Nonewposts 4th Gear July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Hi all, I have a relative who wants to sell me a 2002 camry. The condition is good as he is the first owner and was told that the model is the best camry. But is it worth to pay 80k to renew the coe? Also, any 02 camry owners here can advice on the car as a whole? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Of course it is not worth it. 80k COE mean 8k/yr. Road tax rise 10% per year til 150%. Most likely he will sell you at paper (PARF), perhaps around 10+k. So overall you will be suffering depreciation of 90+k for an already 10 year old car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Westkid 2nd Gear July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Of course it is not worth it. 80k COE mean 8k/yr. Road tax rise 10% per year til 150%. Most likely he will sell you at paper (PARF), perhaps around 10+k. So overall you will be suffering depreciation of 90+k for an already 10 year old car. No see repair n maintenance meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Hi all, I have a relative who wants to sell me a 2002 camry. The condition is good as he is the first owner and was told that the model is the best camry. But is it worth to pay 80k to renew the coe? Also, any 02 camry owners here can advice on the car as a whole? Forfeit the Parf value and still top up 80k? Not worth la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Hear say it's a gd camry Fc better Large boot But to get one n renew Coe now??? I really wun do it la Lol If now Coe at 10k I dun mind doing it Now it's safer to get a 06/07 car And fight for afew more years of slim chances ba Im very happy if Coe at 20-30k Never tot it will drop below that Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subaru87 Clutched July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...821&DL=1179 Good deal if you wanna get a lower depre and have a taste on the 2002 model Camry :) My dad used to own this. Problematic free seriously. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WML888 2nd Gear July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Hi all, I have a relative who wants to sell me a 2002 camry. The condition is good as he is the first owner and was told that the model is the best camry. But is it worth to pay 80k to renew the coe? Also, any 02 camry owners here can advice on the car as a whole? Not worth it. For that amount og $, gGet a '06 or '07 Mercedes E200. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Hi all, I have a relative who wants to sell me a 2002 camry. The condition is good as he is the first owner and was told that the model is the best camry. But is it worth to pay 80k to renew the coe? Also, any 02 camry owners here can advice on the car as a whole? What mileage is his car.?Anything below 50,000km still can consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Not worth, unless current COE is less than 20k. But then, if COE is at 20k, might as well get a new car, right? Hence, either way, the answer is "no". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Not worth it lah.. With the current COE+parf money for the relative =95k lei.. Can buy many 08,09' big car lei.. Somemore still quite new car.. Road tax also a kill for 10yrs old car.. Even if mileage only 30 k I also will not buy.. Good summary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear July 21, 2012 Share July 21, 2012 Hi all, I have a relative who wants to sell me a 2002 camry. The condition is good as he is the first owner and was told that the model is the best camry. But is it worth to pay 80k to renew the coe? Also, any 02 camry owners here can advice on the car as a whole? Not worth at all, don't forget u lose all parf rebate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nonewposts 4th Gear July 22, 2012 Author Share July 22, 2012 What mileage is his car.?Anything below 50,000km still can consider. mileage 67k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 Also, any 02 camry owners here can advice on the car as a whole? I have a 03 camry. My family love it so much we have kept it since then. Km not exceeded 150k. Only thing not working is the dinosaur external radio antenna - can't extend anymore. And the air-con set to 29 still feels cold. Don't love your car too much. I kept it too long and now because of high COE will have to wait out until jul 13 to scrap it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agnoxis 3rd Gear July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 But is it worth to pay 80k to renew the coe? It's not only NOT WORTH, it's downright silly. Reasons have been given as above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 No matter how you spin it, its a big no, even if he give you for free, which I assume not the case also. Uniquely Singapore, where you will reject also a free car! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyklon 5th Gear July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 (edited) If the car was properly taken care of and was parked under shelter, it should be worth while. You can easily scrap it 4-5 years down the road when coe drops and get back the remaining coe money. So probably looking at 60k for the next 5 years. Then after that get back around 40k. The drive is so so at best, but the car is very comfortable. Deregistered mine(at 8.5years old, 67k km) earlier this year and honestly, I regret it. Edited July 22, 2012 by Zyklon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 mileage 67k 67k Km is quite low for a near 10 yrs car,but as said,you need to pay over $60 k before you can drive it,this must consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 If the car was properly taken care of and was parked under shelter, it should be worth while. You can easily scrap it 4-5 years down the road when coe drops and get back the remaining coe money. So probably looking at 60k for the next 5 years. Then after that get back around 40k. The drive is so so at best, but the car is very comfortable. Deregistered mine(at 8.5years old, 67k km) earlier this year and honestly, I regret it. Car is NOT free, he still have to pay his relative, whatever the cost, maybe scrap value or something like that of 5-6k. Not sure. IMO, might as well get a 5 years old used car. Also to note that I COE cars have to pay higher tax (& inspection yearly?). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...