Skyiet27 Clutched July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Bought a used 06 ride In nov 2011 Always find very strong petrol smell after I open my door But internal no smell Fuel cover area no smell Wheel below fuel cover no smell After ard 3-5 sec Smell disappear Anyone got same situation??? Last my car manual I decat muffler I understand This auto uncle ride I think exos is stock Tks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liping24cn Clutched July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Most likely the carpets are cleaned with solvents, and petrol is the common solvent. The plastic parts are also cleaned with solvent to give it a shiny look. The dirty headboard also have to be cleaned. I think the cleaners used a very strong smell solvent to do the job. If your MSCP and office got no sun, then the smell will stay a long time. Best to sun it and open a slight gap window as often as you can to vaporize the smell away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched July 23, 2012 Author Share July 23, 2012 Hey sis Interior no smell It's exterior Dun cos of gain post Anyhow reply leh Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Could be from exhaust, incomplete combustion. Normal if during warm up on cold start, not normal after. Old car perhaps normal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 bernoulli effect Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched July 23, 2012 Author Share July 23, 2012 5.5 yrs old car I think it's old My fren oso told me it may be from exos Stock fuel ratio setting too rich?? Hahaha Last servicing forgot to point out Nvm next visit see what mech says Thru out the day Not only cold start After alighting car Always wan to faint So thick the smell But I str smell the fuel cover And rear seat All no smell Dun dare smell exos Scare later die Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched July 23, 2012 Author Share July 23, 2012 Deep man Hahaha Youngsters study alot nowadays Good Bro can elaborate pls I read up Still couldn't understand y it's link to my petrol smell Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 if it happens after pump full tank than maybe tank leak. similar case like mine. strong smell after fuel pumped. but after certain time, the smell disappear as the fuel already below below the leak(crack of the tank). check if any fuel dripping from below yr ca. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 5.5 yrs old car I think it's old My fren oso told me it may be from exos Stock fuel ratio setting too rich?? Hahaha Last servicing forgot to point out Nvm next visit see what mech says Thru out the day Not only cold start After alighting car Always wan to faint So thick the smell But I str smell the fuel cover And rear seat All no smell Dun dare smell exos Scare later die Lol you can try clean the fuel system perhaps with additive, and inspect your spark plugs. some cases even if the spark plugs recently changed, they got dirty due to some reasons and prohibit complete ignition process. all in all i hope the case of smell is from exhaust, shouldn't be very jialat. if you suspect rich mixture, you should try also resetting the ECU (best after all the above checked & done). let the car run idle for 5-10 mins. this is what i would do. maybe of some use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched July 24, 2012 Author Share July 24, 2012 i nearly died this morning when cold start hahahahahaa i walked over exos side hahahahaa ya hope its old liao the exos smell will jus leave it till nex service to tom bro hope its not fuel tank leak cos fc stable and i smelled fuel cover area no smell hahhhhaa actually i asked this question is jus worried any safety issue?? lucky interior no smell ar bo sure unhealthy to me n my family tks to all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ungtiong 2nd Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 - change spark plug. Is ur car also sluggish? My car previously sluggish (acceleration not smooth) and got strong petrol smell, change spark plug, smell gone liao..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beethong 3rd Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 (edited) My new car had fuel leak before and u should investigate on that like what Tom said. I smell petrol once a while but couldn't pin pt the reason until 1 day i go pump petrol, the over zealous attendant was trying to squeeze in more petrol even when the pump had auto stopped. I was standing outside and could see petrol leaking out. He was freaked out cos he thought I would scold him but I didn't because I finally I found the reason. FC didn't change because it was only minor leak at the linkeage and only happened when tank is almost full. Edited July 24, 2012 by Beethong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cephas 3rd Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 how about the ENGINE BAY? Might be fuel hose leak....dangerous.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched July 24, 2012 Author Share July 24, 2012 Engine bay??? Wow that's dangerous Hahaaja I go check later Hahaha But no smell la I'm sure I open bonnet every week Like I say it should be exos out Cos morning sb smelly when I go behind Hahaha But tks ya Appreciate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched July 24, 2012 Author Share July 24, 2012 Spark plug caused smell??? Wow But my car sure sluggish Cos underpowered scooby Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cephas 3rd Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 Engine bay??? Wow that's dangerous Hahaaja I go check later Hahaha But no smell la I'm sure I open bonnet every week Like I say it should be exos out Cos morning sb smelly when I go behind Hahaha But tks ya Appreciate check it while your car is cold...petrol vapourized very fast, so when you start your car, it will be gone by then... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Warthog Clutched July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 Check fuel carbon canister. Maybe due for replacement. Otherwise, have to check for petrol leaks. Anywhere, from petrol, hose to intake manifold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 (edited) to tom bro hope its not fuel tank leak cos fc stable and i smelled fuel cover area no smell hahhhhaa when my fuel tank got a leak at the utmost top of the tank, my fc was stable too. even the fuel gauge did not show any signs of leakage as it is minimal but still it was a leak. I guess whenever i pump full tank,only around 2 to 3 liters leak out..? Still dangerous if someone smoke and throw the butt near your car. so maybe u can watch out. Edited July 24, 2012 by Tom_kkh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...