is first time I encounter car ac problem after driving 2 car for 8 years. I was quoted $750 for new parts and inclusive of labour. The boss say take 1 day to fix as need to dismantle entire dashboard. Guys, is $750 reasonable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 My car aircon got faint "hissing" sound in cabin and I can smell chemical smell from the air that's blown out.. Starts to notice this last week. The chemical smell is making me sick.. So I tahan for 2 days.. cannot stand it so send to Tomiko aircon service. The boss said aircon coil or something has leaked, cannot use OEM coil..must use original parts etc. Actually I dun quite understand what he meant as I have no experience in car ac before as this is first time I encounter car ac problem after driving 2 car for 8 years. I was quoted $750 for new parts and inclusive of labour. The boss say take 1 day to fix as need to dismantle entire dashboard. Guys, is $750 reasonable? depends on which shop quote this price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 I replace my evaporator coil at moto-aire about $400. I guess you should shop around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 depends on which shop quote this price. Tomiko Ubi quoted me.. Any significance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 My car aircon got faint "hissing" sound in cabin and I can smell chemical smell from the air that's blown out.. Starts to notice this last week. The chemical smell is making me sick.. So I tahan for 2 days.. cannot stand it so send to Tomiko aircon service. The boss said aircon coil or something has leaked, cannot use OEM coil..must use original parts etc. Actually I dun quite understand what he meant as I have no experience in car ac before as this is first time I encounter car ac problem after driving 2 car for 8 years. I was quoted $750 for new parts and inclusive of labour. The boss say take 1 day to fix as need to dismantle entire dashboard. Guys, is $750 reasonable? Probably depends on your make/model. I know the labour for dismantling the whole dashboard ranges from $200-$400. Maybe depending on complexity and also whether any shortcuts are possible (ie many ws are known to cut the dashboard so that they can take out the cooling coil faster. Maybe can save 3-4hrs at a minimum and that lowers your labour costs. But of course, most drivers won't notice where they cut the dashboard ..... if you are not particular, then there is no issues, you can find the cheapest guy out there. But I'm not saying the cheapest guy will be cutting up the dashboard brackets though..... Maybe if you can let everyone here know your make/model, then maybe other bros can share how much they paid for the same model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 How come some Altis no aircon filter huh? I rem my alternate servicing with BM sure change one which the advisor said is the aircon filter.....and really my aircon is much colder after the change. My Altis is the model before the current.......2007........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 (edited) How come some Altis no aircon filter huh? I rem my alternate servicing with BM sure change one which the advisor said is the aircon filter.....and really my aircon is much colder after the change. My Altis is the model before the current.......2007........ wanna bet S$100 or not my altis no aircon filter... Edited October 8, 2012 by Raymondism ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...