6 Months' Paid Leave for Mums???!!!

Watwheels

IMO these won't encourage people to have more babies anyway. Those who are willing to have babies would have found a way even without this 6 months maternity leave.

Dun wan lah. Your experiences dun speak for the majority. :D

"There are bound to be discrimination. Who are we kidding?" ....Sounds familiar? :D

[laugh] [laugh]

of course if possible dont work for SME lah [laugh] [laugh]

I have come to know one of my wife's friend who started a blog shop selling baby stuff(new) coz she wants to be fully committed to her 2 young children.

This is a good example. Having a baby is a life long committment, not some 6 months leave. Some mothers sacrifice even their careers to be fully committted. If want to give incentives to really attract ppl to have babies, the plan has to be fully committed also. [:p]

More and more and more incentives just won't work.

Face the inconvenient truth. The younger generation now is aware of and choose to pursue more options in life, rather than being tied down with parenthood.

Having children entails a lot of PERSONAL SACRIFICE - which not many of the younger generation now are able to or willing to bear.

I hesitate to call this selfishness - but really what's needed is a big mindset change, and realignment of personal priorities.

No point blaming stressful lifestyle, career, high cost of living, etc. for not having children. Lifestyle can always be changed, and career too, can always be changed. High cost of living can simply be moderated by opting for less luxuries. Of course, again, all this needs some personal sacrifice.

I agree that many 30 somethings now think parenthood is a burden and they would rather enjoy themselves than starting a family.

We need more incentives to encourage and give respite those few that are willing to take up the burden and hopefully encourage the others to rethink about parenthood.

the society must accept that work-life balance is not a crime.

[laugh] [laugh]

of course if possible dont work for SME lah [laugh] [laugh]

Civil service best lah. Plenty of good bosses. [sly][laugh]

a convenient reason is IT IS A GLOBAL PROBLEM :D

Face the inconvenient truth. The younger generation now is aware of and choose to pursue more options in life, rather than being tied down with parenthood.

Having children entails a lot of PERSONAL SACRIFICE - which not many of the younger generation now are able to or willing to bear.

I hesitate to call this selfishness - but really what's needed is a big mindset change, and realignment of personal priorities.

No point blaming stressful lifestyle, career, high cost of living, etc. for not having children. Lifestyle can always be changed, and career too, can always be changed. High cost of living can simply be moderated by opting for less luxuries. Of course, again, all this needs some personal sacrifice.

Bro

you are so correct in imho

my wife will be so happy with this news

i also feel that they should give something to the dads

we also need to help around at home mah

so tiring during the confinement period know

but u are very rite!

even if they give 1 year paid leave to mum

i wun have another 1 in sinkie

everything is so ex esp medical!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IMO these won't encourage people to have more babies anyway. Those who are willing to have babies would have found a way even without this 6 months maternity leave.

i think it does encourage those who wish to have 2nd, 3rd child :D

6 months paid leave... pvt sector sure will fire the women based on 'poor performance'

soon all school only employ male teacher [laugh] [laugh]

I have come to know one of my wife's friend who started a blog shop selling baby stuff(new) coz she wants to be fully committed to her 2 young children.

This is a good example. Having a baby is a life long committment, not some 6 months leave. Some mothers sacrifice even their careers to be fully committted. If want to give incentives to really attract ppl to have babies, the plan has to be fully committed also. [:p]

My friend's sis who highly educated decided to quit her job and take care of her kid, not till 6-7 yrs old but to do home-schooling till his 'O' levels.........

True [nod]

My friend's sis who highly educated decided to quit her job and take care of her kid, not till 6-7 yrs old but to do home-schooling till his 'O' levels.........

As long as the husband can support the whole family on his own, anything is possible.

SME may not support but MNC may LL support.

i think im lucky cos my mother has been a housewife since i was born. we are lucky to have mother around day in day out.

i understand some of my frens do not have mother around as both parents are working...i wonder if that will make any difference in our childhood.

Edited by Babyt

3 months should be more then enough...6 months i guess it will backfire...how come guys dont have such long leave?? We do our parts too mah

As a employer myself,I dnt like the 6 months idea cos not easy to employ part timer just for that period.

No wonder many of my friend do ask those female applicant are they planning for baby this 2yrs during the interview..

But as a father myself,I think it will be good cos the mother can have extra more leave for her slowly take.

I think it will be best if the extra can be converted to cash to help many small family..

it is a common question from HR since many years back, sme cannot afford especially their low headcount and no one to cover the staffs duties.

would it be good to pro-rate maternity leave? like:

work 1-2 years, get 2 months

work 3-4 years, get 3 months

work 5-6 years, get 4 months