Icedbs Turbocharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 (edited) Me and my wife both engineers, started work after degree. 1st 2 kids by 32 years old. Now the eldest is 11 years old, we decided to have the 3rd baby and my wife quits to stay at home to ensure they are discipline and most important - has good character, we are all happier, including me from bottom of my heart. Kids happier, Mum fulfilling her role, Dad happy, Grandparents happy. Can you believe it? I go home see kids is a real joy....disciplining them is a joy too!!!!!! Still paying flat loan, maintained insurances, cut some costs like weekend school, piano etc. Actually - our pay goes up over the 10 years years but when she quits, our household income halved! We sat, talked and managed, don't say cannot, can be managed, we all live in money world. Children are one big crazy fun, whichever way me and my wife sees it. Don't say easier said than done cos its possible. We still eat out, own a old car etc. Someone mentioned that as long as husband makes enough, but what is enough, 10K, 5K, 15K, how long are you going to wait till enough? We can wait another 10 years but now is about time. One way it can be enough is when we live within limits, and dont chase properties and cars at 100K COE. Its a choice. Depends on what priorities you have. One last point - Kids (worse if only 1 child) with both parents working all their life is sad, when I was young, I have mother's time with me all the way, waiting for my labourer dad to come home everyday, always appreciates my parents for that, never angry (except during a brief teenage time) that they had no money. Yes - time has changed but Children are children no matter how the world change or time change. Do whats best for your kids. Bro...I think the biggest deterrent thesedays for having kids is the price of the flat. When new couples bought the flat, nothing is much left for raising kids. The heart is willing, but the minds says financially impossible. And this is assuming that the couple had already gone over and accepted the problem of bandwidth and stress in managing kids. For your case, if your eldest is 11 years old, I would assume you bought your property quite sometime back when they are not as expensive as now. Seriously although flats are not really not cheap 10 years ago, but I think it is still financially manageable. Although I know gov. says if your wages cannot afford the price of flats now, you can always start with rental or a 3 rm flat or something affordable. Sure....only if the objective is to have a roof over your head. But to start a family, it will be extremely stretch. So some form of housing subsidy off the housing loan (ok la..maybe not free flat) to take care of that big investment will help so that the couple can focus on their next big investment : their kids. Edited July 23, 2012 by Icedbs ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 (edited) Take a pick... Sweden 16 month with 82% salary paid Slovenia 12 month with 100% salary paid Norway 13month 86% salary paid Lithuania 12 month 100/110% salary paid Bulgaria 24 months 100/130% salary paid In Germany, I think its is 12 months, but leave is shared between mum & dad (any combination I believe). If your wife very capable & need to work, & have trust in your baby caring ability, you can become housedad for almost a full year. Edited July 23, 2012 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watodo 1st Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 I agree that the price of the flat is a huge obstacle for young parents. I cannot imagine myself starting a family if I have a 300k housing loan earning a 3k combine household income. The next obstacle will be time. How much you earn is proportionate to the amount of hours you have to put in. I dun believe there are many employees who earns a big paycheck with lots of time in their hands (if you know any pls let me know what job it is ). Lastly, I still think it will be an uphill task to change the mindset of 1) the employer - to allow the employee to have work life balance 2) the average Singaporean - where money is everything, hence using more time to earn money rather than making babies 3) the society - where our kids are brought up in this competitive environment, not to mention materialistic too, and grow up to be s/n 2. So I think to entice the couple to have babies, money alone cannot resolve everything. Time must be given, support must be given (in terms of having a place in child care and pre-school ed). Mindset have to be changed, starting right at the beginning at school, i.e. social values and moral values and FAMILY values vs better test results. And share the paternity leave with the daddy lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Bro...I think the biggest deterrent thesedays for having kids is the price of the flat. When new couples bought the flat, nothing is much left for raising kids. The heart is willing, but the minds says financially impossible. And this is assuming that the couple had already gone over and accepted the problem of bandwidth and stress in managing kids. For your case, if your eldest is 11 years old, I would assume you bought your property quite sometime back when they are not as expensive as now. Seriously although flats are not really not cheap 10 years ago, but I think it is still financially manageable. Although I know gov. says if your wages cannot afford the price of flats now, you can always start with rental or a 3 rm flat or something affordable. Sure....only if the objective is to have a roof over your head. But to start a family, it will be extremely stretch. So some form of housing subsidy off the housing loan (ok la..maybe not free flat) to take care of that big investment will help so that the couple can focus on their next big investment : their kids. I book new Punggol but gave it up because cannot wait so long 5 years, bought my re-sale flat in jurong west end at higher price - 280k in 1997, HDB fault? I dont blame them. My flat not in bukit merah or tiong bahru, that is the difference I guess. In 1998, flat were also much expensive until it crash in 2001. Anyway, everyone of us has to start some where, of course there are hurdles, every generation started somewhere, I dont think our parents were any easier and Singapore economy was expanding then. Waste time and wait for money to be enough is never going to be enough and time will run out.......If I think in this way, my wife would be still working after 25 years cos its never enough, and we have 1 kid max maybe only 10 years old when I am 50 years old. Lots of example around us showing. Diapers / milk etc is only for 1st 6 years. Children are not investment, they are joy and part of me and my wife. Stocks are investment. Just sharing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 only way to have kids is if your parents allow u to cobunk after married Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 they should put themeselves in boss's shoe... if you are the boss... can you take it if your subordinate MIA for 6 months ? if the boss can take that means you are not impt anymore and they can do without you Difficult to strike a balance. Maybe work 3 days rest 4 days for rest of 6 months. Like that at least still got work and also have sometime for their child. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 I agree that many 30 somethings now think parenthood is a burden and they would rather enjoy themselves than starting a family. We need more incentives to encourage and give respite those few that are willing to take up the burden and hopefully encourage the others to rethink about parenthood. the society must accept that work-life balance is not a crime. My wife is a full time housewife since my first child and she always grunge she gets no benefit from gov for staying at home... don't have high hope already... and the weirdest thing, non working mum has lesser subsidy for childcare compare to working mum but non working mum has zero income.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Probably easier to make these parents with 1 child consider getting a second one. Too bad my wife already stopped working since I had my first child. Don't trust maids to take care of my child and both my parents still working so no one else to help. :angry: Same here really wonder how people manage to raise eight /ten children in the past.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Don't be fooled. This is just gahmen way of transferring maternity problem from themselves to employers. If they meant it, they should enforce it or amend MOM law to protect to be mothers. Otherwise, your wives kanna chop by boss (under the disguise of under performance), you still LLST. I am just wondering when will our gahmen open up their (rather ours) piggy bank to provide certain level of maternity/child benefits to Singaporeans. Screw the medisave top up scheme or 1-1 dollar contribution crap. If sincere to help Singaporeans setup family, then give real help to us. After all, gahmen can loan IMF $5b and spend 300m on YOG; no reason that we are less worthy of help. Ever wonder why CPF was amended at least 4 times from last year?? Same theory here...to solve inflation...employers were made to bear the extra burden.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 After all inflation should be root of all problems...be it housing for minimum household or SME unable to hire low cost temp...poly students used to pay student rate for transport, school bus used to $50 monthly, childcare used to be $500 monthly before subsidy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 Many females now don't want to depend on someone as well. They want to be able to survive independently. Even in school already see girls talking about how they want to be able to get their own career and make sure they don't have to rely on males before they start a family. it doesnt need to be one-sided. the house husband is fine by me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 My wife is a full time housewife since my first child and she always grunge she gets no benefit from gov for staying at home... don't have high hope already... and the weirdest thing, non working mum has lesser subsidy for childcare compare to working mum but non working mum has zero income.... tell me about it... my wife is also a stay at home mum. not only child care subsidy could be higher to help us taxable income should be halved since it is 1 income (instead of 2) supporting the family but well i guess the govt just does not want economically unproductive people around Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 My wife is a full time housewife since my first child and she always grunge she gets no benefit from gov for staying at home... don't have high hope already... and the weirdest thing, non working mum has lesser subsidy for childcare compare to working mum but non working mum has zero income.... That's because you are going against the govt's wishes... The govt wants your wife to work AND have kids. Best of both world. Increase GDP and also increase birth rate. If only have kids and dun contribute to work force, then sorry, no benefit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 tell me about it... my wife is also a stay at home mum. not only child care subsidy could be higher to help us taxable income should be halved since it is 1 income (instead of 2) supporting the family but well i guess the govt just does not want economically unproductive people around yes. govt doesn't like free loaders. And no, they don't view stayhome moms as a job as it doesnt enhance GDP (their KPI) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 yah... i guess that could be it.... anyway, we never trust maid. period. and i always remind my wife how lucky she is to be able to see the kids grow up every second... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 SNEF has spoken........and even suggest to have 'baby bonus for bosses' when employees go on maternity leaves..... http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1215454/1/.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 Me and my wife both engineers, started work after degree. 1st 2 kids by 32 years old. Now the eldest is 11 years old, we decided to have the 3rd baby and my wife quits to stay at home to ensure they are discipline and most important - has good character, we are all happier, including me from bottom of my heart. Kids happier, Mum fulfilling her role, Dad happy, Grandparents happy. Can you believe it? I go home see kids is a real joy....disciplining them is a joy too!!!!!! Still paying flat loan, maintained insurances, cut some costs like weekend school, piano etc. Actually - our pay goes up over the 10 years years but when she quits, our household income halved! We sat, talked and managed, don't say cannot, can be managed, we all live in money world. Children are one big crazy fun, whichever way me and my wife sees it. Don't say easier said than done cos its possible. We still eat out, own a old car etc. Someone mentioned that as long as husband makes enough, but what is enough, 10K, 5K, 15K, how long are you going to wait till enough? We can wait another 10 years but now is about time. One way it can be enough is when we live within limits, and dont chase properties and cars at 100K COE. Its a choice. Depends on what priorities you have. One last point - Kids (worse if only 1 child) with both parents working all their life is sad, when I was young, I have mother's time with me all the way, waiting for my labourer dad to come home everyday, always appreciates my parents for that, never angry (except during a brief teenage time) that they had no money. Yes - time has changed but Children are children no matter how the world change or time change. Do whats best for your kids. very heartening to hear that :) on the housing issue, from a policy perspective it shouldn't be a deterrent for people to delay having kids. people will manage, somehow, just like they did in the old days with 5 kids in a 3 room flat. politically, if gov keep on doing stupid things like shrinking HDB flat sizes, even if it's not a deterrent for people to have kids, it will be something for all singaporeans to harp on. hope uncle khaw can reverse MBT's trend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 24, 2012 Share July 24, 2012 very heartening to hear that :) on the housing issue, from a policy perspective it shouldn't be a deterrent for people to delay having kids. people will manage, somehow, just like they did in the old days with 5 kids in a 3 room flat. politically, if gov keep on doing stupid things like shrinking HDB flat sizes, even if it's not a deterrent for people to have kids, it will be something for all singaporeans to harp on. hope uncle khaw can reverse MBT's trend. lets look at it this way. if everyone is heading towards one income family and buying flat base on one income capability. how high can the flat rise? I had seen my colleague in the bid to look for good location with supposedly high resale value over stretching themself to the limit until both couple have to come out with cash to pay for their housing loan. my question is, is this worth it, is this living within your mean?? i personally dont think so. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...