Would you buy a 2002 camry?

Nonewposts

Hi all, I have a relative who wants to sell me a 2002 camry. The condition is good as he is the first owner and was told that the model is the best camry. But is it worth to pay 80k to renew the coe?

Also, any 02 camry owners here can advice on the car as a whole?

Of course it is not worth it. 80k COE mean 8k/yr. Road tax rise 10% per year til 150%. Most likely he will sell you at paper (PARF), perhaps around 10+k. So overall you will be suffering depreciation of 90+k for an already 10 year old car.

No see repair n maintenance meh [laugh]

Hi all, I have a relative who wants to sell me a 2002 camry. The condition is good as he is the first owner and was told that the model is the best camry. But is it worth to pay 80k to renew the coe?

Forfeit the Parf value and still top up 80k? Not worth la

Hear say it's a gd camry

Fc better

Large boot

But to get one n renew Coe now???

I really wun do it la

Lol

If now Coe at 10k

I dun mind doing it

Now it's safer to get a 06/07 car

And fight for afew more years of slim chances ba

Im very happy if Coe at 20-30k

Never tot it will drop below that

Hahaha

Not worth it.

For that amount og $, gGet a '06 or '07 Mercedes E200.

What mileage is his car.?Anything below 50,000km still can consider.

Not worth, unless current COE is less than 20k.

But then, if COE is at 20k, might as well get a new car, right? Hence, either way, the answer is "no".

Not worth it lah..

With the current COE+parf money for the relative =95k lei..

Can buy many 08,09' big car lei..

Somemore still quite new car..

Road tax also a kill for 10yrs old car..

Even if mileage only 30 k I also will not buy..

Good summary.

Not worth at all, don't forget u lose all parf rebate.

I have a 03 camry. My family love it so much we have kept it since then. Km not exceeded 150k.

Only thing not working is the dinosaur external radio antenna - can't extend anymore. And the air-con set to 29 still feels cold.

Don't love your car too much. I kept it too long and now because of high COE will have to wait out until jul 13 to scrap it.

But is it worth to pay 80k to renew the coe?

It's not only NOT WORTH, it's downright silly. Reasons have been given as above.

No matter how you spin it, its a big no, even if he give you for free, which I assume not the case also.

Uniquely Singapore, where you will reject also a free car!

If the car was properly taken care of and was parked under shelter, it should be worth while. You can easily scrap it 4-5 years down the road when coe drops and get back the remaining coe money. So probably looking at 60k for the next 5 years. Then after that get back around 40k.

The drive is so so at best, but the car is very comfortable. Deregistered mine(at 8.5years old, 67k km) earlier this year and honestly, I regret it.

Edited by Zyklon

mileage 67k

67k Km is quite low for a near 10 yrs car,but as said,you need to pay over $60 k before you can drive it,this must consider.

If the car was properly taken care of and was parked under shelter, it should be worth while. You can easily scrap it 4-5 years down the road when coe drops and get back the remaining coe money. So probably looking at 60k for the next 5 years. Then after that get back around 40k.

The drive is so so at best, but the car is very comfortable. Deregistered mine(at 8.5years old, 67k km) earlier this year and honestly, I regret it.

Car is NOT free, he still have to pay his relative, whatever the cost, maybe scrap value or something like that of 5-6k. Not sure.

IMO, might as well get a 5 years old used car. Also to note that I COE cars have to pay higher tax (& inspection yearly?).