Poper 2nd Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Gain City installers are sub contractors with no responsibilty to Gain City so very difficult to sort out if installation is poor. Check good installers on Renotalk. Not true bro... I'm speaking from my experience with GC one month ago .. It's GC staff that installed my home aircon.. they drove GC van and wears GC t-shirt and show me their certification with HDB. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WolfT Neutral Newbie July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 I just bought my aircon from GC last mth. So far so good! The guys who come to my hse to setup is friendly and pro. They wear GC shirt and drive GC van. Note that if u upgrade your pipe to thicker need to pay extra. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 (edited) Both air cleaner and air con are based almost similar designs. You wished that one single unit can serve these 2 functions of providing clean and cool air. The highly densed HEPA filters will increase suction resistance at fan coil units. HEPA filter motor has higher torque but less speed Aircon fan coil motor has higher speed but poor torque. The after market solution is to overlay 3M or other filter element on the suction side of fan coil. I can only think of Sharp aircons with Plasma Cluster Purifier built in. But it's still not HEPA. On dust/chemiclas/ trapped in between fins of condenser unit/tower, this is the curse of air cooled systems. I was told that if you regularly hose down the fins, it may prevent corrosion on the condenser. That can only be done if the condenser is at ground level. Maybe the portable grande water sprayer will come in handy for this job. Edited July 23, 2012 by 5936 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelloggs 1st Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Think George is one of the owners or related to them The technician, you can look for George... Very nice guy. Usually, it goes like this 1) 1st visit to survey the place and discuss with owner how to lay the pipings 2) 2nd visit to lay the pipings 3) 3rd visit to fix the blower and compressor... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mickkiee 1st Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 its good to turn on 2 blowers at night. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 wah i just went to GC and they quoted me 2.7k for Panasonic 3 split. Saying there is a promo now. Ify ou buy Panasonic, better pray don't have to call their hotline cos there will be no answer and nobody will call you back even if you left voicemail 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Both air cleaner and air con are based almost similar designs. You wished that one single unit can serve these 2 functions of providing clean and cool air. The highly densed HEPA filters will increase suction resistance at fan coil units. HEPA filter motor has higher torque but less speed Aircon fan coil motor has higher speed but poor torque. The after market solution is to overlay 3M or other filter element on the suction side of fan coil. I can only think of Sharp aircons with Plasma Cluster Purifier built in. But it's still not HEPA. On dust/chemiclas/ trapped in between fins of condenser unit/tower, this is the curse of air cooled systems. I was told that if you regularly hose down the fins, it may prevent corrosion on the condenser. That can only be done if the condenser is at ground level. Maybe the portable grande water sprayer will come in handy for this job. yup I am aware that improving the filtering capability of the filters will cause energy consumption to go up. it is really a choice of the lesser of two evils. permanent elevated (by how much I don't know) utility bills or the condenser A tower which is really very difficult to clean after being clogged by debris which will reduce airflow resistance and increase energy consumption. unless you use high pressure water jets, I really wonder whether using water alone will suffice in dislodging the debris. I am concerned the high pressure will deform the delicate aluminium fins as well. Furthermore we have to be careful when applying the water jets. the condenser coil itself is an aluminium block but the connecting ducts are steel, prone to corrosion. I think the prevailing practice is to apply a chemical wash which is inert towards aluminium but dislodges the dirt/grime/scum by chemical action. Thereafter, the solution with the dislodged particles are rinsed off by water. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrishan Neutral Newbie January 28, 2013 Share January 28, 2013 Hello brothers and sisters out there, My experience with another aircon installer wasnt so good either ! I am not sure has any of you experience with your aircon faulty problems.... My house switch board suddenly tripped again two days ago. And caused a burned at the MCB of the switch board. I got a electrician to check and change the MCB else other electrical appliances can not be used. This was not the first time. This happened before. And previously, about 6 months back ( July 2012), was detected to be caused by the aircon. So, I called Twin City @ Tampines (Mitsubishi authorised installer to check. And they informed me it was due to poor quality cable. And need to be replaced with new cable. I accepted it because Twincity said this cable supplier ( from China) case was published in Singapore news paper!! And consumer has to pay for the cost ( $214) to change it. Eventought when i asked them for the newspaper report, they are not able to produce it. Now it happened again, they said has to change the cable of another aircon unit. Same story again. Also need to be charged. And this time, they have to drill a hole from one room to another room in order to change the cable. I have checked with some contact in the aircon industry, I was told usually for such poor materials used should not be the resposibility of the consumer, as we are just layman, how will we know which cable is good quality or bad quality ? This is Twincity procurement decision to buy from the China supplier of the lower grade. And should not impose such charges to consumer. I was also suggested me to get the spec recommendation from Mitsubishi Electric. Usually OEM will recommend using a 4 coil, instead Twincity used a 3 coil, which could be the main caused to the short circuit. If this is not able to be resolved, I may have to refer this matter to CASE liao.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 28, 2013 Share January 28, 2013 Ify ou buy Panasonic, better pray don't have to call their hotline cos there will be no answer and nobody will call you back even if you left voicemail Thought this is the service standards in Singapore regardless of which companies? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 28, 2013 Share January 28, 2013 I use Gain City...and the service is CRAP !! On the last servicing, I paid for chemical wash and after washing...the master bedroom aircon was not cold anymore. So I called them to come check and they tell me they would have to charge me $400 for checking and if indeed its their fault, they will refund me the money...what crap...IMHO...if I paid them, most likely I would not see the $400 again...they can argue until like dat and I am quite sure they would tell me its something that was fault with my system....so $400 no refund. I ask another contractor to come...without telling him too much things...I just told him the problem I am facing...he immediately knew what was wrong...the feon gas pipe was not fixed back properly...hence when they top up the gas...after a few days the aircon would go back to be not cold again. Dun ever buy from them...when I bought the aircon from them...I paid for the higher spec pipping...and still less than 10years...the aircon leaking. Ask them why they said not all will last...depend on your luck. Pui !! I have now sub my aircon servicing to another smaller aircon company which is doing a much better job than Gain City. 10X thumbs down for them...I will never ever step into another Gain City showroom ever again. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarquin 1st Gear January 28, 2013 Share January 28, 2013 I changed my home aircon last December when we did a bit of reno of our house.. Got the set (9K+9K+12K Mit Starmex 3-Split Inverter) from my servicing guy @ $2980 cash incl. installation (pipings and all changed).. Stayed with Mit Starmex since my Mit Mr. Slim served me well for 12 years and can attest Mit is still quite reliable for me though.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unitek 1st Gear January 28, 2013 Share January 28, 2013 That bad? I was thinking to get them quote me change over my existing air-con.... I use Gain City...and the service is CRAP !! On the last servicing, I paid for chemical wash and after washing...the master bedroom aircon was not cold anymore. So I called them to come check and they tell me they would have to charge me $400 for checking and if indeed its their fault, they will refund me the money...what crap...IMHO...if I paid them, most likely I would not see the $400 again...they can argue until like dat and I am quite sure they would tell me its something that was fault with my system....so $400 no refund. I ask another contractor to come...without telling him too much things...I just told him the problem I am facing...he immediately knew what was wrong...the feon gas pipe was not fixed back properly...hence when they top up the gas...after a few days the aircon would go back to be not cold again. Dun ever buy from them...when I bought the aircon from them...I paid for the higher spec pipping...and still less than 10years...the aircon leaking. Ask them why they said not all will last...depend on your luck. Pui !! I have now sub my aircon servicing to another smaller aircon company which is doing a much better job than Gain City. 10X thumbs down for them...I will never ever step into another Gain City showroom ever again. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DonNuTs 1st Gear January 28, 2013 Share January 28, 2013 From my pov, it seems that the condenser unit is designed to eventually get clogged up with dust. One thing i can't understand is why the a/c filter cannot be HEPA grade to prevent dirt/dust/grime from entering and getting lodged within the recesses and in between the aluminum fins of the A condenser tower. Also, besides the idea of being compact, is there a real reason why the blower unit has to be a drum? Bro, the blower has to be drum because it uses centrifugal force to spin air out. Compare to axial fan, like house fan, It is more compact and produce less noise. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear January 28, 2013 Share January 28, 2013 Thought this is the service standards in Singapore regardless of which companies? I certainly hope not! I remembered my previous Sanyo aircon, managed to call them and got an appointment pretty speedily albeit that was ages ago and yeah I know, you can see I am not having much luck with aircons Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 That bad? I was thinking to get them quote me change over my existing air-con.... They were ok for the first 2 years...after that...downhill. Service was kenna sia. And when I sign, they said that first 1 years warranty with Toshiba...after that the extended warranty is with them...so for 5 years, anything kaput I dun have to pay. Somewhere during the 4th year, I ask them to chemical clean the fan coils....and after that...one of the fan coils kaput...I ask them they say no warranty for it. The last straw was when my master bedroom also kaput...and they wanted to charge me $400 for inspection...KNN... And the best part is...when I ask the guy who service my office aircon to come take a look...he told me the insulation is normal type...not premium (which I was charged for)...and the installer installed a wrong diameter pipe connecting the master bed causing massive condensation to the pipes... Gain City ? I think their motto is you come and I gain from you city. Ptui....I will never ever step into their shops again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrishan Neutral Newbie January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Until today, dont even know which authority is watching all these KNN blood sucking, irresponsible aircon installers ! Can you imagine, the Boss of Twin City can actually tells me, the wire problems is whole Singapore aircon installers kenna one ! and if every customers come back to find him and ask him to rectify for free , isnt it he will be " Super busy " ? And keeps telling me, no time to talk so much to me ! Ask me go find other installer to help lor, if I can.....!!!! What kind of F***K-ing attitude is that ? I even wrote in to Mitsubishi Electric Technical service and after sales service ! They reply is machiam no reply ! They can tell me, they will not control the installer from using what kind of wire materials, it is their on business opertation to decide.... I go to Spring, they told me, true that Spring Singapore has a set of Code of practise for installation, but they will only indicate that all installer need to use cable that is ASTM standard ( American standard) or EN standard ( European Standard) approved. I questioned Spring, dont they know many of the Singapore's fire case, majority are Electrical fire ???? (many people will think that most fire cases were casued by playing with matchsticks, cigarette butts etc, right ? But NO ! ) If you have any friends working in Civil Defence Force, ask them. I was told by Spring Singapore, should go to CASE. ( again lor, Governemt dept style lor....push you here and there...... ) called CASE, they said must go down and interview, and they will help as much as they can. Do you think they will really helps ? I think CASE also sleeping one lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Forget about Panasonic aircon.. Super problematic n not cold. Used LG, Toshiba, Daikin and Panadonic before.. Panasonic is the worst.. Other brand minimal maintenance but always cold.. Panasonic is always not cold even with proper maintenance. Sucks 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged January 29, 2013 Share January 29, 2013 Forget about Panasonic aircon.. Super problematic n not cold. Used LG, Toshiba, Daikin and Panasonic before.. Panasonic is the worst.. Other brand minimal maintenance but always cold.. Panasonic is always not cold even with proper maintenance. Sucks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...