Kb27 Supersonic January 20, 2016 Share January 20, 2016 Ice + styrofoam box + mini fan = cheap to the grind aircon! Good idea, but the only bad thing is that it puts out moisture into your room. Whereas, aircon is the opposite, it remove moisture. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hsl118 6th Gear January 20, 2016 Share January 20, 2016 Good idea, but the only bad thing is that it puts out moisture into your room. Whereas, aircon is the opposite, it remove moisture. No fun when there is excessive moisture in the room, soon you will find mould on the door frame, walls and ceilings. Neck breaking to clean up, worse if need to repaint, plus they are a food source for dust mites. I always feel rooms should be like car interior, as dry as possible - aircon when home, dehumidifier when out helps somewhat. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic January 29, 2016 Share January 29, 2016 had some issued with aircon in 2 rooms so engaged Gain City, had to wait almost 2 weeks cos many people wanna do aircon servicing before CNY ... chatted with the technician and he confirms that now only inverter units being sold. aircon for my living room / dining room confirmed compressor kaput. so not decided whether to just change compressor or the whole unit. anyways, its something for after CNY. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 (edited) So finally... after dithering and waiting for a year plus... I finally pulled the trigger and paid for the 2-tick Pano from Gain City.... 8k gone Edited February 15, 2016 by ins1dious 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 So finally... after dithering and waiting for a year plus... I finally pulled the trigger and paid for the 2-tick Pano from Gain City.... 8k gone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 System 4 is abt $4K. So you installed 2 system 4, 8 outlets?Wait what... a Sys-4 is 4k only? Damn...did I get ripped off here... What I got was one Sys-2 (2x18k BTU) and one Sys-3 (2x12k, 1x10k BTU). Also wanted to change the concealed pipes as they were almost 14+ years old. Extended warranty for 5 years from Gain for extra 200... also got 2 years service contract. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 sibei sianz. My home aircon cui. I got the aircon guy to connect the part of the compressor that is still working (originally for my room), connected to Kid's room. Will be getting a system 3. Probably inverter & something with good air filtration in preparation for Indon haze. Any suggestions? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Wait what... a Sys-4 is 4k only? Damn...did I get ripped off here... What I got was one Sys-2 (2x18k BTU) and one Sys-3 (2x12k, 1x10k BTU). Also wanted to change the concealed pipes as they were almost 14+ years old. Extended warranty for 5 years from Gain for extra 200... also got 2 years service contract. System 4 from gain city, mit elec is slightly less than 5k sibei sianz. My home aircon cui. I got the aircon guy to connect the part of the compressor that is still working (originally for my room), connected to Kid's room. Will be getting a system 3. Probably inverter & something with good air filtration in preparation for Indon haze. Any suggestions? Mit elec is good, lasting n dont need much maintenance 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Considered that but we intend to do a major reno for the place after we move out. The flat is almost 60 years old and in original condition. Don't think I can possibly install an aircon for 5 months? Flat 60 years old still haven't SERS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 sibei sianz. My home aircon cui. I got the aircon guy to connect the part of the compressor that is still working (originally for my room), connected to Kid's room. Will be getting a system 3. Probably inverter & something with good air filtration in preparation for Indon haze. Any suggestions? Eh...you aircon what brand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 Eh...you aircon what brand?Samsung. Very basic s3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic February 16, 2016 Share February 16, 2016 System 4 from gain city, mit elec is slightly less than 5k Mit elec is good, lasting n dont need much maintenance My aircon guy oso recc mitsu elec inverter. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 Adding my 2cents of opinion, Mitsubishi and Daikin Inverter aircons are good from my experience with these 2 brands. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 sibei sianz. My home aircon cui. I got the aircon guy to connect the part of the compressor that is still working (originally for my room), connected to Kid's room. Will be getting a system 3. Probably inverter & something with good air filtration in preparation for Indon haze. Any suggestions? May I suggest Panasonic and Mitsubishi. Now all inverter already. But I don't think any of our home aircons can really cope with haze, that one has to be another standalone filter system. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 May I suggest Panasonic and Mitsubishi. Now all inverter already. But I don't think any of our home aircons can really cope with haze, that one has to be another standalone filter system. I think I saw the advert for Sharp aircon which comes with Plasmacluster technology. Probably that will be able to handle the haze. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 The competition is between these 2. The Mitsu: I understand easy to gain access to the blower turbine inside to self clean. A lot easier than what I do now, ......use toothbrush to reach inside..... The Sharp: Can double up as air filter. I live on low floor & kid's room faces minor road. What are the prices like for 30k BTU, sys 3? (approx.) TIA. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 I am not sure, you have to look at the physical unit. Sharp may sound good with plasmacluster built in. But cost and cleaning needs to be considered. https://sharp.com.sg/web/products/prodDetail.asp?ProdId=459&mode=Feat I am using Mitsu Elec Inverter Sys 3 and so far, so good. Mine 10.5 years liao, still going strong. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
keanie Turbocharged February 17, 2016 Share February 17, 2016 (edited) My aircon guy oso recc mitsu elec inverter.Ya, mitsui is quiet but should u decide to get it, suggest upgrade d fan coil to a bigger BTU from those standard package ones. During my time, its additional $80 to upgrade each fan coil. Ya, mitsui fan coil is quiet but d blower is not tat strong to blow out d cold air fast enough. Result, it causes condensation or so called sweating along d way. With a stronger fan coil n blower, less chance for condensation as d cold air is blow out faster. d size of a 8500BTU & a 10,000BTU Fan coil is d same. Also, if u r doing d piping, suggest pay a little more to upgrade to a bigger gauge n insulation. Same reason, less condensation. Enjoy ur new Aircon. Edited February 17, 2016 by keanie ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...