Mllcg 3rd Gear July 22, 2012 Author Share July 22, 2012 Actually these LTA people can ignore. The TP is the one you should fear. LTA checks for mods. TP dont.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 just see the exhaust part. only 50 "approve" the rest cannot even if same model and all like that is overkill meh? i seriously think the blogger has vested interest in modding business Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 many evos. Haha. I was never stopped by TP, but then again, they wouldn't find anything. Anyway, for me it is simple. No illegal mods, no mod that compromise safety of yourself & other road users, & cause inconviences to others. Singapore already quite relax in mod liao, both in acceptance by people & law. in Germany, if you change tires or wheels, it must be within approved specification (e.g wheel size, width, tires type), if not need to ask inspection center technician to check & issue a cert. In any case, they need to issue a cert (which you must keep in your car to show TP or inspector at inspection center) when they sell you a new sets of wheels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 This is strawberry mentality Vinyl wrap Gt spoiler Brembo caliper Car can't go cos too heavy with accessory Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Mod don't scared, scared don't mod Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Its just a personal rant...wait till these mod really cause harm to someone close to them then see if they still rant... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Too far is when you've attracted the attention of the authorities - even sleeper cars aren't immune to scrutiny anymore, when veteran LTA inspectors know that the stock exterior hides heavy interior mods: - Lowered suspension - Non-standard exhaust - Yellow stain around the rear of the car - Gauges inside the car - Engine note (non-standard off-beat idle due to engine management) - Aftermarket rims (the blogger appears to have an Evo with pink rims) - Wheels with negative camber This, in addition to the usual "LTA Stop Me Please" GT-winged, stickered-up, 18 inch minimum rim size, loud LTA-legal exhaust car. But many of the Euro branded cars (Audi, BMW, VW) are earning attention from LTA too...... at the end of the day, the owner of the car creates the cop magnet by "customizing" it, the car itself (stock standard) wouldn't be. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JumpySpeedFiend 2nd Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Why mod? Stay stock is the best. :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 I agree - I like it when the car starts when I turn the key/press the button, gets decent fuel mileage and reliably gets me from point A to B. But then I am speaking from the perspective of a commuter using the car purely as a transportation tool. Joy would be having a second car, that gives me my driving thrills, like an Elise, MX5, something uncompromised, focus-ed, sharp and involving. But the car ownership structure of Singapore means that it's never going to happen here, and owners are stuck with either trying to drive a track refugee car on the road, heavy clutch, turbo lag and all, paying through their nose for a car that can do both, like an Audi RS4 or M3, or driving a boring bread and butter car, like a Mazda 3 or Toyota Altis, with the enthusiast in him slowly dying away...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 I agree - I like it when the car starts when I turn the key/press the button, gets decent fuel mileage and reliably gets me from point A to B. But then I am speaking from the perspective of a commuter using the car purely as a transportation tool. Joy would be having a second car, that gives me my driving thrills, like an Elise, MX5, something uncompromised, focus-ed, sharp and involving. But the car ownership structure of Singapore means that it's never going to happen here, and owners are stuck with either trying to drive a track refugee car on the road, heavy clutch, turbo lag and all, paying through their nose for a car that can do both, like an Audi RS4 or M3, or driving a boring bread and butter car, like a Mazda 3 or Toyota Altis, with the enthusiast in him slowly dying away...... Mazda 3 is a fun car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Mazda 3 is a fun car You're delusional Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lattesurf Neutral Newbie July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Some rules need to have a certain degree of flexibility. I always have an issue of passing my bi-annual inspection, cos my stock muffler is not for my car variant. Same car manufacturer, same car model, only different YOM. Comes with original manufacturer's markings, still cannot pass. Mine no longer manufacture my car's specific model, so parts are harder to find. Plus mine is a non-popular brand in SG, even harder to find any spares. Also, no aftermarket exos are LTA approved for my model. Does it mean if the exos is damaged, the whole car must be scrapped? Simply cos the new variants stock exos cannot be used? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear July 23, 2012 Author Share July 23, 2012 Some rules need to have a certain degree of flexibility. I always have an issue of passing my bi-annual inspection, cos my stock muffler is not for my car variant. Same car manufacturer, same car model, only different YOM. Comes with original manufacturer's markings, still cannot pass. Mine no longer manufacture my car's specific model, so parts are harder to find. Plus mine is a non-popular brand in SG, even harder to find any spares. Also, no aftermarket exos are LTA approved for my model. Does it mean if the exos is damaged, the whole car must be scrapped? Simply cos the new variants stock exos cannot be used? even worst for me right? i bought my car with non legal exos. now even my manufacturer in japan side doesnt make stock exos for my car model anymore. aftermarket definately dont have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear July 23, 2012 Author Share July 23, 2012 Some rules need to have a certain degree of flexibility. I always have an issue of passing my bi-annual inspection, cos my stock muffler is not for my car variant. Same car manufacturer, same car model, only different YOM. Comes with original manufacturer's markings, still cannot pass. Mine no longer manufacture my car's specific model, so parts are harder to find. Plus mine is a non-popular brand in SG, even harder to find any spares. Also, no aftermarket exos are LTA approved for my model. Does it mean if the exos is damaged, the whole car must be scrapped? Simply cos the new variants stock exos cannot be used? i did call them to check. the officer put it in nice words. but what he meant was, go ebay and get the same varient for your car. or scrap it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 it's a good thing im too lazy to modify my car. the only thing i'll do is probably get an ipod kit installed down the road. i think next time wanna mod, gotta make sure got LTA approved stuff before deciding which car sia ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Too far is when you've attracted the attention of the authorities - even sleeper cars aren't immune to scrutiny anymore, when veteran LTA inspectors know that the stock exterior hides heavy interior mods: - Lowered suspension - Non-standard exhaust - Yellow stain around the rear of the car - Gauges inside the car - Engine note (non-standard off-beat idle due to engine management) - Aftermarket rims (the blogger appears to have an Evo with pink rims) - Wheels with negative camber This, in addition to the usual "LTA Stop Me Please" GT-winged, stickered-up, 18 inch minimum rim size, loud LTA-legal exhaust car. But many of the Euro branded cars (Audi, BMW, VW) are earning attention from LTA too...... at the end of the day, the owner of the car creates the cop magnet by "customizing" it, the car itself (stock standard) wouldn't be. If you wear pink wheels, you deserved to be stop everytime, for causing eyesore. Jokes aside, some of you guys may know I had an evo before, & yes, big Voltex GT wing (which is the only ah beng thing on the car), but no stickers, cf hood etc. Never been stopped before. You can mod your car, & get decent power (up to about 500hp) from the evo without illegal mods, unless they wanted to go 700-800hp, which is overkill & most likely compromising reliability or even safety. Too many people read & see too much of USA car culture. Cannot compare at all. There is almost no rule there. You are talking about a first world country that even allow people to ride without helmet, or allow civilian to hold firearms. I do not have to tell you about the lastest tragedy in the batman movie. As I mention before, Singapore is already very relax when it comes to modd. In Germany, for instant, if you have a small car like the fit, sorry, you cannot even change to 17inch wheels ( it is considered too huge for the car, & not under the acceptable narrow spec). One good thing there though, is you can get legal fully warranty, certified mods from say ABT or Braubus. They do not cost all that much also (considered the professional level, labor cost & full warranty), compare to many of the ah beng carrot chopping workshops we have in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 (edited) I kena stopped 3 times so far by LTA this month. Jialat man. 4 yrs, first time stopped. somemore at 2.30am when i just step into BKE from JB.. and it is a painful and hefty lesson to learn. was fined $620, spend 3 Sat going to Vicom to get my car 'corrected'. well, don't do.. don't mob.. SG is strict.. if want to do, do it elsewhere or buy a better ride next time.. still waiting for their mercy to reduce the fine.. Edited July 23, 2012 by Kurty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 yeah, i learnt and discover.. i got green wheels with green rear.. definitely an eyesoar to them.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...