Cyclist Problem

Lsflsf

2 abreast. Legal le.

What's wrong with it?

2 abreast legal?

Under RT (Bicycles) Act,

Travelling abreast prohibited

—(1) No bicycle shall be ridden on the right of another vehicle proceeding in the same direction except when overtaking such other vehicle.

[s 773/2004 wef 01/01/2005]
(2) No bicycle shall be ridden on the right of any two other bicycles proceeding abreast in the same direction except when overtaking such other bicycles or on parts of roads or paths set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.

(3) Wherever part of a road or a path adjacent to a road has been set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles, no bicycle shall be used on any other part of the roadway.

2 abreast legal?

Under RT (Bicycles) Act,

—(1) No bicycle shall be ridden on the right of another vehicle proceeding in the same direction except when overtaking such other vehicle.

(2) No bicycle shall be ridden on the right of any two other bicycles proceeding abreast in the same direction except when overtaking such other bicycles or on parts of roads or paths set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles.

(3) Wherever part of a road or a path adjacent to a road has been set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles, no bicycle shall be used on any other part of the roadway.

Legal lor, three abreast unless overtaking is not.

Edited by Myxilplix

There's an old couple - grandpa and grandma - on two cycles, each with a child behind, riding opposite the flow of traffic on Cantonment Rd towards Cantonment Primary School every morning.

The furthest I've seen them is near the SGH Mortuary on Outram Rd... still riding opposite the flow of traffic towards the school.

Damn dangerous and my heart skips a beat every time I see them and the kids.

I'll see if I can get a pic later. Today those two already reached school by the time I got there :D

attachicon.gifScreen Shot 2014-07-31 at 10.19.38 am.jpg

attachicon.gifScreen Shot 2014-07-31 at 10.19.44 am.jpg

Kiasee Sgporeans won't have the balls to do something like this. I think no need to guess also know where they come from.

2 abreast legal?

Under RT (Bicycles) Act,

This one has been clarified many times already. TP also said 2 bicycles can cycle abreast.

Kiasee Sgporeans won't have the balls to do something like this. I think no need to guess also know where they come from.

I always see Singaporeans do this leh. The older generation all seem to feel that riding against traffic is safer. My grandfather also used to tell me that. He asked me to ride against traffic so I can see on coming traffic and won't ever get hit from behind.

damn rules are useless if we cannot report these buggers to the authorities to deal with them.

even if we got carcam video of the offence, what use is it?

can trace the biker meh?

given our efficient SPF, even with cameras and videos WITH CAR LICENSE number, they still taking their own sweet time to investigate cases. you think a pic or video of two cyclist's back(side) is gonna spur them to impose these laws (quoted below)?

hor kwa nia. people ask got law or not? HAVE~~~~! (points to quoted below).

2 abreast legal?

Under RT (Bicycles) Act,

I always see Singaporeans do this leh. The older generation all seem to feel that riding against traffic is safer. My grandfather also used to tell me that. He asked me to ride against traffic so I can see on coming traffic and won't ever get hit from behind.

Maybe that was true before. But there is more road awareness nowadays with car drivers, so cyclists should also be careful. And with this odd couple, the route from Outram to Cantonment has many narrow stretches and buses. I think its too dangerous to be doing this with a kid behind.

I think lots of cyclists just go the wrong way cos its the shorter route [smash]

Then what's TS's problem?

The problem is that people are generally inconsiderate, so everyone ends up with sand in their vaginas.

Personally I think cycling two abreast is inconsiderate and unsafe:

Inconsiderate - Hogs the lane, makes it difficult for vehicles to overtake easily, raises the stress and aggression levels of the traffic behind them. Just because you CAN do something by law doesn't make it a good idea.

The same applies with cycling solo in the middle of the lane instead of to the left. I'm pretty much a solo cyclist now that my training partner is gone and have no problems keeping left, usually my wheels are about 20cm from the yellow line. Cycling in the middle of the lane just raises stress levels, I think we should all try our best to make life easy for everyone else.

Unsafe - Cycling abreast means both cyclists have less room to maneouver within the lane if they need to avoid things like potholes, manhole covers, debris, litter, etc. Basically the same reason why motorcyclists in convoys also should not ride abreast of each other.

Like I told a friend the other week, you know all those inconsiderate drivers and riders on our roads? Cyclists are just as inconsiderate, even on the PCN.

Edited by Myxilplix

The problem is that people are generally inconsiderate, so everyone ends up with sand in their vaginas.

Inconsiderate - Hogs the lane, makes it difficult for vehicles to overtake easily, raises the stress and aggression levels of the traffic behind them. Just because you CAN do something by law doesn't make it a good idea.

The same applies with cycling solo in the middle of the lane instead of to the left. I'm pretty much a solo cyclist now that my training partner is gone and have no problems keeping left, usually my wheels are about 20cm from the yellow line. Cycling in the middle of the lane just raises stress levels, I think we should all try our best to make life easy for everyone else.

Unsafe - Cycling abreast means both cyclists have less room to maneouver within the lane if they need to avoid things like potholes, manhole covers, debris, litter, etc. Basically the same reason why motorcyclists in convoys also should not ride abreast of each other.

Like I told a friend the other week, you know all those inconsiderate drivers and riders on our roads? Cyclists are just as inconsiderate, even on the PCN.

If a cycling group with 50 riders, wouldn't that be a long train if single file?

Not just cyclist, pedestrian also inconsiderate and walk on cycling path of PCN.

By the way, i am a solo rider too.

2 abreast legal?

Under RT (Bicycles) Act,

Legal or not, who cares ?

You can't take away a licence to ride on a bicycle.

You can't fine them for jay-riding.

So cyclists can do anything they like, even getting themselves killed.

Bicycle to be ridden on left side of road

8. Every bicycle shall be ridden close to the left hand edge of the roadway and in such a manner as not to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed.

Seems like this was left out.

If a cycling group with 50 riders, wouldn't that be a long train if single file?

Not just cyclist, pedestrian also inconsiderate and walk on cycling path of PCN.

By the way, i am a solo rider too.

Why cycle in a group of 50 on a public road? Break off into smaller packs to make things more manageable and to be considerate to other road users. We've all seen the clusterf**ks when these big morning packs from longhouse/jr/anza/whatever get on the road, they develop herd mentalities and start blowing red lights to keep the pack together and also produce some epic crashes especially around the sprint sections. Also how is the guy pulling the pack supposed send any warnings or hand signals all the way to the last bike, how to confirm the message will get to those at the back?

They are not cycling on closed roads. Even on the long multi-day riding events I've attended in Malaysia involving hundreds of cyclists, people don't stick together in one big pack but start to string out or break up into smaller packs, and these are rides with marshalls and guides.

Everyone is starting and ending on the same route, what's the harm to break off into 5 packs of 10 maybe 1-2 minutes apart? Scared lost? Everyone need to hold hand? Need to show the world how many members they have? In my opinion the risks outweigh any rewards. You can get a nice train running along with just 3-4 riders taking turns to pull, most of the time I did it with just 2 of us.

Imagine a huge wedding convoy of cars or bikes sticking close to each other and not letting any traffic in, it's the same inconsiderate behaviour.

Yeah pedestrians are inconsiderate too. My practice is to assume everyone is an inconsiderate prick with no situational awareness until they prove otherwise.

Legal or not, who cares ?

You can't take away a licence to ride on a bicycle.

You can't fine them for jay-riding.

So cyclists can do anything they like, even getting themselves killed.

That's because there is NO enforcement.

It is the same with roadhogger on expressway.

Bicycle to be ridden on left side of road
8. Every bicycle shall be ridden close to the left hand edge of the roadway and in such a manner as not to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed.
Seems like this was left out.

If left edge got tree branch, how?

They are more scary at traffic junctions. Green light also go, red light also go. Always slow down and tap your horn before bypassing them. Professional cyclists aren't so bad, they know their limits. Foreigners aren't familiar with our road culture.. Ultimately, nobody likes to get into accidents, especially it can be avoided.

Why cycle in a group of 50 on a public road? Break off into smaller packs to make things more manageable and to be considerate to other road users. We've all seen the clusterf**ks when these big morning packs from longhouse/jr/anza/whatever get on the road, they develop herd mentalities and start blowing red lights to keep the pack together and also produce some epic crashes especially around the sprint sections. Also how is the guy pulling the pack supposed send any warnings or hand signals all the way to the last bike, how to confirm the message will get to those at the back?

They are not cycling on closed roads. Even on the long multi-day riding events I've attended in Malaysia involving hundreds of cyclists, people don't stick together in one big pack but start to string out or break up into smaller packs, and these are rides with marshalls and guides.

Everyone is starting and ending on the same route, what's the harm to break off into 5 packs of 10 maybe 1-2 minutes apart? Scared lost? Everyone need to hold hand? Need to show the world how many members they have? In my opinion the risks outweigh any rewards. You can get a nice train running along with just 3-4 riders taking turns to pull, most of the time I did it with just 2 of us.

Imagine a huge wedding convoy of cars or bikes sticking close to each other and not letting any traffic in, it's the same inconsiderate behaviour.

Yeah pedestrians are inconsiderate too. My practice is to assume everyone is an inconsiderate prick with no situational awareness until they prove otherwise.

^ This

+1

Cyclist should take license,pay road tax,coe,erp n parking den share d road wif us..

in your context, only rich pple can use road?

there is always some black sheep regardless of the mode of transport (ie walk, cycle, drive, bike... etc)

not necessary lah.

actually, it would be good enough if they are registered.

then that license plate will make them think twice about breaking the law given that they can be traced via the registration numbers.

the traffic laws should also be reviewed, that cyclist are not pedestrains and should not be treated as such when accident occurs and it involves them.

cos we have seen many instances where accident are actually caused by their incosiderate behavior on the road. but due to the limitations of the law governing road users today, they are almost always not liable for causing the accident.

not exactly fair, given that they are riding on the same road as the motor vehicles.

in your context, only rich pple can use road?

there is always some black sheep regardless of the mode of transport (ie walk, cycle, drive, bike... etc)

not necessary lah.

actually, it would be good enough if they are registered.

then that license plate will make them think twice about breaking the law given that they can be traced via the registration numbers.

the traffic laws should also be reviewed, that cyclist are not pedestrains and should not be treated as such when accident occurs and it involves them.

cos we have seen many instances where accident are actually caused by their incosiderate behavior on the road. but due to the limitations of the law governing road users today, they are almost always not liable for causing the accident.

not exactly fair, given that they are riding on the same road as the motor vehicles.

Do you have any specific examples of this? I thought that cyclists were considered to be vehicles that had to follow the same traffic rules that cars do?