6 Months' Paid Leave for Mums???!!!

Watwheels

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=52190#1

In today's Sunday Times:

The National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) has come up with suggestions to nudge reluctant Singaporeans to have more babies.

At the top of its wish list: give working mothers six months’ paid maternity leave, with an option for a further six months’ unpaid leave.

Also, it believes bigger government housing grants would help couples get their first Housing Board flat earlier and hopefully start families sooner too.

And it wants employers to do more to help employees balance their work and family life. This means going beyond merely paying lip service, and making flexible work arrangements a reality.

NTUC assistant secretary-general Cham Hui Fong told The Sunday Times that these and other recommendations by its family unit will be handed to the National Population and Talent Division this week.

The Government is reviewing policies to encourage Singaporeans to marry and have babies as Singapore’s total fertility rate has fallen to 1.2 children per woman of childbearing age, far below the replacement rate of 2.1.

The labour movement consulted members, conducted surveys and held small group discussions before drawing up its suggestions.

It hopes to encourage young couples without children to start families, as well as convince those with only one child to consider having more, said Ms Cham, 43, a former nominated MP.

She thinks it would make a difference if maternity leave goes up from the current four months to six months. “When parents don’t want to have a second kid, they say it is because they don’t have enough quality time to spend with the child,” she said.

But even if the Government pays for the additional two months of maternity leave, there must be buy-in from smaller firms because they have to hire temporary staff when mothers go on long leave.

“Today, if we say there is no discrimination, we’re kidding ourselves,” Ms Cham said. “In reality, some women fear that if they disappear from the job for six months, they can be displaced forever.”

Still, she felt six months’ maternity leave would be attractive to women considering motherhood. Make up your mind, woman!

To make housing more affordable for young couples, she hoped the Government would increase the housing subsidy, which is now between $30,000 and $40,000 for first-time HDB resale flat buyers.

Young couples say they still find it hard to afford their first flat. The extra financial help might reverse the trend of delayed marriage, said Ms Cham, citing the rising number of singles aged 25 to 29.

The NTUC’s list of ideas includes having two days’ mandatory paternity leave. “The guys don’t mind taking their own leave, but it’s a kind of support that the company can give if we want to promote equal parenting,” she said.

Those thinking of bashing gahment can forget it coz they haven't approve it. It's the trade union NTUC suggestion. So refrain from bashing gahment unless you like yellow cards or ban from the forum.

I rather hear from parents, colleagues & employers.

i can't see which private sector boss will be receptive to a half year maternity leave. absence is one thing, 6 mths is a lot of time for a person to be out of touch with their work and get left behind by the rapidly changing SG.

Maybe private sector do not support long maternity leave. But perhaps govt sector do support this?! My cousin went for the usual 4 months maternity leave, and she extended 8 more months of unpaid lave to stay home to take care her baby, and she is a civic servant. And so she "MIA" from her work for 1 year! [rolleyes]

Edited by 13177

i'm pleasantly surprised by this news when i read it yesterday. [rolleyes][rolleyes]

actually, i have always been wanting to see something done for the father. I agree that the current 4 month maternity leave is good enough for the mother. Now we need to look at the father's side. Not sure what's the current policy. is it just 3 days Paternity leave?

We need to have at least 1 month Paternity leave for the father. The confinement 1 month for the mother is critical and the father needs to be around to give support to the mother.

Current system already many people kpkb liao, don't think SNEF will support it. Last year my customer and her other 2 colleagues gone for 3 mths, their lady boss also kpkb liao.

On the other hand, a longer maternity leave is def good for taking care of the baby esp when one got to find a nanny to help.

But why no mention of paternity leave?

paternity leave or any sort of leaves which ah gong intends to give has been taken up by NS and reservist liao.........

Edited by Ruriimasu

Take a pick...

Sweden 16 month with 82% salary paid

Slovenia 12 month with 100% salary paid

Norway 13month 86% salary paid

Lithuania 12 month 100/110% salary paid

Bulgaria 24 months 100/130% salary paid

Take a pick...

Sweden 16 month with 82% salary paid

Slovenia 12 month with 100% salary paid

Norway 13month 86% salary paid

Lithuania 12 month 100/110% salary paid

Bulgaria 24 months 100/130% salary paid

I know of another country where they give 3 years of full paid leave and the companies are not allowed to dismiss or sack, and must guaranteed the same job when the mother comes back after 3 years.

What we giving in SG is peanuts. But in reality, i think 4 months maternity is good enough. We need to give more to the fathers

only NTUC want to implement this? guess they are also having problem hiring staff, now they can get most of the young women/housewife working for them :D

If they implement 6months maternity, many company will start a contract basis to recurit staff.

Example 12mths or 18mths contract.

If u get pregnant, they will kick u out after the contract ends.

Dont even need to pay compensation.

For ladys, if u want tk kpkb on the 4 or 6 months rule, work as civil servant

only NTUC want to implement this? guess they are also having problem hiring staff, now they can get most of the young women/housewife working for them :D

Usually when NTUC propose something, it's a sign of green light for MOM to implement nation-wide. NTUC is just a mouthpiece for what the garment is planning to do. The real mastermind is MOM.

they should put themeselves in boss's shoe... if you are the boss... can you take it if your subordinate MIA for 6 months ? if the boss can take that means you are not impt anymore and they can do without you

It's not easy to strike a balance for employers & employees. If they want companies to support emplyees with such a plan dan they must also do something to support the companies. No point giving incentives to just one party and ignore the other. LOL...this kinda plan will end up very costly.

No use unless MOM punish employers that terminates employees on maternity leave.

lol, 4 months already got case, not to mention 6 months [lipsrsealed] but generally females have an easier time looking for jobs [laugh]

they should put themeselves in boss's shoe... if you are the boss... can you take it if your subordinate MIA for 6 months ? if the boss can take that means you are not impt anymore and they can do without you

Nowadays, nobody is indispensable.....

even if you work 365 days a year.

[shakehead]

Unless they implement some kinda conditional leave. Say after 3 months of maternity leave the rest of the 3 months leave mums may continue to work from home. With today's technology it can be done.

I know of another country where they give 3 years of full paid leave and the companies are not allowed to dismiss or sack, and must guaranteed the same job when the mother comes back after 3 years.

What we giving in SG is peanuts. But in reality, i think 4 months maternity is good enough. We need to give more to the fathers

i agree on the one in bold. [:p]

for 4 month, its not really enough if mother is going on breast feeding. i will think 6 months is just right.

Anyway, my previous company which is a local company let their staff go on 4 months Maternity leave with no issue.

for those that got issue, likely is just they having lousy boss. those working for these type of company/boss?? should had change job long ago liao.

so far i work in 5 different company, 1 GLC, 2 local firm, 1 Jap MNC and 1 US MNC with local boss. all no issue with their staff going on maternity leave and even go on unpaid after that,