Arixlim Clutched July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 they buy self insurance and die on the road accidentally got claim? insurance should reflect on this cyclist phenomena... trying to cheat people like going to race but now, any type of bikes want to claim road rights and they are not road worthy or certified...skilled, if i wanted to 30km/hr...i would have gotten a bicycle....not on the road, cos road will kill... where they got power brake..? like 2A...handbrake powerful, open throttle to skip death due to sandwich between vehicles, unless ur bicycle or mountain bicycle or racing bicycle, is called bicycle...not bike... its a cycle..bi cycle....hope u memorise ur cracker brain...i always remind myself my mother rides on the road , its a need not a race, i will certainly give way, but these yaya burgers, just need some greasing and put to test...like they think the road is a road test of their punitive life...its so cheap psychology... can't u think...i admire those aunties incl my mother to be considerate, and exercise at their caution...but not some angmoh throwing expletives and haughty manner or some local who like to cross their chest or look authoritative... or act macho...more like a ape to me..so raw...get some experience? oh come on..where got need experience...people who race doesn want to go in groups and waste time attending funerals and drive causes only charity organisations who want to earn $10k thru donations.. hope u know where i am driving at...follow the crowd to be a loser...lose ur life on the road... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 I nearly mowed down a cyclist today because the road was a bend, and a bus obstructed my view and boom, bicycle was right in front, had no time to react, missed the bicycle by a few cm. Call me a kuku driver, but I had no malicious intent, and my driving on a sunday is close to road hogging and yet I still nearly killed a cyclist. Singapore roads were never designed to share with cyclists, and this is not the drivers' fault. If cycling cannot be done on pavements, then how is it motorcycles have no problem doing so? There's traffic junction near Bedok interchange where it is practically unsafe to walk on the pavement because of the sheer volume of motorcycles racing up and down regularly, never seen a single one get stopped by TP or LTA yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 Seems like you are the only driver in this thread that thinks this way. The previous posts all ask cyclists to get off the roads because we are slowing down the traffic flow and not paying road tax. So far my experience is that heavier vehicles and buses are much more tolerant towards cyclists than normal passenger cars. I cycle on the road almost everyday to work and back home and usually those that overtake very closely are those drivers who think we are slowing them down. How am I going to cycle to work if I don't cycle on the road since its illegal to cycle on the pavements? Don't want to drive as I can't get a parking lot at my office and taking public transport almost doubles my travelling time as compared to cycling. Honestly? I don't give a damn about your commute. It's not my problem. It's yours, so why are you asking me for a solution based on your constraints? Are you paying me? "my experience", "your experience", all these anecdotal "evidence" means nothing. But statistics do not lie. Read http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/reference/...T-transport.pdf for yourself and draw your own conclusions. I've lost count of the number of media reports whereby this lorry or that van gets into an accident with a cyclist on our local roads as well. And at the end of the day, (and I'm repeating myself here), it's your decision to risk your life on the roads to indulge your own convenience or personal interests. This is despite multiple warnings from the authorities as well as drivers like myself through multiple platforms. So be it. You don't have to prove anything to us. Just don't expect any sympathies when you get paralysed or get steam rolled over by a motor vehicle. And don't preach to us, don't whine to us, talking about PCNs or all. Your life, your choice, your risk, and ultimately your responsibility. Nobody owes it to you to keep you safe despite your reckless behaviour and risky choices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 (edited) Honestly? I don't give a damn about your commute. It's not my problem. It's yours, so why are you asking me for a solution based on your constraints? Are you paying me? "my experience", "your experience", all these anecdotal "evidence" means nothing. But statistics do not lie. Read http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/reference/...T-transport.pdf for yourself and draw your own conclusions. I've lost count of the number of media reports whereby this lorry or that van gets into an accident with a cyclist on our local roads as well. And at the end of the day, (and I'm repeating myself here), it's your decision to risk your life on the roads to indulge your own convenience or personal interests. This is despite multiple warnings from the authorities as well as drivers like myself through multiple platforms. So be it. You don't have to prove anything to us. Just don't expect any sympathies when you get paralysed or get steam rolled over by a motor vehicle. And don't preach to us, don't whine to us, talking about PCNs or all. Your life, your choice, your risk, and ultimately your responsibility. Nobody owes it to you to keep you safe despite your reckless behaviour and risky choices. Yep. If you are fated to die you'll die. Even if you are just jogging on the pedestrian path. Its possible for some "kuku", "blur", "fxxked up", "bobo" and <insert any other adjectives you can think of here> drivers on the road which are capable of mowing you lot down in a single move, potentially causing multiple fatalities or life-changing injuries in the process when he loses control and mounts the curb. Based on the statistics you showed, seems like you are more likely to die if you are a pedestrian rather than a cyclist. Edited July 22, 2012 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 I nearly mowed down a cyclist today because the road was a bend, and a bus obstructed my view and boom, bicycle was right in front, had no time to react, missed the bicycle by a few cm. Call me a kuku driver, but I had no malicious intent, and my driving on a sunday is close to road hogging and yet I still nearly killed a cyclist. Singapore roads were never designed to share with cyclists, and this is not the drivers' fault. If cycling cannot be done on pavements, then how is it motorcycles have no problem doing so? There's traffic junction near Bedok interchange where it is practically unsafe to walk on the pavement because of the sheer volume of motorcycles racing up and down regularly, never seen a single one get stopped by TP or LTA yet. Probably cuz no one complains about the motorcycles on the pavement there yet. At Bishan, Ang Mo Kio and Toa Payoh, I have seen TP coming to stop cyclists on the pedestrian paths many times already. Heard them asking for NRIC and IIRC there is a fine as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silvermini Neutral Newbie July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 "Cyclist should take license,pay road tax,coe,erp n parking den share d road wif us.. " ehh. use brain before u post leh. if they pay road tax tats means they can use expressway and they hav the rights to use first lane and parking lots. so think twice before u hit the button -.- so niao meh.. got money buy car cannot let the cyclist share abit of our road? ur grandfather road? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 (edited) No offence bro, but you got your stats wrong (at least in the last 4/5 years). Using your link you can see that the number of vehicles on the road has increased And to a certain extent yes, the total number of cyclists involved in accidents has increased in contrast to 2000, 2005, 2006 & 2007 (With the exception of 2000, that can be said for all categories actually). However, if looking at the absolute figures from 2008 onwards, the number of accidents involving cyclists has decreased (4.08% in 2008 reduced to 3.83% in 2010 for comparative figures). Next up throw in TP's stats for 2011 (http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/driving_in_singapore/information_traffic_statistics.htm) Its not very informative, however it does show that there was one less cyclist killed in 2011 than 2010, which puts the absolute figure at the same number of cyclists killed in 2011 as in 2000. So if you compare absolute figures of 2000 and 2011, you can't actually say that cycling is more dangerous. And if you use comparative figures from deaths in 2005 up till 2011, then you should see that cycling related deaths have dropped from 10.4% of all road fatalities to 7.69%. None of these even takes into account the total number of cyclists on the road, and those of us who cycle know that the number has jumped substantially especially in the last 2 to 3 years. Due to the lack of actual figures I have no way to prove this, but from anecdotal articles on the number of cyclists in events (e.g. http://www.todayonline.com/Sports/EDC12062...-Cycling-Cships , http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1186879/1/.html ), as well as the increase in the number of cycling shops, I believe that I can safely theorise that in recent years, the number of accidents involving cyclists has dropped although the cycling population has increased. Taking all this into account, I believe I can say that you're wrong, and that cycling is becoming safer. In addition to that (though it may seem paradoxical), the best way to further increase this safety is to encourage and have more cyclists on the road A Virtuous Cycle: Safety In Numbers For Bicycle Riders Edited July 22, 2012 by Elfenstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged July 22, 2012 Share July 22, 2012 I almost knock down a cyclist half an hour ago when he beat the red light. If my reaction time was 2 seconds slower, he will be part of the statistic. What can I do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 I almost knock down a cyclist half an hour ago when he beat the red light. If my reaction time was 2 seconds slower, he will be part of the statistic. What can I do? suck thumb lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 suck thumb lor Exactly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 It is pointless to explain further to ppl who don't really cycle. U & I would understand. Anyway, i extended my invitation to him already. It is up to him to accept it or not. Your invitation is declined. If the reason why you leisure cyclist choose to inconvenienced drivers is because you are inconvenienced, I dun need to experienced anything. I get your reasons absolutely. Anyway, I made my point, which is to yank you guys from your pedestal and acknowledge that whatever reason you have to stands on a single leg -- selfishness. You put your life at risks and I hope whatever reasons (can't cycle fast, to keep fit..etc) you have is a good one that your love ones will nod and say "yep, its worth it"should anything happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 damn unlucky to get hit by a car while riding along upper thomson road going... i was on the extreme left lane, the most left side of the lane and yet this bugger hit me with his side mirror... sunday morning and there are in fact not many cars travelling along te road (6 am) ..i did not eexpect the car to be traveling so near me when the other lanes are free!.. for chris sake there are no exits or lanes to turn left to and this chap can drive so near to me.. I had 2 cat eyes and led flash indicator behind me . and right now thanks to this as.s hole, i am lying at home with my right arm bandaged. and using my left hand to type out tthis reply. I always give way to cyclists and why others can't do it? oh man.. :angry: Have a speedy recovery. I hope you dun mind if i use your exp as a platform for discussion. Sometimes there are just drivers who are lousy, Drivers who are reckless, drunk drivers or plain nasty ones. I am sure you have seen many as a driver. Never could fathom why you guys would bet your body and hope that such drivers do not exist. You just need one to connect and you are gone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 The reason many recreational cyclists cycle on the road rather than on that path is not because the pedestrians slow them down. Its because there are pedestrians and its quite hard to avoid them especially if there are young children running around. How do you know the shared path was completely empty? There wasn't anyone on the other parts of the path that wasn't in your sight yet? Why dun you overtake the pedestrians carefully and afford them the the space and patience you seek from the drivers when u are on the roads? If you can't do that for pedestrians, would it not be demanding to ask for the same from drivers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Gentlemen! Your attention please. The debate if any here is healthy and kindly keep it that way. Just because a comment made by a few or most forumers here, don't go your way, you file a report to mod citing that their comments say "they want to kill cyclist" or "personal attack" whatsoever, just because what's said is either the truth or doesn't go down easy with you. We have read thru and don't fined any of the comments reflecting what was reported. READ AGAIN AND UNDERSTAND. Thank you and have a nice week ahead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Your invitation is declined. If the reason why you leisure cyclist choose to inconvenienced drivers is because you are inconvenienced, I dun need to experienced anything. I get your reasons absolutely. Anyway, I made my point, which is to yank you guys from your pedestal and acknowledge that whatever reason you have to stands on a single leg -- selfishness. You put your life at risks and I hope whatever reasons (can't cycle fast, to keep fit..etc) you have is a good one that your love ones will nod and say "yep, its worth it"should anything happen. U r juz like my dear fren, Scoot. I have no problem sharing my road riding experience. Instead, i got a rude response from you. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 (edited) Why dun you overtake the pedestrians carefully and afford them the the space and patience you seek from the drivers when u are on the roads? If you can't do that for pedestrians, would it not be demanding to ask for the same from drivers? Because pedestrians on these paths are allowed to walk in any direction they want and some are just young children running around. Sometimes during those periods of times where there are very little pedestrians you'll notice that there are many people who will stand in the middle of the paths to do exercises and sometimes there are also groups of people standing on the path just to chat. How to overtake safely? As for cyclists on the roads most do keep to the left lane except when turning right. There are definitely a few black sheep who cycle diagonally across the roads or against traffic flow but most do keep to the left and follow the traffic flow right? Edited July 23, 2012 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Because pedestrians on these paths are allowed to walk in any direction they want and some are just young children running around. Sometimes during those periods of times where there are very little pedestrians you'll notice that there are many people who will stand in the middle of the paths to do exercises and sometimes there are also groups of people standing on the path just to chat. How to overtake safely? As for cyclists on the roads most do keep to the left lane except when turning right. There are definitely a few black sheep who cycle diagonally across the roads or against traffic flow but most do keep to the left and follow the traffic flow right? Since he declined my offer to cycle on PCN, it means that whatever u r trying to say is juz an excuse to him. I think you should stop explaining to him. Instead, we should continue to invite him to cycle with us on Coastal rd PCN. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtbike Clutched July 23, 2012 Share July 23, 2012 Some of the comments really put a smile on my face...Lolz... There are definitely black sheeps around...out of 10 cyclists...i will believe there are at least 3 who dont keep to traffic rules....and yes...i do agree that if they get into any accidents on the roads, its usually their fault and that they can/shld be term as a-----es...just because of their stupid s--t ass attitude, we drivers have to suffer... Back to the topic about us cyclists being selfish n self-centered....i just have 1 question to ask...do all of u drivers overtake motorbikes with a 0.5m gap? if u can overtake a motorbike with a bigger gap, why cant do the same for cyclists? Cyclists are fighting for their rights on the road, bring out the laws etc etc etc.... its some drivers who duno the laws and keep insisting that cyclists are flouting the laws, so we have no choice but to let them know that the law isnt what they think of it to be....the law states that the roads are to be shared.... if drivers can accept that the roads are to be shared....give us the allowance n space we need....wont that make life easier for everyone of us... But yes...if the cyclist is a c--k head....by all means....screw him upside down... fair enough statement? Lolz... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...