Nlatio Turbocharged April 9, 2015 Share April 9, 2015 Who's your installer? GC...... Disclaimer...... I am not a staff nor promoter nor agent of GC......... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 9, 2015 Share April 9, 2015 GC...... Disclaimer...... I am not a staff nor promoter nor agent of GC......... mine also GC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic April 9, 2015 Share April 9, 2015 read on forums getting good GC installer also depends on luck. ha ha .... many horror strories on renotalk My aircon man is my upstairs neighbour at work. He have to see me everyday so he dare not play punk. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 9, 2015 Share April 9, 2015 Hi all My home aircon is leaking water when I turn it on..... leak is quite bad. Can I fix it DIY, or better get a serviceman to come fix it ? if normal leak because pipe stuck should be able to DIY.. what I do very simple find where the pipe discharge the water, for flats, should be in toilet.... take a vaccum cleaner, preferable portable.... on the vaccum cleaner... place the vaccum at the pipe... count to 3s, remove the vaccum and wait for awhile.. the gel like substance and water will drip out....... once drip finish.... repeat procedure until no water or gel come out..... but this time put 1s can liao since the initial blockage already cleared take care not to suck water into the vaccum in 5yrs, aircon service once(at bout 2.5yrs)... DIY pipe cleaning twice... no more such issue 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwaver 4th Gear April 9, 2015 Share April 9, 2015 if normal leak because pipe stuck should be able to DIY.. what I do very simple find where the pipe discharge the water, for flats, should be in toilet.... take a vaccum cleaner, preferable portable.... on the vaccum cleaner... place the vaccum at the pipe... count to 3s, remove the vaccum and wait for awhile.. the gel like substance and water will drip out....... once drip finish.... repeat procedure until no water or gel come out..... but this time put 1s can liao since the initial blockage already cleared take care not to suck water into the vaccum in 5yrs, aircon service once(at bout 2.5yrs)... DIY pipe cleaning twice... no more such issue It will depend on where the choke is, if the water pipe run from room-room chances are the vaccum doesn't produce enough power to suck out the gel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 9, 2015 Share April 9, 2015 if normal leak because pipe stuck should be able to DIY.. what I do very simple find where the pipe discharge the water, for flats, should be in toilet.... take a vaccum cleaner, preferable portable.... on the vaccum cleaner... place the vaccum at the pipe... count to 3s, remove the vaccum and wait for awhile.. the gel like substance and water will drip out....... once drip finish.... repeat procedure until no water or gel come out..... but this time put 1s can liao since the initial blockage already cleared take care not to suck water into the vaccum in 5yrs, aircon service once(at bout 2.5yrs)... DIY pipe cleaning twice... no more such issue it depends on where the aircon is used. if its a room without a toilet attached and you hardly open the windows, then the aircon will seldom needs to be cleaned. but if its with a toilet then different story. the humidity is much higher and somehow the fan vanes and the evaporator fins get clogged more easily, then you will need to wash the fins or do a chemical clean every 2year min. you will notice that the aircon cools much quicker and thus saves you power. I have 2 rooms like that. the wife also used baby powder and thus creates even more 'dust'. New aircon evaporators are packed very tightly to keep the size small and to promote efficiency, but what happens is that they get clogged more easily and will affect efficiency. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Airwaver 4th Gear April 9, 2015 Share April 9, 2015 Hi all My home aircon is leaking water when I turn it on..... leak is quite bad. Can I fix it DIY, or better get a serviceman to come fix it ? The water pipe probably choked with "gel" that water back flow and drip from the blower, unless you have a heavy duty wet vacuum to DIY, if not better let the pro do it. Market rate for servicing should be around $30/unit. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 9, 2015 Share April 9, 2015 Haaaa got nothing to do with him really.... It's a good Aircon..... With regular maintenance..... So far have it for close to 8 years. No problem at all.... And it's really quiet... But I would think the installer play a part.... Get a lousy installer..... Siao Liao.....My starmex just passed 14yrs. So far only one major repair on one of the unit. Changed the pcb for a couple hundred. One minor problem is the gas leaking, but was advisd to just top up gas when it's empty. One top up can last a year. Rather satisfied with it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 If you have a water vacuum, position it at the end of the aircon discharge pipe (usually located in the toilet) to vacuum out the trap condensed water. Do a few rounds. Hope it helps. I did just that and let it suck for about 5-10 mins. The water leak seems to have stopped now.....Thanks. if normal leak because pipe stuck should be able to DIY.. what I do very simple find where the pipe discharge the water, for flats, should be in toilet.... take a vaccum cleaner, preferable portable.... on the vaccum cleaner... place the vaccum at the pipe... count to 3s, remove the vaccum and wait for awhile.. the gel like substance and water will drip out....... once drip finish.... repeat procedure until no water or gel come out..... but this time put 1s can liao since the initial blockage already cleared take care not to suck water into the vaccum in 5yrs, aircon service once(at bout 2.5yrs)... DIY pipe cleaning twice... no more such issue I did that but no gel like substance came out leh, only water..... so suck till dry for 5-10 mins. Now leaking had stopped. Thanks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 I did just that and let it suck for about 5-10 mins. The water leak seems to have stopped now.....Thanks. I did that but no gel like substance came out leh, only water..... so suck till dry for 5-10 mins. Now leaking had stopped. Thanks. only way for gel to come off is to blow it off or suck it..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 I'm wondering whether we can take out the blower drum to wash ourselves. Saw some YouTube demo, its v complicated. Blowers always coated with dust. I can get access to it by taking out the louvers. Use cloth to wipe it. But not good enough. Dust are still within the grooves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 I'm wondering whether we can take out the blower drum to wash ourselves. Saw some YouTube demo, its v complicated. Blowers always coated with dust. I can get access to it by taking out the louvers. Use cloth to wipe it. But not good enough. Dust are still within the grooves. I'd spray a solution of Kao colour bleach (not the regular Kao bleach) on it, from below. No need to take it out the blower, but need to hang something below to collect the liquid. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 mine also very dirty, asked the shop the say certain brands can take out. not all brands. if only can, it would benefit from a good disinfection. I'd spray a solution of Kao colour bleach (not the regular Kao bleach) on it, from below. No need to take it out the blower, but need to hang something below to collect the liquid. is there a reason why color bleach but not regular? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 mine also very dirty, asked the shop the say certain brands can take out. not all brands. if only can, it would benefit from a good disinfection. is there a reason why color bleach but not regular? Kao colour bleach is oxygen-based bleach - it cleans and disinfect by the oxygen molecules breaking up dirt and destroying bacteria. Regular bleach is chlorine-based bleach - it's much cheaper, works the same, but the chlorine molecule is highly corrosive. Kao colour bleach (liquid form) also has a pleasant smell. You can use it to wipe, clean, disinfect table, It also remove sticky oil stain on tiles, cooker hobs, etc. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 thanks for the info. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 it depends on where the aircon is used. if its a room without a toilet attached and you hardly open the windows, then the aircon will seldom needs to be cleaned. but if its with a toilet then different story. the humidity is much higher and somehow the fan vanes and the evaporator fins get clogged more easily, then you will need to wash the fins or do a chemical clean every 2year min. you will notice that the aircon cools much quicker and thus saves you power. I have 2 rooms like that. the wife also used baby powder and thus creates even more 'dust'. New aircon evaporators are packed very tightly to keep the size small and to promote efficiency, but what happens is that they get clogged more easily and will affect efficiency. Mine with attached toilet and use baby powder too... windows don't open though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 it depends on where the aircon is used. if its a room without a toilet attached and you hardly open the windows, then the aircon will seldom needs to be cleaned. but if its with a toilet then different story. the humidity is much higher and somehow the fan vanes and the evaporator fins get clogged more easily, then you will need to wash the fins or do a chemical clean every 2year min. you will notice that the aircon cools much quicker and thus saves you power. I have 2 rooms like that. the wife also used baby powder and thus creates even more 'dust'. New aircon evaporators are packed very tightly to keep the size small and to promote efficiency, but what happens is that they get clogged more easily and will affect efficiency. i was thinking how come my room the aircon dirty so fast while the rest of the rooms ok you are a genius man! I did just that and let it suck for about 5-10 mins. The water leak seems to have stopped now.....Thanks. I did that but no gel like substance came out leh, only water..... so suck till dry for 5-10 mins. Now leaking had stopped. Thanks. suck for so long wet also become dry lah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 I'm wondering whether we can take out the blower drum to wash ourselves. Saw some YouTube demo, its v complicated. Blowers always coated with dust. I can get access to it by taking out the louvers. Use cloth to wipe it. But not good enough. Dust are still within the grooves. i use the following to clean. but got to be free to do lah 1) karcher steam cleaner 2) water spray 3) lots of rugs placed on the floor basically the theory is this: water + steam pressure will unclog the dirt from the fan lourvers and the metallic fins. the water will carry the dirt dowm from the aircon. thats is why you need lots of rugs. arm power got to be strong also because the water spray not exactly light unless you do from a tall ladder. remember the steam cleaner, only use the steam only, cannot use all the brush. wait make spoil the aircon. no physical contact of steam cleaner equipement and aircon. aircon very delcate watering spray alone not good enought because no pressure steam cleaner alone not good enough because no medium to trap dirt water + steam = clean steam cleaner 100 plus a bit can already, no need very powerful one water dont spray too much, wait splash everywhere dont go and spray the circuit board portion, that one is owneself look for trouble ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...